RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Indoor Storage Soln's??(23 posts)

Indoor Storage Soln's??SimpleGreen
Aug 17, 2001 6:45 PM
I'm in the process of rearranging some of my bike clutter, and I'd like to know your opinions on indoor storage racks for bikes. I'd like to store them vertically to make room for a workstand and other stuff that just keeps accumulating. The two types I'm looking at are

a.) Floor racks that lean against a wall
b.) Floor-to-ceiling racks

What brands do you like?
What are the pros/cons of (a), (b)?

I have two road bikes if that helps.

Thanks!

SG

SG
Hang 'em Highwink
Aug 17, 2001 6:53 PM
Can't you just go to Home Depot and buy a plastic coated hook for .69 and hang 'em from the cieling? Back tire up makes 'em look like sleeping bats ..... ready to go when they wake up!
Hang 'em High w/picwink
Aug 17, 2001 7:17 PM
Go to this link!
Hang 'em HighAkirasho
Aug 17, 2001 7:30 PM
... agreed. If you've got the ceilings and a corner for it, this can be a very space effective way to store bikes... especially two (I store up to 12 like this in my basement... it's the only practical solution outside of getting rid of my babies). Just make sure you find a good stud (even if you rent, you could patch the holes when you move) to mount the hooks.

Be the bike.
re: Indoor Storage Soln's??Cliff Oates
Aug 17, 2001 10:11 PM
I have a wooden rack of type A that I bought from Nashbar. I live in an apartment that at 1200 sq. ft. is a pretty good size, but space is still at a premium for me. FWIW, I keep my two bikes in a 2nd bedroom that doubles as an office and general work area, and having bikes hanging like bats from the ceiling in this room would not be satisfactory. The rack takes a minimal amount of space in one corner of the room and the property manager has had no objections to it. I live in California and earthquakes are a concern here, so I fastened the rack with screws to studs and it and my bikes are secured and safe. The floor to ceiling rack would be inappropriate here because I don't believe I could secure it adequately, otherwise, those have two sides and can hold four bikes. In terms of cons, I am limited to two bikes.
re: FWIWCliff Oates
Aug 18, 2001 12:06 PM
re: Indoor Storage Soln's??Live Steam
Aug 18, 2001 1:19 PM
About $1.50 and five minutes of work!
re: Indoor Storage Soln's??Cliff Oates
Aug 18, 2001 1:23 PM
Your image didn't work. Neither did the one the other guy posted.
Your computer experience pays offmike mcmahon
Aug 18, 2001 1:29 PM
Leave it to the guy who works with computers to be the only one to post his picture successfully. ;-) My guess is that the last picture would have shown a pair of hooks hanging from the ceiling, which has always worked for me (at least in the garage).
Your computer experience pays offCliff Oates
Aug 18, 2001 1:57 PM
I can't afford a garage here in Sili Valley. I can afford 500MB of web hosting though...
BTW, you've got a nice web site (nm)mike mcmahon
Aug 18, 2001 2:00 PM
nm
BTW, you've got a nice web site (nm)Cliff Oates
Aug 18, 2001 2:06 PM
Thanks Mike. I'm waiting on geocities to let go of my domain at this point so that I can get the whole thing moved to the new host. Feel free to have a look at the 2001 injury page to see why I've been off my bike this summer.

Cliff (who does NOT fly like Mighty Mouse)
Ouch!mike mcmahon
Aug 18, 2001 2:19 PM
That looks and sounds painful. I hope you're right-handed at least. I know I shouldn't even say this (and I'm knocking on wood as I do) but in 20 years of cycling, I haven't any injury that kept me off the bike for longer than a week. However, I'm approaching 40 quickly, so all bets will be off. It sounds like your motivation is intact, so you should get back into shape pretty quickly. Good luck with the recovery.
Ouch!Cliff Oates
Aug 18, 2001 2:26 PM
Nope, lefty. Who writes longhand anymore, anyway? Oh yeah, checks. I just started PT (personal torture) this past Thursday. I'm going to be really careful from here on out, that is for cetain... My goal for the rest of the year is to do the metric portion of the Riverbank Century. That may end up being a stretch for me, but I do so like to ride...
Hi Cliff, what's the address of your w site ? (nm)NewbieRider
Aug 18, 2001 6:06 PM
Hi Cliff, what's the address of your w site ? (nm)Cliff Oates
Aug 18, 2001 6:11 PM
It is always www.coates3.com. The redirect from geocities will vanish once geocities gets a clue.
OopsCliff Oates
Aug 18, 2001 6:12 PM
Click here
Cliff's site is awesome...i thought so at least...nmdustin73
Aug 19, 2001 12:11 AM
Very strange! Hmmm?Live Steam
Aug 18, 2001 2:46 PM
It worked when I first posted it. It came up in the review part of the post. You can find the image here or by right clicking the failed image and cutting and pasting the URL. I wonder if Geocities is doing something to prevent linking image information?

Very strange! Hmmm?Cliff Oates
Aug 18, 2001 6:02 PM
They are. That's one of the reasons why I am switching away from Geocities. The other is cost. Geocities was charging me $120/year for hosting my domain plus 25 MB of storage and some constraints. My new provider is charging me $100/year for 500 mb and few constraints.
re: Indoor Storage Soln's??12x23
Aug 18, 2001 2:56 PM
I use a Pedastyle (I think it is, or was, called) now sold as Sports Solutions Oak Rack. Or, at least that is what it says on p.37 of the latest Colorado Cyclist catalog. My Pedastyle, Sports Solutions, whatever, has a pedestal base instead of securing to the ceiling. I also purchased two add-on kits. It works pretty well, but you have to move it several feet from a wall to use both sides. The toptube 'holders' will trap the rear brake cable on some frames against the toptube unless you are careful when storing the bike.

I'm tempted to hang the others as 'bats' from the ceiling in an unused bedroom. $1.50 vs $160+ sounds too attractive.
re: Indoor Storage Soln's??Pogliaghi
Aug 18, 2001 4:41 PM
I belong to a local off-road advocacy group maintains a bunch of bikes for use to take inner-city kids out on rides in local parks. We were hurting for storage space so we bolted a 2X6 board to the wall and screwed hooks at interval and hung the bikes with wheels against the wall alternating handlebars.

Sorta like what this guy did. Cheap, and if you want to make some effort, you can make look nice.

http://www.mindspring.com/~d.g1/storage.htm

BTW, notice that he angled the hooks downwards. That's important, we noticed that the weight of the bikes will pull on the hooks and loosen if you the hooks are screwed perpendicular to the wall.
Ultimate Velo CacheJimF
Aug 18, 2001 11:22 PM
Now using mine in the garage, but it served to hold 4 bikes in my 1 BR apt. for a couple of years. Well built and presentable.