RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


cell phone case(48 posts)

cell phone caseherby
Aug 15, 2001 5:59 PM
Where can I get a cell phone case that can be attached to the bike, like a clamp on the case to seat post or handle bar???
re: cell phone caseSTEELYeyed
Aug 15, 2001 6:51 PM
I found a couple different ones online,I don't remember where,do a search for "bike cell phone case" and they should come up,one was a water proof plastic case that fit in a water bottle holder,it was cool but I decided to just put my phone in a jersey pocket,thats all I carry on the bike now,along with cash and credit card in a rubber band.
STEELYeyed
re: cell phone caseSTEELYeyed
Aug 15, 2001 7:04 PM
http://www.velogear.com/celsafcelpho.html
re: cell phone caseLone Gunman
Aug 15, 2001 6:53 PM
I have seen a hindged water bottle with foam cut to fit padding for a phone. I put mine in a zip lock bag and put it the back jersey pocket
Me too with the Ziploc bagAtombomber
Aug 15, 2001 7:14 PM
I set my phone to ring and shake, incase I don't hear it, I will feel it.
I am gonna offend some people, butLazyrider
Aug 15, 2001 7:53 PM
YOU DON'T NEED A CELL PHONE WHEN YOU RIDE. I hate to see people in general yapping on those Fuc$%%% things with no real importance of conversation. Especially the idiots who drive and talk. Isn't the point of riding your bicycle is to "GET AWAY" from these sorts of things? The only equipment you need is your bike and other necessities, of which a cell phone is not one. Pump and tire levers with a patch kit and spare tube. Stopping to answer a cell phone while riding is PRETENSIOUS and making a call is even more ridiculous. No wonder people look at roadies with contempt as you look some half a$$ yuppie stopping to make a call. PLEASE. I can not see any rationalization for this at all. Just ride your bike and deal with the other stuff later. The "in an emergency" argument is also ridiculous. A pay phone is always close by as a last resort. What a ridiculous POSEUR accessory. I truly am sorry if I offend you, but I know there are many who feel like I do.
No offense taken, but....I Love Shimano
Aug 15, 2001 8:04 PM
....did it ever occur to you that the emergency could happen at home, and your loved ones would need to contact you ASAP? I really do not think they can call a pay phone and wait for you to answer it.

Just my $0.2
I'm not offended but we ride different roads than you...DINOSAUR
Aug 15, 2001 8:12 PM
You have to understand that some of us ride in remote areas with no access to public phone unless you want to walk for a good number of miles to a pay phone. I carry mine to pacify my wife as I had a very nasty crash last year. I used it once when I flattened on a ride and I snapped two valve stems on my long valve tubes and I couldn't get a patch to adhere to the tire. I called my wife who came to my aid with a spare tube. I'm with you, I hate to see people talk on cel phone when riding or driving a car. My first fear is a soccer mom driving an suv talking on a cel phone transporting a load of kids. Actually I've never seen a cyclist talking on a cel phone while riding, it must be a big city thing, sorry I'm just a country bumkin...
I have an idea.........Mike K
Aug 15, 2001 8:51 PM
I'm going to offer an invitation for you to come out to central PA and find a pay phone within walking distance (in cleats) the first time you break a link or get multiple flats or have some other sort of problem, including a wreck. And when you don't find that pay phone you can always trod a couple of miles to the next farm past some farm dogs and other animals, to see if the farmer is in and will let your bright lycra clad, sweaty, self in to his house to make a phone call (rather than just shoot you - there just seems to be some sort of a misunderstanding between local folks and sweaty men in tight fitting clothing...)
You know, there are many things that make our lives easier and safer - a cell phone, when left turned off, in a zip lock, in your saddle bag falls under that category.
Pay phones(ACE)
Aug 15, 2001 9:43 PM
Is 15 to say, 40 miles, a close pay phone?
Three cel l phone uses in past year . . .DCW
Aug 16, 2001 3:00 AM
and none was real emergency, but all were very useful in middle Georgia. First one was a crash that destroyed two wheels ten miles from home and about eight from the nearest pay phone, maybe two from the nearest house. I was bloody and cut, and I could have walked or perhaps hitched a ride. I preferred to call my wife and have her bring the van. Second was the dicovery of two abandoned puppies about an hour from my house in the middle of nowhere. Again, I called my wife to rescue them. We found them both homes. Third was just last weekend. On a long climb, a friend was dropped. We waited at the top for five minutes and then I went back down to check. I assumed he had flatted. He had disappeared. I called his wife at home. No news. (He had no phone.) It turns out that he had been attacked a dog and turned around to take another route. He eventually found a pay phone, fifteen minutes later and called. We could all finish our rides more comfotably then.
I guess I am just a wimp/poseur. But I like my ergo shifters, light steel, modern wheels and better chamois, too. All new in past ten years.
I am gonna offend some people, butVelocipedio
Aug 16, 2001 4:33 AM
Agreed.

