RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pegoretti Frames(8 posts)

Pegoretti FramesLive Steam
Jun 10, 2001 9:48 PM
I want to build up a new bike this Summer. I was at a ride this weekend and saw a beautiful bike. A Pegoretti. I spoke with the owner, but he was very sketchy with his info. Maybe he wants to be the only guy with one. I understand Merckx raced on these frames, but I can't find any more info on them. Any input, including a good source ( meaning good pricing) would be appreciated. Does anyone outthere have one? I usually check the Product Review section first so I don't have to bother any of you with providing info you already have, but there is none available.
Gita BikeCar Magnet
Jun 11, 2001 5:51 AM
I can't verify about the Merckx thing but, go to www.gitabike.com
for more info on Pegoretti.
re: Pegoretti FramesCima Coppi
Jun 11, 2001 7:21 AM
Merckx did not race on Pegoretti frames, at least not during his professional career. He raced on frames built by Ugo DeRosa.

As far as the Pegoretti frames, they are very well crafted in the Italian tradition, but are not well known over in the States. If you want a unique frame, you probably won't go wrong with one of these. Make certain the frame geometry is suitable to your body dimensions before you lay down the cash for one of these.
Goemetry QuestionsLive Steam
Jun 11, 2001 7:42 AM
What is particularly different about the geometry of their frames? Are the set up for criterims, century racing, ? Also can you explain seat angle, top tube length and how they influence the type of ride a frame will offer?
Pegoretti uses fairly traditional geometry, which, I'm surebill
Jun 11, 2001 8:55 AM
would be modified for unusual body types, which I am not. Actually, the geometry is very similar to my current Litespeed Natchez (the seat tube is, I think, .5 degree steeper, with the chainstay 1 mm shorter, or something like that, on the Pegoretti). Geometry variables are mostly about fit, other than wheelbase, fork rake, and BB height, which could influence handling. Generally, the longer and lower the bike is, the more stable and comfy the ride (the more suited to longer rides), which are variables determined by some combination of seat tube angle, top tube length, and head tube angle. More fork rake will give quicker steering (like a chopped motorcycle, the wheel will turn correspondingly more with less turn of the handlebars). Crit bikes/racing bikes may have a higher BB's, because of the need for clearance on tight turns. With a higher center of gravity, though, they require more handling skills.
Goemetry QuestionsCima Coppi
Jun 11, 2001 9:11 AM
Gita's website has a geometry table for the frames. They are a bit layed back in the seat tube, making them more comfortable for the long road rides. Your concern should be fit, as the frames are built with traditional top tube measurements relative to the seat tube. If your body is not proportional to these measurements, the bike will be incomfortable to ride. Have you LBS do a thorough fit, preferably on a Serotta Size-Cycle, get the dimesions which will best suit you.

http://www.gitabike.com/hdr_pages/peg_gc.html
re: Pegoretti Framesmmaggi
Jun 11, 2001 7:47 AM
Contact Gita sports. Be prepared to pay though. IF you're planning a trip to Europe soon, wait until then as you could probably get it for 30%-40% less over there.

Pegoretti's a small outfit and are true artisans. They are the last of the true artisans along with Gianni Casati and Alberto Masi. They might put out 2,000 frames a year, if that much. Much attention goes to detail. Someone in my bike club told me that Pegoretti himself stopped a frame at the exit door himself because he didn't like the paint job.

I know that Merckx rode Masis, Derosas and Colnagos. Not sure about Pegoretti but that wouldn't surprise me.
I've got one on order through Tiramisu Imports, UK.bill
Jun 11, 2001 8:34 AM
I can't much comment on anything yet, because all that's happened is that they've taken my measurements and 50% of the frame/fork price. Ordered in mid-March; supposedly the frame goes to get painted this week.
With the exchange rate, it's actually quite doable, compared to other framesets. No extra charge for custom. Matthew at Tiramisu has been very patient and responsive with my questions, etc. The link is http://www.tiramisu.co.uk, although, I must say, their site seems to be constantly "under construction" and is kind of difficult to navigate. I've done everything by e-mail.
Tiramisu has a worksheet for measurements, but I'm a little concerned, because they don't seem to ask as much information as some others do. I offered more information, including how I like to ride, what I like/don't like about my current bike, the measurements of my current bike, etc., which Matthew took but didn't seem that interested in acquiring. I think that they take the attitude that no one REALLY gets better than close, given the variables of seatpost length, stem length, saddle position, etc., unless you want to start messing with angles, which I didn't, so, it'll work don't worry. Because it's taking so long, I trust that I actually am getting a custom rather than their just taking three months to find one in the back.
I'll let you know how it works out. I should know more in a couple of weeks.
I've heard that name pros have used them painted up (not Merckxx), but they are sort of happy to let you believe that without giving many specifics. I have talked to a guy at Bicycling Magazine who has ridden them and is buying one (Bicycling reviewed one in May of 2000 and has included Pegoretti in its annual guide), and he says its just the nicest steel bike he's ever ridden.