RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Another "what do you think of this bike" post -- GT ZR-3.0(8 posts)

Another "what do you think of this bike" post -- GT ZR-3.0Velocipedio
Aug 16, 2001 4:21 AM
Although these posts can be irritating, I wanted some opinions on the GT ZR-3.0. My GF is about to buy one for about C$1800 [$1180 US]. She really likes this bike, having tried Giants, the whole line of Specialized [loved the Allez Comp, can't afford it] and Guru.

It looks like a pretty fine machine to me -- light, well-specced, nice carbon fork -- but I don't know anyone who rides GT.

So... anyone have any experience with this bike or its siblings? Should I worry about the SChwinn/GT sale to Huffy?
re: Another "what do you think of this bike" post -- GT ZR-3.0Mike M
Aug 16, 2001 4:52 AM
I have a ZR2000 , Ultegra, 2000 model and love it. It isn't the most popular road machine but it is light weight (mine is about 18.5 lbs without pedals, mostly stock)and has a smooth ride in my opinion. The bike has pro credentials, LOTTO team rides them. If you need a bike with chic reputation, forget it. All the young bmx'ers like it though. I am concerned about GT/ Schwinn from a company standpoint, but it won't really matter in the end. Look what happened to Mongoose, going to wal mart and such. Let's hope Huffy or whoever doesn't make this move. I bet they do and there goes any hope of long term success making premium bikes.
Walmart GTsVelocipedio
Aug 16, 2001 5:06 AM
My guess is that Huffy will probably keep GT as the premium, bike store brand. Schwinn has some cultural resonance in the US, and I can see them using that brand in the 'marts...
re: Another "what do you think of this bike" post -- GT ZR-3.0Miklos
Aug 16, 2001 5:34 AM
I have a ZR-3000, which is the same exact bike, only it is a 2k model. It seems to be very durable, hauling my 230lbs around without complaint. I can't complain about the ride at all, even on rough chip-seal roads. The frame (60cm) provides a good ride while being stiff in all the right places. However, the saddle will have to go. I agree that the GT's are a good value.

Miklos
re: Another "what do you think of this bike" post -- GT ZR-3.0Chris Zeller
Aug 16, 2001 7:17 AM
I test rode the GT and I liked it. I was impressed with the weight, due in part to their compact frames. Good components and good value. But, I'm glad I didn't. I found Airborne and I was very impressed. For about the same $1800 you can get a well speced titanium bike that will give you a much better ride at about the same weight. You can even pick each component individually. I'd check them out. www.airborne.net. I love mine.
re: Another "what do you think of this bike" post -- GT ZR-3.0Rat Monkey
Aug 16, 2001 10:27 AM
If your GF's looking at a ZR 3.0, why not check out the 2.0, which has better components, and Mavic Cosmos wheels to boot. Check out wheelworld.com. They have a great deal on the ZR2.0. Good Luck.
re: Another "what do you think of this bike" post -- GT ZR-3.0ronsod
Aug 16, 2001 7:56 PM
I am a newbie but I sure like my new ZR 3.0, they are a decent bike. I think Chris missed that you meant $1800.00 Canadian. The deal in wheelworld on the ZR 2.0 is great but we not be able to get it here in Canada. If it makes you feel better I had to pay full retail for mine- $2400.ooC(long story)
She bought the GTVelocipedio
Aug 17, 2001 6:47 AM
Yep... she went and bought the GT. The shop did a complete and exhaustive fit, swapped out the saddle for a Selle Italia Lady Trans Am, and changed the stem. She loves the ride. We only had time for a short, 25km ride after she picked up the bike and she was thrilled at how well it climbed. Found it light and resposnive with a quick acceleration.

I took a spin on it and though I found it much more relaxed geometrically and a little stiffer than my steel Marinoni, I can honestly say that they don't make aluminum bikes like they used to. Thank god.

Price was $1800 Canadian [$1170 US], and that included the much better saddle, cages, bottles and a Cateye Astrale computer. I can't sing the praises of the shop enough.

We're going to do a 65km ride on Saturday, and 75km on Sunday, to get out into the country and see cows. [She likes cows.]