It's bad enough that 75 per cent of the motorists I see are yapping on their cell phones, but when I see cyclists weaving around with the phone welded to their heads...

As for the argument about "something might happen," this is a version of what I tell my students when they bring their cell phone into class [adapted for cycling of course]: You are not the President of the United States. The world can get along without you for one hour or ninety minutes. If an emergency comes up that you must respond to immediately, it won't matter a damn if you know about it and you're 50 km away. If it's really urgent, you'd have to be on the scene, anyway. So leave the phone at home and enjoy the ride.

If you absolutely MUST be in regular contact with the office/broker/spouse/babysitter at all times, and you can't stand the idea of being off-line for an hour, take up another sport, like croquet.
It is not our fault the year is 2001wink
Aug 16, 2001 8:33 AM
Look at the calender it says 2001, get use to it!
It is not our fault the year is 2001Velocipedio
Aug 17, 2001 4:59 PM
Ohhh... so it's 2001... that means that people have to be in constant contact with everyone else at all times... thanks for clearing that up.
Do whatever you want,I pay for my cellphone........STEELYeyed
Aug 16, 2001 5:36 AM
and I am going to carry it where ever I go,I hate phones in general, but it has become a neccesary evil,just like cars and computers,things WERE different 20 years ago,not better,just different,technology and progress have changed man's life since the beginning of time,cell phones and computers are not yuppie toys anymore,they are a part of mainstream life today,and how each individual chooses to use them is a comment on that persons character and integrity,and those human qualities my friends,are timeless.
STEELYeyed
Two different issues.MikeC
Aug 16, 2001 5:57 AM
I've never actually seen a cyclist talking on a cell phone while riding along. I'm sure it happens, but it's something I just can't imagine a roadie doing. However, I've seen plenty of roadies stopped by the side of the road, talking on phones.
If you don't want people riding while distracted, that's fine, because it affects the safety of other people. If you don't think roadies should have the convenience that carrying a cell phone brings, then your opinion doesn't count for anyone but yourself, because carrying one doesn't affect anyone else.
My wife won't ride solo without her cell phone, and I'm proud that she's smart enough to make that decision. If she's at the mercy of some yahoo, I want her able to communicate. And if she flats, I want her to be able to call me. Changing today's high performance clinchers on today's rims is no longer the easy task it once was.
I am gonna offend some people, butRich Clark
Aug 16, 2001 7:08 AM
I'm a heart patient. I've had four heart attacks and nine (count 'em) surgical procedures. Mostly through cycling, I've regained enough of my fitness to be able to commute daily and for hours at a time.

But I never leave home without my nitro tablets and my cell phone.

So the fact that you "can see no rationalization for this at all" doesn't mean there is none. It just means you can't see it.

I'm sure you could imagine many more, if you tried.

