RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Spin Carbon Wheels(8 posts)

Spin Carbon WheelsR. Williams
Aug 23, 2001 6:11 PM
Any opinions on Spin carbon tri-spoke wheels for triathlons and/or time trials?
Thanks-
R. Williams
Heavy....VERY heavycurtis
Aug 23, 2001 7:07 PM
I used a pair on my mountain bike, but got tired of the weight. The front weighed TWICE what my MTB spoked wheels weigh and these are not the lightest spoked wheels you can buy. I'd look elsewhere...
re: Spin Carbon Wheelsbikeman
Aug 24, 2001 2:36 AM
Yes, I too had a set for the MTB, and from memory they weighed around 1000grams for each wheel!! Thats pretty hefty. Think about it - thats twice what the ZIP 303's weigh!! They look nice, but there are other tri-spoke wheels that are lighter (Nimble, I think).
re: Spin Carbon WheelsTaylor_A
Aug 24, 2001 4:50 AM
I picked up a set of Spin wheels a while back. I will agree with the other posters, they are heavy compared with other wheelsets. If you ride alot of hills, I would think twice. If you ride mostly flat terrain, I would give them a shot (If the price is right). On thing to consider, I have heard that the company is out of business so if you have any problems you are out of luck (no warranty).

On the positive side, the wheels are bulletproof. They will take all of the abuse you can give them. I have put about 1,000 miles on my set without any problems.
ya, but he wants to go faststr8dum
Aug 24, 2001 5:29 AM
those wheels are not aero. so why bother buying them for TT's etc.
do a web search for accidentskenyee
Aug 24, 2001 6:07 AM
I came upon an accident web site a while back. Someone gathered cases of the Spinergy's carbon spokes shattering; Spinergy replaced the wheels but did not acknowledge a problem. You can imagine what happened next. It looked ugly...
Spinergy and Spin not the same wheels(nm)Dave Hickey
Aug 24, 2001 7:59 AM
Sorry...didn't see Spin in review section(nm)kenyee
Aug 24, 2001 9:20 AM