RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


TTT Prima 199 Bar review(8 posts)

TTT Prima 199 Bar reviewgirodebirdman
Aug 17, 2001 1:17 AM
Does anyone have beta on the TTT Prima 199 bars? I was thinking about swapping out my Deda Newton setup (oversize) for these bars and a Ritchey WCS stem, due to the fact that I can't mount aero bars on the Newton for occasional multi-sport use, due to their oversizeness. I am about 65kg and a climber type, not a sprinter, so I am not going to be that concerned about flex, although everyone wants a stiff bar? Anybody used the Prima, and have input? Thanks!
I've had mine . . .DCW
Aug 17, 2001 2:45 AM
for over a year with no real problems. I have a Ti stem, and for some reason there is a bit of creak with the bars. I am 175 and put a fair amount of stress on the bars when sprinting and climbing, but they have held up so far. Other than the black color and the bit of occasional creak, I can't discern a difference from my Prima SLs.
AD14
Aug 17, 2001 3:40 AM
They seem flexy to me but then so do most standard ultralight bars made of aluminum. The guy who owned the bike said it bothered him and he may change them because he races and flex costs time. At your weight and riding style you may not have a problem. As the above poster mentioned, I too have trouble with creaking bars and am often fiddling with them. This is probably because I am good size and my technique leaves something to be desired.
re: TTT Prima 199 Bar reviewCRM
Aug 17, 2001 5:40 AM
I've had mine since spring and I have no complaints. Can't say that I've noticed any undue flex despite my 175 lbs., but then I changed my entire front end (new fork, headset, stem and bars) all at the same time, so it would be difficult to pinpoint the source anyway. I run mine with a 3T Forgie stem and have no creaking problems. Excellent low weight for less money than heavier bars.
re: TTT Prima 199 Bar reviewJon Billheimer
Aug 17, 2001 8:03 AM
2nd CRM's post. I couldn't outsprint my own grandmother, so flex is not an issue. No creaking or any other problems. If you mount aerobars on them, I'd suggest you tape the bars at the mount points with one layer of hockey stick tape to prevent marking.
re: TTT Prima 199 Bar reviewjschrotz
Aug 17, 2001 9:50 AM
I've had a set of 199s for about 5 months now, and I haven't noticed any flex at all. Of course I only weigh about 150lbs, but I have done a fair amount of sprinting both on flat ground and up some short steep hills with them without a hint of handlebar flex. I've been really happy with them so far. I'll echo the sentiments in the post above re: mounting aero bars.
re: TTT Prima 199 Bar reviewSkip
Aug 17, 2001 10:00 AM
I don't have a lot of other HB's to compare them against, but I am very happy with my 199's. They are much stiffer than the ITM Millennium's I replaced. I didn't realize how much flex the ITM's had till I rode the 199's. Maybe I would say the same about the 199's if I had ridden 100 different HB's, but I'm not disappointed in them at all.
Nice Bargrzy mnky
Aug 17, 2001 10:23 AM
Had them on my previous ride, but now have a Deda 215. To me the Prima is more comfortable and the position and angle of the anotomical part of the bar is better executed although the Deda 215 has a better flat section leading into the hoods. My next set of bars will be either a Prima 199 or Easton EC-90.

The Ritchey WCS stem is my current favorite. Stiff as a crutch, light and well executed. The Deda Newton stem has been a bit problematic.