RichC
I am gonna offend some people, butbikedodger
Aug 16, 2001 7:18 AM
While I don't own a cell phone or intend to get one, I think they are something that has use for a cyclist. I have twice in the last few years had to walk to farm houses to use a phone due to bike/tire problems. A cell phone would have been much more convenient. I the problems had occured in the mountains, a walk to a phone would have been out of the question. I would have had to hitch hike or use a cell phone from a motorist or fellow cyclist if one stopped.
Yeah, I'm mildly offendedMel Erickson
Aug 16, 2001 8:10 AM
But only by your tone. I choose to take a cell phone because I ride in some remote areas. There aren't any pay phones, period. I may have a break down that a spare tube, tire patch kit and multiuse tool can't fix. In fact I have had such an instance. A blow out that shreded my tire. A simple call and help was on the way. I don't take it to receive calls, it's turned off. I used it once last year while heading to a buddies house in the country. I took a way I've never taken before and got lost. Used the phone to call my friend for directions and to let him know I would be late. What's wrong with that? It doesn't impair my riding experience at all, nor that of others. Why should it bother you at all? If I didn't tell you, and you were riding with me, you wouldn't even know I had it, until it was needed. Maybe you'd thank me, maybe not. I just don't think we should all be Luddites. If you want to be one on this issue that's fine with me. Just don't bash me for doing something I consider sensible.
I don't carry a phone when I ride,mike mcmahon
Aug 16, 2001 9:14 AM
but my wife really wants me to carry one. It would make her feel better, but so far I have resisted, telling her that I can reach her from a payphone just about anywhere I ride. However, if I do decide to carry one for the sole purpose of making her feel more secure, does that make me a yuppie jerk?
Not by my yardstickMel Erickson
Aug 16, 2001 9:31 AM
But some people measure in millimeters and some in miles.
I am gonna offend some people, butLone Gunman
Aug 16, 2001 4:19 PM
What kind of a fuggin idiot are you anyway. THINK BEFORE YOU TYPE GARBAGE!! A cell phone is a tool, nothing more or less. I crash out in the country, I call for help. I am being assaulted by someone redneck idiot that wants to take it to the next level, I call 911. I witness or come upon an accident, I call for help. I am someone's hero because I thought to bring my cell phone along. A tool, IDIOT!!
re: cell phone caseDINOSAUR
Aug 15, 2001 7:48 PM
Ditto on the zip lock bag, and I carry my mini cell phone in my jersey pocket. I've been carrying mine like this for about a year and a half with no problems. I've actually used it exactly once....
re: cell phone caseDutchy
Aug 15, 2001 8:19 PM
The only reason I carry my phone (TURNED OFF) is if I get knocked off my bike by some moron in a car, I am not going to lay in a ditch until someone notices me. Worst case scenario obviously. Although when I ride my MTB I take it as you are more likIey to crash and break bones. I never turn it on it stays in my seat pack all the time. As far as a phonebox being nearby, that depends on where you live and where you ride. I ride in the hills and country (less traffic) but there aren't any phones for 20kms/12miles sometimes. I have only used it a few times. For multiple flats on a ride, and sometimes I am just plain stuffed and can't climb the last 5kms up that last hill home. But I do agree that talking on them while on a group ride would not be very popular.
CHEERS.
Pay phones are on the way outmike mcmahon
Aug 15, 2001 8:23 PM
Almost every large phone company in the U.S. is off-loading or scaling back pay phone operations. With the increased use of mobile phones, pay phone use has decreased dramatically and they're expensive to maintain. Don't count on finding a pay phone if you break down, even in a highly-populated urban or suburban area.
I really think your perceptions of theLazyrider
Aug 15, 2001 9:08 PM
necessity of a cell phone on the bike is more related to the conveinience of having one rather than actual necessity. First, what did you guys do 7 years ago or more when cell phones were larger and more expensive???? I bet anything that you guys did without. If you had to carry one of those huge Motorolas that they had 10 years ago, you would do without riding the same roads you do now. Secondly, look past 10 years ago, back to the mid 80s and back. No cell phones at all (except the ones that looked like backpacks and service cost a fortune). You simply did not need one then or did people not ride back then because they needed mobile devices? I hate to sound like an A$$hole, and I know emergencies happen, but that is part of the cycling adventure in my eyes. I have broken spokes and was screwed on the road, but that is few and far between, but they make for good "War stories". It really isn't necessary, but people become creatures of habit and the luxuries that eventually become affordable become mainstream and people can't think of life without them. That is just perception and not reality. Reality is that you would survive without them. Just my strong opinion.
With due respects
10 years ago.....I Love Shimano
Aug 15, 2001 10:26 PM
Yes, 10 years ago no one would've brought those giant Motorola phones on a ride, but it's the 21st century and cellphones have gotten SMALLER in case you haven't noticed. They are not really an inconvenience on a ride (seatpack or jersey pocket), but are a convenience during those rare occurences such as flats, broken spokes, crashes, etc. About your 'war stories', are you telling us that if you crashed and broke your leg and you were 100 miles away from home on a double century, in some deserted highway, you wouldn't welcome a cellphone? I think not! Who would want to risk his/her life just so that he/she could tell some 'war stories'?

