RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Roadies Go Home(9 posts)

Roadies Go HomeErik-tola
Aug 29, 2001 3:24 AM
Ok, so we need your help.

Montain biking will be banned and riding areas will be shut down if the Roadless Law goes into effect. The BLUERIBBON COALITION says "We are being outgunned 6 to 1 by our anti-access opponents. The goal is 30,000 response letters by September 4th on the roadless law". This issue effects everyone in the bicycling and outdoor recreationalists community. To help is quick and simple.

TO HELP CLICK HERE http://capwiz.com/share/issues/alert/?alertid=43804&type=CU&azip= Then click TAKE ACTION NOW "GO". From there just fill in a few small things and click send. It's that quick and simple. Please send out additional emails for other people in your house hold and for friends.

Please forward this email to everyone you know. Taking a few minutes of your time will save mountain biking and other outdoor recreational activities for future generations. Not doing anything will only hurt us. Thanks for taking the time to help.

INFORMATION - POLITICAL ACTION MADE EASY

BLUERIBBON COALITON 1-800-258-3742 website www.sharetrails.org They fight to keep land open for us.

A quick BLUERIBBON action alert link http://capwiz.com/share/home/ Please go here and send out other quick emails to support motorcyclist and outdoor recreationalists. Join the BLUERIBBON COALITION email action alert list. Call them 1-800-258-3742 and ask for some "APPLICATION FOR MEMBERSHIP" brochures. You can put them in your business, include them with orders, etc. Send the links to everyone you know.

http://www.off-road.com/pac/ If you could also go here and send out quick and simple response letters where it says "YOUR URGENT ATTENTION IS NEEDED NOW", it would be much appreciated.

http://www.warriorssociety.org/ a good MTB site that has infromation on THE ROADLESS LAW. Here is their article on the Roadless Law http://www.warriorssociety.org/Roadless_Initiative.htm

NATION WIDE PETITION

http://desertvipersmc.com/petition/petition.htm
"We are organizing a nationwide petition drive to let our government leaders know that the people who use the great outdoors are tired of it. We want these petitions in every motorcycle shop, fishing tackle store, jetski store, and RV dealer in the Nation. We would like the help of bicyclists, hunters, property owners, Boy Scouts - anyone - to make this work. We are asking for help to gather, distribute, etc. in order to get these petitions to the President's desk."
Desert Vipers Motorcycle Club
1-800-287-0306
viperpetition@yahoo.com

Business owners click here to find out how you can help.

http://desertvipersmc.com/petition/petition_bus.htm

Petition request forms http://desertvipersmc.com/petition/petition_req.htm
re: Roadies Go HomeLone Gunman
Aug 29, 2001 7:30 AM
Gee Eric,
You have come to the board and asked for help but you have not explained a lick what you want us to help you with. I kinda feel "out of the loop" since I have no clue as to who the Blue ribbon coalition is or what the roadless law is. Posting site addresses to click on does NOT peak my interest in your agenda. Sorry, give the board readers more information and you get better response.
Did A Little Digging...Kristin
Aug 29, 2001 8:13 AM
Here is a link to a CNN report that breifly explains things:
http://www.sharetrails.org/earnedmedia/BRCInTheNews.htm

Its a battle over the use of national recources. Same old, same old... Limit mining? logging? motorized vehicles? new roads? dirt bikes? ski lodges? gift shops?... Who wants to limit what and how much. Somehow, this all seems very far removed from road biking. We ride on roads already built in places we're already allowed to go. There are legislative issues much closer to the heart of cycling on roads than this one. This belongs on MTBReview...if anywhere.
Did A Little Digging...Lone Gunman
Aug 29, 2001 9:02 AM
Kristin,
Sort of what I expected, I was actually afraid of clicking on one of his sites and unleashing some rancid photos or a virus or something crazy like that. I have come to expect this when you are asked to look at something unsolicited and given little if any background info.

LG
Blue Ribbon CoalitionBrooks
Aug 29, 2001 9:47 AM
The BRC doesn't care about mountain bikes and really doesn't care about roadies. They are mostly a ATV, snowmobile and off-road vehicle lobbying group that cares nothing about wilderness or "wise-use" (their term)of public lands. They just want to open up public lands for their toys.
Wanna bet...Kristin
Aug 29, 2001 10:06 AM
that many of the Blue Ribbon Supporters are the same pickemup truck drivin rednecks so dear to our hearts? Believe it or not, these are the guys with most of the ATV's once you get far enough into the boon docks.
$REW THE BLUE RIBBON COALITION....tirider
Aug 29, 2001 10:11 AM
What, we can't even delete your message to Dale Bosworth, Forest Service Chief? We can't think for ourselves? Power to the off-road vehicles... $rew you and your special interest organizition. You don't give a rat's ass about mountianbikers... it's the combustion engine that powers those that want the Roadless Area Conservation Rule degraded. Here's what I OVERWROTE on your forced message I was to write... and I hope others do the same: DISREGARD THE SPOON FED MESSAGE I CAN'T EVEN DELETE BY THE BLUE RIBBON COMMISSION BELOW!!!
I AM AN AVID MOUNTAINBIKER AND CLIMBER WHO HAPPENS TO SUPPORT THE ROADLESS AREA CONSERVATION RULE. I AM SICK AND TIRED OR SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS CONTROLLING THE AGENDA CONCERNING THIS. FOR ONCE LET'S TAKE A STEP IN PRESERVING WILD AREAS AND KEEP THEM FREE FROM HUMAN INTERVENTION AND LONG TERM DEGRADATION. HOW FOREIGN A CONCEPT IS IT TO TAKE AND PRESERVE A SMALL PORTION OF OUR FORESTS FROM AND EXPONENTIALLY GROWING HUMAN POPULATION IN OUR COUNTRY? "SUSTAINABLE GROWTH" IS A OXYMORON MORONS USE TO FURTHER THEIR OWN SELF SERVING AGENDAS. HOW CAN WE POSSIBLY SURVIVE AS AMERICANS IF WE CAN'T TAKE OUR MOUNTAINBIKES, MOTORBIKES AND OFF ROAD VEHICLES INTO EVERY LAST SECTION OF WILDERNESS ON TAXPAYER BUILT ROADS THEY ASK? THIS IS OUR LAND IS THE CRY. THE ROADLESS AREA CONSERVATION RULE IS NOT FATALLY FAWED AS THE BLUE RIBBON COALITION AND OTHERS WOULD HAVE YOU BELIEVE... THE ONLY FATAL FLAW WILL BE ITS REVISION OR RECISION. PLEASE DO THE RIGHT THING AND DON'T CAVE TO THE SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS AND THAT ILLITERATE IDIOT WE NOW HAVE IN THE WHITEHOUSE WHO IS TRYING TO UNDO THIS AND EVERY OTHER THING THAT APPEARS TO BE ENVIRONMENTALLY CORRECT.
THANKYOU,
GREG FABER


THE TEXT BELOW IS NOT MY BELIEF..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
BRC not interested in cycling....JohnnyA
Aug 29, 2001 10:33 AM
IMHO - heavily interested in off road vehicles, snowmobiles and beating on the dad'burn gummnt. Hey, that's their right. But you are sorely mistaken if you think they giving a flying fart to spandex clad cliff bar eaters....

Lay down with dogs, you better check for fleas.
This is Roadbike Review - We <I>ARE</i> home! (nm)MeDotOrg
Aug 29, 2001 10:33 AM