RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


LANCE IS A LIAR, HE DOES NOT DESERVE TO BE AN ICON(14 posts)

LANCE IS A LIAR, HE DOES NOT DESERVE TO BE AN ICONValjean
Aug 14, 2001 10:00 PM
Lance may be a 3 time TdF champ and cancer survivor...but he did not stick to his word. A man is only as good as his word is, and Lance is a LIAR! He did not join the Vuelta as he promised he would if Heras helped him out. Heras helped him out, and all he gets is the word of a liar. Lance should help Heras out as he had promised. "I belive in repaying favors" BULL! Lance, I know you will be reading this, I know that you're always logged on the net uring your free time. Well hear this, you may be TdF champ, but you sure are one BIG LYING TDF CHAMP. I hope your son and twins never hear about what you did to roberto heras, that would be a stigma that will stick with them their whole lives...imagine "My dad is Lance Armstrong....the LIAR" Yeah, that's who you are man.

Anyone here who disagrees with me, do not flame me, these are my opinions and I am entitled to them. If you have a problem, take me to court. Doug Sloan will be my lawyer. I can pay his $3 a second fee.
palm trees....hula girls.....palm trees....dano
Aug 14, 2001 10:25 PM
Chill out man. Does Armstrong's relationship with Heras really affect your life that much?

Personnally, I don't think it matters whether Armstrong helps Heras as long as USPS puts together a good Vuelta team to support Heras properly. When Heras (or anyone else) has the post-TdF sponsorship and appearance commitments that Armstrong has, then maybe they can judge what he does in the month after the Tour. Lance rode is ass off, won and deserves a rest.

Another thought: what if Armstrong did go to the Vuelta and found himself in the leader's jersey ahead of Heras? Should he voluntarity give it up with the HOPE that Heras would be the one to take it, or should they defend it and ensure USPS wins the Vuelta? Would Armstrong be a traitor to Heras then? I think maybe its better for Lance to stay out of Heras' way at the Vuelta and let USPS support Heras fully.
re: LANCE IS A LIAR, HE DOES NOT DESERVE TO BE AN ICONIcefrk13
Aug 14, 2001 10:58 PM
You speak of no one flame-n you for your opinion. Well you are going off on some info that you heard in the press somewhere. Well Chill out. Like the above post says and how does this affect your life? Or are you just an armchair rider. Give the guy a break you do not know what is signs s ere at the end of the TdF. Maybe his coaches and trainers said with all the publicity shit he had to do, your not going to race for a while. May be he said look I just need a break. Before you start criticizing the guy ride a few thousand miles in his saddle and see how you feel. And this is my opinion, and I expect to take some flak for it. But just remember that Opinions are like Azzholes everybody has one and they all stink.
Matt
re: LANCE IS A LIAR, HE DOES NOT DESERVE TO BE AN ICONValjean
Aug 14, 2001 11:14 PM
Who cares if Lance roade so many miles??? Bottomline is, HE PROMISED TO HELP HERAS WIN IF HERAS HELPED HIM IN THE TDF. Who was with Lance in the mountains? At least Heras was able to lead him into the mountains and up some parts of it. No other USPS rider has helped Lance as much as Roberto. Lance made a promise, and now, he is breaking it. NICE GOING MAN.
re: LANCE IS A LIAR, HE DOES NOT DESERVE TO BE AN ICONcycleguy
Aug 15, 2001 12:11 AM
I promise mom, I will do my best
Yes my homework is done
I didn't do it ___ did it
If I didn't love you would I be here
No I was not looking at her/him
No new taxes
I tried it once but I did not inhale
Till death do us part, I do
Who was with Lance in the mountains?ebh123
Aug 15, 2001 7:44 AM
Jan Ullrich was. Jan and team Telekom did more of the work for Lance. Heras pulled less than a minute at the base of Alp duez and a couple other obligatory times and that's it. Most of the time Heras was riding alone to keep himself high in the GC. LA marked Jan (trying to recupe time on Kivalev), let him and Telekom work hard and than the rest was up to him.
Calm down...stay off the Viagara...Mabero
Aug 15, 2001 9:20 AM
Wow...something flipped a switch in you...but you need to get your facts straight. Lance Armstrong did not promise anything. He said that he believes all favors should be returned, and that the Veulta would be a good ground to return such a favor. But as he also said was he didn't want to back himself in a corner "promising he is going to do the Veulta".

