RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Alternative chain lubes.(22 posts)

Alternative chain lubes.PEDDLEFOOT
Aug 20, 2001 12:08 PM
I've read some reviews on using Slick50 oil treatment as a chain lube.All the reviews seemed positive.The problem is you can't find it anymore.Are there any other type products like Slick50 that work as well? I'm trying to find an alternative to the wax and teflon based lubes out there.
Pro-LinkTri-Stata Cycler
Aug 20, 2001 12:17 PM
By far the best I've used. I thought it was all hype until I started using it and it made a big difference in my drivetrain. I am converted for life.
Ditto the Pro-link. (nm)look271
Aug 20, 2001 12:39 PM
Double Ditto the Pro-LinkRich Clark
Aug 20, 2001 12:56 PM
I especially like it because it performs as well in the winter as in the summer, doesn't wash off in the rain, and doesn't pick up grit.

And it's delicious.

RichC
Rock and RollSpank
Aug 20, 2001 12:22 PM
red... quiets the drivetrain alot.
30W Motor OilDINOSAUR
Aug 20, 2001 12:35 PM
I started using it a couple of months ago. My chain stays nice and clean, well lubricated, and it shifts flawlessly. It's also dirt cheap. You can buy an off brand for about $.99, and it lasts forever. I keep mine stored in a tin oil can I purchased at a hardware store.
The best chain lube I've ever used..
Could you shave a few grams with 20W? nmBreezydz
Aug 20, 2001 1:09 PM
Nasty!grzy mnky
Aug 20, 2001 1:19 PM
In time you'll see that the stuff is a dirt magnet unless you use enough to produce little drops all around the drive train. Perhaps you could employ a drip oiling system like on the trains of olde?!

The White Lightning crowd must be in shock and are probably calling the EPA right now.
Not really...DINOSAUR
Aug 20, 2001 3:30 PM
The secret is, I found, to take a couple of minutes a day to wipe the chain and apply a light coat of oil ala the Lennard Zinn method. I see the opposite, no dirt and it stays very clean. It works for me, and refering to an old message from Ed Z "it's just a lousy bike chain for crying out loud". What happened to Ed Z anyway?
re: Alternative chain lubes.Chen2
Aug 20, 2001 2:41 PM
I've heard good things about mixing a "home brew" of synthetic motor oil and mineral spirits but I haven't tried it yet. I threw my ProLink in the trash because it made the chains on three bikes noisy. I like Boeshield T-9 better than anything I've tried, chains now quiet.
Al
"homebrew" works fineDaveG
Aug 20, 2001 5:00 PM
I started using 3 parts Odorless Mineral spirits to one part Mobil 1 synthetic at the start of this season. So far, I've been pretty happy with it. Perhaps not as clean as White Lightning but you can stretch your cleanings/lube for more miles with no squeeking and no nasty waxy chunks. I usually apply once a week. Very easy to use and cheap.
"homebrew" works fineDINOSAUR
Aug 21, 2001 9:11 AM
I think I'll try this. Life without experimentation is a dull life...
try 4 or 5 parts mineral spirits...C-40
Aug 21, 2001 1:41 PM
I've increased the amount of mineral spirits in my home brew to four or five parts to one part oil and still found that it leaves plenty of lubricant behind. Just be sure to apply the night before riding to give plenty of time for the mineral spirits to evaporate.

I apply the mix heavily, more like a chain cleaner. Use a folded paper towel to catch the excess and wipe the chain. Use another dry towel to finish up. A dry wipe between rides keeps things even cleaner.
what's wrong with teflon?club
Aug 20, 2001 3:30 PM
if you don't like the "dry" teflon-fortified lube Finish Line carries, try their good ol' 'wet" lube, XC, usedta be called "century lube." It's got teflon, and is the most-researched, most high-tech bicycle chain-specific chain lube out there. It's also fine in "dry" lube conditions if you lube link by link and then wipe off the excess. After riding, just wipe down the chain with a rag and yer good to go again. I wouldn't use anything else.
teflon....DINOSAUR
Aug 20, 2001 3:40 PM
I think Slick 50 was Teflon based. Unaware that they stopped making it. I used some in my little '66 Ply Satellite hot rod and it runs like a champ at nearly 177K. I'm sure that there are other products on the market that are the same stuff, they probably package and sell it as bicycle chain lube and no one knows the difference.
teflon....& SLick50mr tornado head
Aug 21, 2001 5:20 AM
Slick 50 is still around... they also make a spray can (large) called "OneLube" which is essentially 30W oil, mineral spirits and, you guessed it, teflon (I called their customer service line and got th guy to talk after a bit). It's dirt cheap, like $3 for a huge spray can, available at KMart, Meijers, hardware stores, etc.