For example: "Oooh, this other day during a ride, some RV hit my head with its mirror. I lost consciousness and woke up 5 hours later feeling dizzy. Since I was far away from home in farm territory, I couldn't call my loved ones to inform them that I was OK. So I had to walk back home/hitch hike with my mashed helmet, broken rim/fork/whatever. when I got home, my wife was sobbing in the basement (so the kids would not see her). She thought some maniac in an SUV had road rage and decided to kill or hurt me. "

What do you expect to hear the listener say? "Oh cool, you truly are a CORE cyclist, I admire you so much, I too wouldn't bring a cellphone on a ride."

Bottomline is, emergencies may be rare, but it is better to be prepared for it. Now, go get you cellphone before you get on your bike. It's not like we're all Cipollinis making phone calls in the TdF peloton.

Peace out.
Do you use anything other than Downtube shifters........Len J
Aug 16, 2001 3:27 AM
or are you using STI or ERGO? I ould make the same argument as you just did about these. They really aren't necessary. How about a light bike. If I take your argument literally, if you are riding anything other than a 30 pound coaster bike, you are a hypocrite.

Face it a cell phone is a convience that most of us use for emergencies. Get over it.

P.S. What about the Doctor on call who sneaks out to steal a ride, is he wrong to have a cell phone?
Don't use no stinkin' shiftersMB1
Aug 16, 2001 6:06 AM
Fixed gears all the way.

We actually ride a variety of bikes but we do carry a cell phone ever since I got sick near the end of a 300K. I had the good fortune of having riders behind us having a cell phone. Another person on that ride was air lifted out after a crash. It makes sense to take advantage of technology to lower the risk of a moderatly risky activity. I always wear a helmet too for pretty much the same reasons. I don't feel comfortable around riders without helmets any more, I must be getting old.
jeez, I finally agree with LazyriderVaMootsman
Aug 16, 2001 7:06 AM
...and we don't think your an **shole. We know it. How's the Macalu?
XXXLazyrider
Aug 16, 2001 8:34 AM
You are still a douchebag, but I never expected you to change. My "Macula" is still better than the POS you ride and still are too embarrassed to post on the photo site. All you can do is criticize nice rides because you are a poor hillbilly.
XXXVaMootsman
Aug 16, 2001 5:40 PM
Criticize nice rides? I criticize Macalu's/Chevy's/MacDonalds. Your writing style just cracks me up........so much pent up anger. You should watch more of those movies. Have a nice day.

BuhBye.
It's not a Macalumike mcmahon
Aug 16, 2001 9:12 AM
It's a four-year-old, 17.5 lb., Dura-Ace equipped Litespeed Classic that he shares with Slothlike. :-)
I think you need someSlothlike
Aug 16, 2001 9:51 AM
Prozac or Paxil as they are good in helping people like you who have OCD (Obssesive Compulsive Disorder). You perseverate on this issue which seems odd to me. For your info, Litespeed Classic is their best selling frame, so here in the Northeast, it isn't odd that there would be more than one person riding one. Dura Ace I think sells more than the one that I have on my bike, so it is a huge coincidence that there are more than 2 litespeeds equipped with the stuff. And, oh yeah, if two similar bikes are equipped with similar parts, they would weight about the same. Dude you are weird. Let it go. By the way GLG was picked up on another board during the Tour and is an acronym for GO LANCE GO. I hope this soothes your paranoia. Notice I have stopped using it at soon after the Tour ended. The only thing I know about Lazyrider is that he has a nice bike.
A good bike ride is the only drug I need or usemike mcmahon
Aug 16, 2001 10:03 AM
Well, maybe a glass of Barbaresco, Zinfandel, or Brunello di Montalcino every now and then.
Regards
GLG
It's not a MacaluVaMootsman
Aug 16, 2001 5:42 PM
So he's got a twin that rides over-hyped junk also?
Yes, and what's more,mike mcmahon
Aug 16, 2001 8:11 PM
they also share a steel Fondriest. Go figure.
I really think your perceptions of theRich Clark
Aug 16, 2001 7:14 AM
Reality is that without cell phones, some people would have to forego rides when it's a choice between riding or remaining available.

