RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bicycling magazine vs. Speedplay(17 posts)

Bicycling magazine vs. SpeedplayElefantino
Aug 21, 2001 2:20 PM
The current issue of the mag, in reviewing X-3s, says it's hard to no-look-stomp-and-go without looking down.
Are they nuts? I think Speedplays (I have X-2s) are the only pedals that you CAN do that with.
Venting here.
re: Bicycling magazine vs. SpeedplayALLEN phx.
Aug 21, 2001 2:56 PM
I'm thinking about getting Speedplays for my next bike. Which shoes are compatible? Probably most huh?

Thanks
-Allen
Sidi shoes...C-40
Aug 21, 2001 3:23 PM
May be the most compatible, since the upper part of the cleat fits directly into the recessed area of the Sidi sole. This should place the foot as close as possible to the pedal spindle.

See the complete list of compatible (and incompatible) shoes at www.speedplay.com.
Which shoes for SpeedplayElefantino
Aug 21, 2001 7:15 PM
Allen, go to the Web site (http://www.speedplay.com) and hunt around for the "shoe compatibility chart" (you have to click on "X series" first). It gives you the complete shoe-by-shoe scoop.
FYI, I run Specialized Comps and my son runs Performance's top of the line ($90) shoe because we're both too cheap to spring for Carnac, Sidi or Time.
C-40, I didn't ignore your post. I'm just clueless these days.Elefantino
Aug 21, 2001 7:19 PM
easiest pedals to useDog
Aug 21, 2001 7:24 PM
Speedplays are without a doubt the easist pedals to use, even easier than flat pedals and no clips. Just stomp. That's it.

They do have some drawbacks, though. I've used them off and on for 2 years, and they always give me pain in the backs of my calves and knees. I don't like the loosey-goosey feeling, like running in mud. Finally, after the Terrible Two this year, I had a perfectly round dark bruise under each foot right over the pedal, exactly the same size as the pedals. Looked, and felt, like I had no shoes at all. This was with Vittoria Carbon Blitz shoes. Weird. So, I'm back to Looks.

I'd think about the new Zero, but would probably still have the same bruising problem.

Dog
re: Bicycling magazine vs. SpeedplayJofa
Aug 21, 2001 3:46 PM
I've found that I quickly learn to do this with all the pedal systems I've used, but I'd say that Speedplay are if anything the best in this respect. They are in any case my current choice. Remember that magazine contributors are often stuck for something to say about a product but bound to a certain word-count by the page layout, and are liable to put down whatever occurs to them just to meet a deadline, especially for a non-critical review or comment. Don't take it to heart, unless you're a shareholder.

Jofa
they're idiotsHank
Aug 21, 2001 6:24 PM
it's hard for THEM to no-look-stomp-and-go without looking down. They're also learning how to fix flats themselves (turn the bike upside down first), ride no hands (scary) and drink from a water bottle without first coming to a complete stop (we prefer camelbacks). Next issue: multi-tool shootout! and how to adjust your bike mirror!

Using that magazine to help select components is like using Consumer Reports to research high end audio equipment.
re: they're idiotsJon Billheimer
Aug 21, 2001 6:54 PM
Bicycling Magazine has almost become an oxymoron.
they're absolutely rightseamus
Aug 21, 2001 8:35 PM
I've ridden every system there is, and I find that BICYCLING is absolutely right about Speedplays.

Now, keep in mind that those guys ride system's we've never even seen or heard of, and talk to countless people with more experience than anyone you know. That's why they have the jobs they have. Sure, some people like Speedplays, and that's fine, it's a pretty big world we live in.

But if you DO happen to like Speedplays, hey that's great, but for Chrissakes don't let your personal insecurities about your own tastes in pedals make you look like a MOROn by then claiming more knowledge than the top experts in the field.
they're absolutely rightHank
Aug 21, 2001 9:19 PM
Over the years I've owned 4 types of clipless mtb pedals and 4 types of clipess road pedals and ridden lots of others (worked in bike shops 10 years) and guess what--they're all different. They all take slightly different approaches. Once you learn any of them they're a snap. Yes, maybe Looks are a bit easier than the Speedplays until you get used to both (which might take a day for the Looks and two days for the Speedplays). But once you get used to either pedal, it becomes second nature and a non-issue.

Since you've ridden every system there is, what do you think of these? A couple of people have posted about them but there have been no responses. They look pretty nice to me. (Wonder what the top experts at Bicycling would think.)

http://www.coombe.com/coombe_pro_pedal_system.html
they're absolutely rightseamus
Aug 22, 2001 7:28 AM
Funny you should ask. I have a pair of coombe's, but I'm not riding 'em anymore. They're similar in concept to Speedplays, kindof a more simple variation of Frog's, It's tough to get the cleat mounted to the shoe well, but that's not a big deal.

Clipping in (actually twisting) is easy enough, unless you happen to get a little grit or something on the pedals or cleats. Then it's tough. Since that happens often in real world riding conditions, I pulled 'em off my bike and went back to what I normally ride. But when you're clipped in, they're secure, smooth and float well, but make little clacking noises on occasion
they're absolutely rightHank
Aug 22, 2001 8:03 AM
good to know. I stopped riding Speedplay road pedals cause the connection just didn't feel all that solid to me (unlike Time road pedals, which I rode for a long time and prefer--but the spring loaded float of the Times was starting to bother my knees). Now I'm using Frogs on all my bikes -- which actually feel more solid to me. My only problems with the Frogs are they stink in mud (though I still use them, even in muddy mtb races) and the cleats don't last very long. And I'm starting to miss my road shoes. So those Coombe's got my attention. Thanks for the info.
So, let me get this straight...Elefantino
Aug 22, 2001 6:10 AM
• Speedplays are easier to stomp-and-go than all other pedal systems, unless they aren't.
• Bicycling Magazine is the authority for all things on two wheels because of its staff's exhaustive research, or they're idiots.
• I am a sage for bringing up this topic, or I'm a "MOROn"
And now, for the important question:
• Why is the "n" in "MOROn" lower-cased?
So, let me get this straight...seamus
Aug 22, 2001 7:22 AM
I'd lower-cased the "n" in the word MOROn on purpose.

Plebian.
re: Bicycling magazine vs. SpeedplayChen2
Aug 22, 2001 8:53 AM
Last evening while riding with my wife we had to cross a four lane highway with heavy traffic. When the light turned green, without a second thought, I was on my Speedplay X1's and zipping through the intersection. I looked over my shoulder to see my wife fighting for her second shot at her Dura-Ace SPD pedal. Her pedals have excellent bearings but when you're in a hurry and hit the pedal wrong it goes into a fast spin and it seems like forever before you get that second shot. I had a mental picture of an 18 wheeler running her down. I said "Ok that's it, we're putting Speedplays on your bike". When I got home I picked up my new "Bicycling" and saw their negative comment about Speedplays. But it didn't surprise me, those guys really are out of tune with reality. Makes me wonder if they even ride bikes. (If it had been my first wife.....?)
-Al
I hear the mag folks are plebians, with or without capitals (nm)Elefantino
Aug 22, 2001 7:18 PM