It works great and I use it on the kids bikes. It is a bit of a dirt magnet, tho so I don't use it on the road bike. For that, I gotta side with ProLink for now. Stays on in the rain, runs pretty damn clean and I only have to reaplly about every 300-400 miles.

I *do* plan on trying BoeShield, tho.
re: Alternative chain lubes.Leroy L
Aug 20, 2001 3:53 PM
I'm using '3-in-1' oil and it works pretty well. Just a simple light sewing machine oil before each ride - wipe it down after - clean the chain about once a week w/ degreaser. Sure runs quiet, too.
PROLINK is by farSlothike
Aug 20, 2001 9:54 PM
the best lube I have ever tried. I was touting this stuff on this and other sites before and I still am utterly amazed by how well it works. I lasts forever and I have tried all the "best". None even come close. I will never buy another lube and I suggest people at least try it and decide for yourself. I got the LBS to try it and now they use it down in the shop. It is amazing stuff and I don't know how it works.
PROLINK is...Chen2
Aug 21, 2001 6:09 AM
I fell for all the "Bicycling Magazine" hype and talked my LBS into stocking ProLink. But after one season he quit stocking it because, like me, most of his customers found out it is grossly overrated and is actually a poor lubricant. This is one of only three bicycle products that I think are rip-offs. But that's just my opinion and I'm sure others will disagree. The chain on my primary bike has over 5000 miles on it with no wear or "stretch". I've used montly White Lightning but now using Boeshield T-9.
Chain lubes seem to be on of those "personal" things and I hope no-one will be personally offended by my rant.

-Al
PROLINK is...Slothlike
Aug 21, 2001 7:14 AM
I respect you opinion, but can't imagine that it is a "poor" lubricant. I see my chain staying well lubricated for a significantly longer time than when I used White Lightening or Pedros. I am not imagining it. The consensus is overwhelming about this product and I think its effectiveness depends on proper use. You cannot lay it on too thick and it takes time to set. I don't have a personal stake in the company, but I sure love the stuff.
PROLINK is...?Chen2
Aug 21, 2001 9:08 AM
And I respect your opinion too. I followed the instructions on the ProLink bottle and the chains (Dura-Ace, Ultegra, Shimano 600) on 3 bikes became noisy. I would equate noise between metal parts as friction. Also I was getting black stuff oozing out from behind the plates. I continued with wiping the chains down once a week as I always had and I tried more ProLink and less ProLink but the noise just kept getting worse. I then switched back to White Lightning and most of the noise went away. I don't like the waxy buildup that WL leaves so I then tried T-9. All of the noise went away and my chains now have a much cleaner appearance than I've had using anything else. I still wipe them down once a week. I don't want to sound contradictory but from what I've seen ProLink is not widely accepted, at least no in my area. I think a lot of people have tried it and then moved on to something else. I have tried several other chain lubes, haven't tried Finish Line yet. I'm more than willing to try other recommended lubes but T-9 is by far the best that I've tried (drip bottle, not spray). I'm also curious about the synthetic oil "home brew" and will probably give it a try since I run Mobil 1 in my car, truck, and boat. I'm not associated in any way with Boeshield, Boeing, Mobil, or any other lube related business. And I can't explain why we become passionate about bicycle chain lubes but these threads always seem to bring out a lot of opinions. And we all know what Dirty Harry said about opinions.
Cheers...Al
Yet another opionionMeDotOrg
Aug 21, 2001 7:33 AM
I've used Prolink and Boeshield T-9. Both are good, I have a slight preference for Prolink.