RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone remember the 'Roadies rejoice" board from MTBR?(25 posts)

Anyone remember the 'Roadies rejoice" board from MTBR?peloton
Aug 22, 2001 1:07 PM
How many people out there were on this board when it was still a forum over at MTBR before RBR was a site of it's own? I remember a few like Humma Ha being there, but how many others were there and are now out here? Survey for the real old timers I guess.
re: Anyone remember the 'Roadies rejoice" board from MTBR?anon
Aug 22, 2001 1:43 PM
dont forget the most famous of all: ZUGGY!!
Yeah, I was there, nmMel Erickson
Aug 22, 2001 2:27 PM
re: YepSteveS
Aug 22, 2001 3:07 PM
I was there frequently and had a number of exchanges on my favorite topics.
me tooHank
Aug 22, 2001 5:33 PM
btw, Airbornes suck!!!!!!
me 3SteveS
Aug 22, 2001 6:59 PM
Thanks, I needed that. Reminds me of the good ol' days.
What was that guy's handle who went through 4 or 5 high end frames in quick succesion? He was at some college, wife was an attorney, got divorced, and went outside academia as a rock musician..
me 3Hank
Aug 22, 2001 8:03 PM
you mean YBBTodd? I think he still posts at mtbr.com from time to time. Try a couple of Moots flames and see what happens.
Ah, yesSteveS
Aug 22, 2001 8:34 PM
YBTodd, thats right. We had one of the big titanium debates but in the end, he seemed like an honest and upright guy and we reached a truce. Was truly a fan of Moots. Saw his road bike up for sale last year sometime. Wish him well, but I almost never go to MTBR anymore.
Ah, yesbike_junkie
Aug 22, 2001 9:54 PM
YBTodd had a YBB and a VaMoots, though he did sell his VaMoots pretty quickly. I remember he also had a Seven Ti roadbike that didn't impress him much. I remember thinking he was crazy spending $4500 on two (albeit beautiful) Ti frames. Six months later I had a YBB and a VaMoots in my garage. Later sold the VaMoots and got into a Legend Ti which I prefer. So now I'm the nutcase spending thousands on Ti. But hey, you only live once.
Ah, yes, tooSteveS
Aug 23, 2001 6:46 AM
I think YB had some kind of way to buy frames at dealer cost, so he didn't lose on re-sale, but thats just a theory. Would be interested in hearing the VaMoots/Legend comparison. The Legend is the best looking ti bike that I have seen. Almost bought one last year on impulse and if the size had fit me (of the frame I was looking at, rather than ordering), I would have had a high end ti to balance my less expensive ti frame. Instead, I just had my Z painted like a Serotta half polished frame. Excellent.

One nice thing about bicycling is that it is one of the few sports that you can carry through out most of one's life. In that sense, a few dollars spent on bicycle toys periodically is not really a big deal, especially in comparison to benefit gained. Thats why I don't want any of my frames to be my last bike, one way or another. You never out grow the love of new toys.
I remember you.9WorCP
Aug 22, 2001 7:05 PM
I think we got in a row of some sort. I think I posted one of those clueless "what's the best" something or other and needed opinions and you told me opinions were about as valuable as a bucket of warm spit. LOL!

Hey anyone remember when Doug S. told us his wife caught him in the garage clipping off all those rubber hair thingies from his new tires? That was funny.
I remember thatMel Erickson
Aug 22, 2001 8:37 PM
'bout split a gut. True lunacy.
I remember you.SteveS
Aug 22, 2001 8:37 PM
I don't recognize your handle but the "bucket of warm spit" sounds like something that I would have said. Along with something like: "What's the best valve cap?"

Bit by bit, most riders come to understand that "best" differs from person to person. In general, this is a much better behaved forum than the other.
re: Anyone remember the 'Roadies rejoice" board from MTBR?fuzzybunnies
Aug 22, 2001 4:55 PM
Showed up just before this site was started. I remember the survey asking if I would go to a site like this if it was created. TTFN
Yes, but who remembers when the split took place - 1998? nmterry b
Aug 22, 2001 5:53 PM
nada aqui
March-April 2000 is when this site came up (nm)Cliff Oates
Aug 22, 2001 6:10 PM
surebike_junkie
Aug 22, 2001 6:36 PM
I hung around mtbr techtalk from '96-'00, and the roadie page in that time. My handle was Zorak back then though. I quit going to mtbr, it's just incredibly juvenile over there.
I agree unfortunatelypeloton
Aug 22, 2001 6:59 PM
I used to go to MTBR all the time to check out the forums. The quality of the posts over there though has gone to hell. Thay dun't no how ta writ n'mo! There used to be some good MTB discussions over there. Gearhead is pretty good for MTB now. Maybe things will come around over at MTBR soon though. The product reviews are still great though.

I used to post over there and here originally with my given name, but went to peloton for a little more animinity.
what happened to Brian Nystrom?LWL
Aug 22, 2001 8:44 PM
He used to give great advice.
what happened to Brian Nystrom?SteveS
Aug 23, 2001 6:49 AM
He recently reappeared posting at either Cycling Talk or Velo News Forum. Obviously, he is alive and well.
Yep - for about 18 months before this board. Back when Dog was..shmoo
Aug 22, 2001 8:49 PM
..."Midcal Doug"
P.S. - Bowl of Noodles, where are you?shmoo
Aug 22, 2001 8:51 PM
identity crisisHaiku d'état
Aug 23, 2001 5:39 AM
john de, homer and BON have all at one time or another posted from the same source in the last 6 months. probably ID hijacking, but who knows???
1998 World Flaming Champion!!!- Bowl of Noodles!!!!!!!!!!!peloton
Aug 23, 2001 7:20 AM
I actually miss that guys rants. Remember when he started challeging everyone to races when they disagreed with him?
Back in the old days, what, six months ago? (nm)Retro
Aug 23, 2001 7:24 AM