I'm no fan of the ubiquitous use of these things in inappropriate circumstances, either. But for people who have to remain "on call" for work, for people who may need emergency medical help, for parents, for lots of people who might once have had to choose not to ride because it would take them out of communication range for too long, cell phones are a real blessing.

RichC
Biking isn't "really necessary" either, nmMel Erickson
Aug 16, 2001 8:20 AM
You ned to go back to the trailer park that spawned you(nm)Lone Gunman
Aug 17, 2001 7:49 AM
re: cell phone caseDutchy
Aug 15, 2001 8:58 PM
There doing the same in Australia, reducing phoneboxes everywhere. Not to mention a lot of the new phones (in the city area) only take pre-paid phone cards. They do this because of vandals stealling money from pay phones.
CHEERS.
put it in your jersey............ nmJohnG
Aug 15, 2001 9:04 PM
.
Jersey may not be best ideaNotthepocket
Aug 15, 2001 9:26 PM
I don't carry a cell phone (although it makes sense for a lot of people), but I was thinking it might not be such a good idea to keep it anywhere on your body. Reason being, that in the event of a crash, you could end up laying on top of a broken cell phone at a time when it could be of most use to you. I would think that the safest place for the phone would be in a seat bag, or one of those carriers designed to fit in a water bottle boss. Just a thought.
Another problem with thatmike mcmahon
Aug 15, 2001 9:30 PM
Keeping anything solid in my jersey pocket makes me a bit nervous, especially when it's in the middle of my back right on the spine. Although I'm sure the risk of spinal cord injury is extremely remote, I can't help but thinking that having a mini-pump, cell-phone, or some other hard object pushing into the spine in a crash wouldn't be a good thing.
Colorado CyclistStewK
Aug 16, 2001 4:54 AM
Colorado Cyclist has a clear cell phone case that attaches to a water bottle cage mounting (I just throw mine in the bag under my saddle when I ride alone).
re: Topeak Cell Phone CarrierPoulidor
Aug 16, 2001 6:36 AM
Topeak makes a cell phone carrier that attaches to the stem or handlebar, I believe. You can check it out at Topeak.com

Cheers.
re: cell phone caseDINOSAUR
Aug 16, 2001 8:54 AM
I guess the bottom line on this whole debate is; if you elect to carry a cell phone a lot depends on the geographical area of where you ride.
I've found if you carry something deamed unnecessary you never need it. I pack two spare tubes but I've only sustained two flats on one ride in the last 25 years or so.
Also, I sometimes pack a 3-way Park hex wrench in my jersey pocket and I was carrying one when I had my big crash. I always gave thought that it would probably end up killing me by digging into my side. However when you crash your head is usually the first body part to make impact with the pavement. Or in the very least your shoulders. If your cell phone were to take impact it would disintegrate and if it did, you would probably be in no condition to use it anyway. I basically carry mine just for security reasons, I hope I never need it, just like I hope no one ever reads the dog tags I carry around my neck. In the meantime I carry mine in a zip lock bag in my jersey pocket.
Over and out
Dino man
Ahem....Process Check, Guys???Whatever
Aug 16, 2001 11:41 AM
I think that the original question from Herby was "how to carry a cell phone" not "should I carry one?"

So maybe some of us (note my inclusive, trained facilitator language here) should get off of our high horses and chill out!

To each his own, can't we just be friends, and all that.

Herby...I usually put my Nokia in a baggie and stuff it in the jersey pocket, like many others here. The latest, extra-cool small phones will even fit into medium-sized saddle pack. You can also jam a belt clip onto a brake cable, right where it exitst the handlebar tape. The phone will dangle safely from the cable, and you can reach it quickly if you are expecting a call. Mostly I keep mine in my pocket, since I am just carrying it for emergency purposes, like to call the ambulance for the dog I encountered...see the dog postings farther up the page:).

I think that the bottle cage carriers are way overpriced and a bit dorky...the phone is plenty sturdy as long as you don't drop it outright, and it doesn't need to be cradled in foam (wasting space for one bottle in the process). Just my humble opinion.