RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Fuji or Airborne?(9 posts)

Fuji or Airborne?Brent Hilgefort
Aug 19, 2001 8:02 PM
I have about $2100 to spend on a new road bike. What to get? I've narrowed it down to either an Airborne Zeppelin w/Ultegra or a Fuji Team Issue w/Daytona. What are the strengths/weaknesses of each? Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
Brent
Robert Millar just reviewed the Airborne in ProCycling...Bruno S
Aug 19, 2001 8:15 PM
You can really trust his reviews. You should read what he says about the Airborne, positive stuff.
re: Fuji or Airborne?Rich Clark
Aug 19, 2001 8:47 PM
Because Airborne, in recent newsletters, offered free waterbottles to owners who posted reviews here, there are a lot of new revews of the Zeppelin on RBR. A lot of the reviews are cursory, but each one is from someone with his own serial number (required to get the bottles). That the reviews are so positive is voluntary.

I'm no racer and I'm not really entitled to an opinion on the relative merits of these two frames, although I can certainly attest to the general quality of Airborne's product and service (I have a Carpe Diem). But for around $2100 you could get Daytona on the Zep if you want it. But you'd have to "settle" for Open Pro's on Daytona hubs at that price.

If you do decide to look into the Zeppelin, see if there's a dealer near you. There are more Airborne dealers than you might think, and sometimes they can work with you a bit on pricing. And of course they can help you out a lot on fit.

RichC
re: Fuji or Airborne?Spank
Aug 20, 2001 12:24 PM
the things people do for free stuff...
re: Fuji or Airborne?4bykn
Aug 20, 2001 5:22 AM
Not sure what warranty the Fuji (which is a fine bike) has, but the Zeppelin has a lifetime warranty on the frame. Worth considering if you plan to keep the bike a long time. I ride a Zeppelin/Ultegra and am completely satisfied with mine.
re: Fuji or Airborne?Pete2
Aug 20, 2001 8:52 AM
Check out the Macalu at Excel Sports. It's basically a Litespeed Arenberg, and you can get one with a Reynolds Ouzo fork and Ultegra for $1999
re: Fuji or Airborne?Mike K
Aug 20, 2001 12:20 PM
The the Excel marketed Litespeed or the Douglas Ti marketed by Colorado Cyclist would seem to be the better Ti buy.
There is something specious about a manufacturer who chooses to bribe its own customers with free goods to target a "voluntary" review board - what kind of reviews would you expect?
The Douglas Ti @ Colorado Cyclist w/Ultegra is only $1750 and w/DA $2150 - this includes a frame that is US made and butted rather than the Chinese imported, straight gauge Airborne. Just seems to make more sense.

P.S. I have not received any free goods for suggesting either Macalu or Dougls products.
re: Fuji or Airborne?Rich Clark
Aug 20, 2001 3:54 PM
>>There is something specious about a manufacturer who chooses to bribe its own customers with free goods to target a "voluntary" review board - what kind of reviews would you expect?<<

You could turn that around and ask how much confidence it takes in your product to encourage your owners to post reviews en masse. If that many owners posted negative -- or even lukewarm -- reviews, it could bury a company. And you'd still have to give 'em the bottles.

I'm sure the Douglas frame is a fine frame, but I'd like to see a review of it somewhere. Can you point one out? And I have no reason to doubt your statement that the frame is US-made, although I see no such assertion on Colorado Cyclist's site. Could you tell me where to read more?

That the Douglas might be a fine frame has no effect on Airborne's frames also being excellent, as attested to not just by dozens of glowing user reviews (and all the ones that pre-date the water bottle offer are just as positive as the new batch) but also by a number of published reviews in magazines worldwide. And not only is it cheaper by $200, but the Zeppelin has a lifetime warranty (vs 5 years on the Douglas).

I guess "sense" is in the eye of the beholder.

P.S. My review of my Airborne Carpe Diem also pre-dated the water bottle offer, and nobody's getting any free goods for recommending these bikes here on the message board.
Hear Hear!Chris Zeller
Aug 21, 2001 9:59 AM
I haven't tried the Douglas, and in fact only discovered it as a result of this message, but I can say that my Airborne Carpe Diem is the finest bike I've ever testridden. It is both smooth and responsive and although it's a touring setup, it's lighter than the aluminum, steel and carbon race bikes I considered before buying this one.

No one is paying me to say this--I don't even use water bottles (camelback). I just think that more people would do well to consider Airborne when shopping for top-end bikes. The water bottle offer is only intended to raise awareness of Road Bike Review, and help people who may be leary of going out on a limb by buying a bike online have a better chance of knowing what they are getting into. I encourage all other bike companies to do the same.

Although the Douglas seems to be competitively priced, one other thing to consider is that you won't be able to configure it yourself the way you can with Airborne--sure you can go with a build kit and exchange two components, or simply buy the frame and build it yourself, but I don't think you would come out ahead by doing this. I think the Airborne is still a better buy.

To be honest, you would buy both bikes sight unseen. If you don't like the Airborne, just send it back within 10 days. I don't think you can do that with the Douglas.