RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Newbie Question..Mavic Open Pro's???(16 posts)

Newbie Question..Mavic Open Pro's???MikeK
Aug 17, 2001 7:09 AM
I have someone who has made a replacement on their bike with these. Are we talking hub or wheel set? The change was from a stock Trek 2300. Is this an upgrade or downgrade.
re: Newbie Question..Mavic Open Pro's???4bykn
Aug 17, 2001 7:26 AM
Mavic OpenPro's are rims. Not sure what rims were on the 2300 originally, but the OpenPro's are generally well thought of all-purpose rims. Not likely to be a downgrade.
re: Newbie Question..Mavic Open Pro's???Bruno S
Aug 17, 2001 7:30 AM
Open Pros are rims. They are strong and light so they come in many new bikes and they are used in a few of Mavic's wheelsets. Upgrade or down grade? Hard to tell. What rims did the 2300 had? It also depends of your needs: Aero, light, strong? They will be better than the cpx21 that come in many entry level bikes.
Orig. wheels are Rolf Vector CompMikeK
Aug 17, 2001 7:39 AM
the other Mike KMike K
Aug 17, 2001 7:44 AM
Some of whether its an upgrade of downgrade would also depend on the hub used to build the wheels with the Open Pro rim.
I'm not a big fan of Rolf wheels so I would probably say that if they used good hubs to build the wheelset and it was done by a good builder than it was probably an upgrade.
re: Newbie Question..Mavic Open Pro's???AustinTexasRider
Aug 17, 2001 7:49 AM
The 2300 (newer models) come with the Rolf Vector Comps (2002 will have bontrager clones of the vector comps). The open pros would have required a new hub and spokes as the vector comps are a different hub design unless the pros were laced up funny. The open pros are probably a little heavier and are less aerodynamic, but are also more durable and standard as far as repairs go. The open pros would lean more toward general riding and training and would allow more abuse where the vector comps probably lean more toward racing and good looks to impress your friends.
Yeah those vector Comps...Lone Gunman
Aug 17, 2001 7:55 AM
will only impress your friends. That RR track I hit with my front wheel that bent the handlebar and not my Vector Comp @ 25mph says alot about impressing friends.
Yeah those vector Comps...toucheAustinTexasRider
Aug 17, 2001 8:08 AM
OK, so maybe the comps hold up to abuse too. With the low spoke count, they look like they wouldn't last, but many people swear up and down that they are bombproof. I wonder if that still holds true for 250 lb. riders.
cool, another austin rider besides me...(nm)dustin73
Aug 17, 2001 9:30 AM
Yeah those vector Comps...Jofa
Aug 18, 2001 1:02 AM
Poor wheels fail from fatigue. The situation you describe would have been the case with any bicycle wheel; the ultimate yield strength of wheels is rarely an issue, as your RR track has demonstrated. Durability is, however, and this is where the Rolf design is flawed.
Where is your evidence?Lone Gunman
Aug 18, 2001 11:52 AM
So that is why wheel manufacturers are all copying the paired spoke design, so they can fail. I never would have thunk it. You make a bold statement then don't back it up with any substantiation. For this informal survey, I see a 90%+ satisfied rating for the Rolf wheels. Hardly a scientific survey, just opinions. What's the matter, did Rolf steal your design?
The open pros are lighter than aero rims...Bruno S
Aug 17, 2001 8:49 AM
Thats the trade off. An aero rim will require more material and it will be heavier than a boxy one like the open pros. The aero rims will also be stronger so they can have less spokes. I personally prefer to save weight on the rim (and tires and tubes) than any other part of the wheelset since the farther the mass is from the center of rotation more energy is required to accelerate it.
marketing hypeMike K
Aug 17, 2001 9:36 AM
Aero is almost always better than light (within reason). This has been tested and published ad nauseum. And if you the money you can get both in something like the Ada's....
There was a great article on the subject posted a few weeks ago: http://www.bike.com/features/template.asp?date=8%2F1%2F2001&page=2&lsectionnumber=6&lsectiondirectory=techno
Hubs and roundness...Bruno S
Aug 17, 2001 10:57 AM
The most significant difference I felt between my old beaten up generic wheels to my "boutique wheelset" was how they would spin. During the same ride I do every weekend I noticed that my speed while descending increased significantly and that can only be attributed to the hubs and that the wheels were very round since the shape of the rims and number of spokes are about the same in both wheelsets.

About aero vs light I preffer light because I am a terrible climber so anything that helps on that will be better for me.
Hubs and roundness...Mike K
Aug 17, 2001 11:27 AM
I can't climb either (but not because of my wheels :-). A dragging hub just like any other badly adjusted or destroyed bearing will effect your efficiency and should be replaced or repaired even if only from the point of view of safety. An out of round wheel is just like climbing a small hill with every revolution - why work harder - get it trued.. Most of the higher end hubs are indeed very nice now days. I've always had good luck with Mavic, Hugi and King.
But so far as lighter wheels making you a noticeably better climber - 99% of that is in your head (which may very well manifest itself in your riding - if you believe that you can climb better you probably will).
All of the computer models and studies I have ever seen show that aero wheels, at almost any speed over single digits, will provide a greater benefit than just light wheels - plus we are talking about a difference of 100gr between a well build set of Open Pro vs something like the Ksyrium. I would think that if you are talking about a difference of over a pound and/or very low speeds than the weight issue might make sense. You can play with some numbers at analyticcycling.com (if you have too much time one your hands).
Hubs and roundness...Marlon
Aug 17, 2001 12:27 PM
Curious about the descending bit, whether the wheels do make a difference: a little more than a year ago, I was descending a hill with spinergies mounted on a Trek 1200. Max speed was between 70-80km/h as I recall. Skip to this year, descending the same hill, same conditions. Better form, better technique, but this time on a Trek 2300 with Rolf Vector Comps. Weight reduction: probably around 5-6 pounds, given my better fitness and the new bike. Max speed this time around: 62-65km/h. That's around a 10km/h or roughly 6 mph difference? Would 5-6 lbs make that much of a difference? I don't know. The spinergies (rev-x's) are supposed to be more aero in *some* situations, so I have no idea if the descent was good in that way.