RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Weightlifting(8 posts)

WeightliftingGTrider215
Aug 16, 2001 12:35 PM
hey i waswondering, on the days that it rains and i cant go on my ride do u think there would be any advantage to weightlifting? i meen just tusing your legs. how about if i put a light weight on and do it extra times fast. helpme out here i wanna know what u think.
For sure...UncleMoe
Aug 16, 2001 12:47 PM
Join a gym or get some weights for home use. In the long run (like a lifetime) a gym is more expensive, but do you really want your garage or basement taken up by a bunch of weights?

For your legs do squats, leg curls and hamstring curls. Maybe also calf raises.

For your chest and back do bench presses, butterfly presses, and cable rows.

Biceps and triceps do curls and, hmm, not sure what they call it for triceps, but in the gym you'll see peope working those out.

And do some should shrugs and military presses for your shoulders.

I just got back into biking after a few year layoff. In the offseason, winter, you should lift for strength, so do higher weights and less repetition. When you are seriously into riding and training, do higher reps and lower weight for endurance.

It will definitely help, especially on long rides and for your recovery time. Some might say get a training book, but I say subscribe to Men's Health for a year cause every month they have some sort of weight training article. Unless you really like the mag, stop subscribing after a year because they start to repeat the same workouts over and over.

And get a friend who works out too as having someone to spot you will do wonders vs. working out alone. Plus you can learn from them.
re: Weightliftingwink
Aug 16, 2001 12:51 PM
A couple of times week suggest that you do the following: 3 sets of hamstring curls, 3 sets of quad extensions, 3 sets of standard leg press, 3 sets of vertical leg press, 3 sets of dead lifts, 3 sets of calve raises. Do one set one each the move on to the next. This leg work out will kick butt! I found that regular & intense weight training has improved my climbing power and significantly enhanced my endurance. I am sure that there are conflicting opinions on this, but it works great for me.
Do you lift with legs year around?jjay
Aug 16, 2001 1:04 PM
I have struggled with this topic for awhile. I do upper and lower body workouts during the winter then switch to just upper body a couple times a week during the cycling season. It seems that cycling six days a week (12-15 hours) and doing lower body workouts at the gym would be a little too much but I could be wrong. My legs seem to get plenty of work on the bike during the spring/summer/fall and I'm afraid I would overtrain or injure if I continued lower body workouts through the cycling season. Any other opinions?
I wouldUncleMoe
Aug 16, 2001 1:32 PM
continue to do the leg weight workout even in the training season, just not a high an intensity. You are already gojng to the gym a few days a week for your upper body workout. Why not just take another 15-20 minutes during one session to do a light leg workout? Personally I think it will not only improve regular riding, but also increase endurance.

I had a roommate a few years ago that raced and he only lifted in the offseason. He always rode so well too. As soon as he got back into serious training and racing mode he stopped lifting and his riding went downhill. Could be other factors involved, but I think the fact that he stopped lifting 100% was part of it.
Yeswink
Aug 16, 2001 2:24 PM
I try to all year round. I live in St. Louis so I miss about two months of riding. Found that it really helps. Of course I think I would rather be riding then lifting. And I am not claiming that this is what you should do if you want to beat LA at the TDF next year. But my legs are never sore or feel overtrained and on my rides it seems like I only run out of time not energy.
weightsGTrider215
Aug 16, 2001 2:01 PM
yahmydad has a garagefull of weights and benches and everything, so ima start using them more.
re: Recovery timefiltersweep
Aug 16, 2001 5:55 PM
I belong to a gym, and work out religiously. Off season lifting is obviously great. If you are actively biking, it won't take you long to figure out the obvious- that your quads have the longest recovery time of any muscle group (can be four days or more after an intense workout). Biking after a ton of squats will make you feel that you are constantly going uphill against the wind! I'd go lighter with higher reps while you're biking. Obviously strength will help you. I'm very lean without much effort and find I lose quite a bit of muscle mass each summer- granted I spend less time in the gym, but also the cardio of biking works against the muscle gains of working out. Lifting heavy will improve sprints/acceleration, higher lighter reps improve endurance.