RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sampson Silverton(7 posts)

Sampson Silvertoninostuff
Aug 23, 2001 2:29 PM
Hello all. I'm in the market for a new road bike. Have been looking seriously at a Sampson Silverton because it seems like a decent bike and a great value. But I haven't seen one, nor been able to get a review from an owner. Would anyone like to offer any feedback on this bike? Much appreciated. BTW, I'm a 5'11" 190 lb.43 year old recreational rider. I currently ride 75 -100 mi. per week in Sonoma county, CA. Lots of flats. Lots of hills. I'm currently riding my old Specialzed Allez Epic with Shimano 600 SIS (the older carbon fiber bike with aluminum lugs and aluminum fork). I want to spend no more than $3000. If you can make other recommendations, please do. I may use the bike next year in triathlons, but other than that just want to get the best road bike for my $$. Many Thanks,

John
re: Sampson Silvertonjust wonderin
Aug 23, 2001 3:36 PM
Last time I asked this question bike_junkie jumped all over my ass. I too am looking for a Ti under $3000 and was given good reviews on the Sampson,Airborn and Dean. I tried the Lemond and didn't find the geometry to my liking BUT I have seen rave reviews in this board on it. It prices at 2999 w/ultegra and rolf wheelset.
re: Sampson SilvertonLone Gunman
Aug 23, 2001 4:08 PM
3K is a reasonable amount to get you on a Ti bike with Ultegra parts as a minimum. Macalau from Excel and Douglas from Colorado Cyclist Ultegra bike price CC $1959!!! You could be on DA for that $3K price. Just looking at the Douglas it has the curved seat/chain stays and you can get Bright Ti or fade painted. It seems as though you want new and don't want top of the line, too much loot for the bike. I wish I had these options when I bought 3 years ago for Ti frames.
re: Sampson Silvertonjtolleson
Aug 23, 2001 4:35 PM
Despite folks desire to put "Sampson" in the same sentence as discount foreign offerings like "Airborne," I differ.

Sampson is a small well-respected ti builder here in Denver, and although the Silverton hasn't yet showed up on review boards, the company's previous flagship ti bike, the Kalispell, always got great reviews.

I would not hesitate to deal with them.
Mine's 3 yrs. old, it's great, buy one, you'll love it. nmterry b
Aug 23, 2001 5:50 PM
several good choices!bike_junkie
Aug 23, 2001 5:57 PM
The Sampson is a very nice bike that probably doesn't get enough respect, and I'd say the same about the DEAN, also built by swell guys in CO. Avoid the X-Lite DEAN El Diente, as even John (owner of DEAN) will tell you it's not really 'worth it', and they just offer it for the true weight weenie with money to burn.

Let's see, aside from those two, the Douglas from Colorado Cyclist is a great deal for under $2k with Ultegra. Any of these bikes can be had with Dura-Ace for under your $3k ceiling. The Macalu mentioned by another poster is a Litespeed with different decals, and a smokin' deal to boot. FWIW, Excelsports is great to deal with and builds great wheels.

Right now, Colorado Cyclist is closing out '01 Litespeed Ultimates, normally about a $3k frame alone, for $2599 Ultegra and $2999 with Dura-Ace. That'd be an awesome ride. As Ti goes, this is a stiff ride, and a quick-handling bike as well, so it's not for everyone.

Some nice high-end straight-gauge frames to consider are the compact Merlin Agilis which goes for about $1600, the custom Seven Alaris for $2k frame only (maybe too pricey built) and the Serotta Classique Ti which is around $1700 frame only (maybe could build for under $3k with Ultegra/105 mix). You should be able to build any of these bikes nicely for under $3k if you are a bargain hunter, but the Seven would be close.

It seems like you plan to keep this bike awhile, right? If you have to choose, spend money on a nicer frame and put a mid-level group on it. You can easily upgrade 105 to Ultegra or D-A later, but the new 105 works so well you probably won't see any need to. I'd say there's no shame in a Seven/Serotta/Merlin straight-gauge frame with a
clever mix of Ultegra & 105 to keep the price tag down. The parts don't make the ride, the frame & fork do.

Good Luck, and let us know what you decide.
several good choices!inostuff
Aug 25, 2001 7:03 AM
Thanks to all who replied. Appreciate the recommendations. Will post again with choice and a review.

John

Santa Rosa, CA