Let me give an example:

You invite me for a ride.
I say "Yeah that sounds great, I'm not promising anything but I would sure like to come."
I tell later (before the ride) that I can't make cause I am exhausted.
You are bummed but ride on.

Did I break a promise? It's the same situation just watered down from a spotlight scale to a friend to friend scale.
who even knows the real story?pedalriot
Aug 15, 2001 6:49 AM
first of all, i might agree with you if the facts were as stated but...

1) we dont know the inner workings of USPS and what Armstrong and Heras really agreed to, then and now. a press report really doesnt capture the whole story, especially from the perspective of those who are in it.

2) heras is making a ton of money. he switched to usps not for vuelta help, but for $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ (and lots of it) and for some tutledge from Armstrong. one day, he will move on and contend for the TdF himself.
Amen. A voice of reason.look271
Aug 15, 2001 5:51 PM
Do any of us know what Heras and LA agreed to, if anything? Maybe Lance has other things that he needs to take care of. (His wife w/ twins? Yes, there are things more important than cycling, even for him.) Perhaps Heras stands a better chance of winning w/out Lance there. We don't really know, so let's leave it alone, and stop whining because he allegedly lied.
Valjean is a FOOLISH TROLLJames1
Aug 15, 2001 6:54 AM
I normally don't respond to such a poorly stated and obviously trolling argument, but I have 20 seconds to show what a fool you are, and an enormous hippocrit.

You say "do not flame me", but you just got done flaming Lance and slandering him for being a liar. Maybe his lawyers should take you to court?

Where are the published reports specifically where Lance promised to support Heras in the Vuelta? WHERE? The only second hand reports I have seen were excerpts of what Lance supposedly said and even in those he did not come out at ANY point and promise to support Heras. That is the bottom line. Heras was paid quite well to do his job and he did it well. If you don't like that well I guess you can cry about it all day long, but you need to deal with it.

"Anyone here who disagrees with me, do not flame me, these are my opinions and I am entitled to them. If you have a problem, take me to court. Doug Sloan will be my lawyer. I can pay his $3 a second fee"

I'm still not quite done laughing at the above statement you made, and THANK YOU for giving me such a good laugh today I needed it!! (How old are you anyway?)
re: LANCE IS A LIAR, HE DOES NOT DESERVE TO BE AN ICONKen
Aug 15, 2001 7:34 AM
I think Lance could have won the TDF without Heras' help. I'm sure that having Heras on the USPS team is better than not having him but in the same token I cannot not see the Champion of the TDF playing second fiddle in the Vuelta so a buddy can have a win espicially if the second fiddle would be the favorite to win. If I were Heras I wouldn't want to win like that. Am I wrong to assume that bicycle racing is about winning and may the best person win? As mentioned, I think that if Lance entered the Vuelta I feel he would he favored to win and that Heras probably knows it. He's probably breathing a lot easier that Lance has decided not to enter.
Maybe Heras did not perform as expected...Bruno S
Aug 15, 2001 7:39 AM
Maybe Lance expected more of Heras. You do not know how it went inside the USPS team. They didn't had a stellar performance this year.

I believe he should do the Vuelta but not because of Heras. But I also believe that his apperance in the SF Grand Prix is important to promote cycling in the USA. Only time will tell if his decision was wise.
What is this, the Letters to the Editor for Tiger Beat Magazine?jtolleson
Aug 15, 2001 7:40 AM
Who's better, NSync or the Backstreet Boys?

That's what squabbles about the personal decisions of celebrities sound like to my ears, even when they involve Lance Armstrong and cycling. Petty juvenile celebrity hanging-on. Sheesh.
there is something you should seepeloton
Aug 15, 2001 10:03 AM
Made in Tawian posted a thread here yesterday you should see. Scroll back and you will find it. The quote was, 'Arguing on the internet is like running in the Special Olympics. Even if you win, you're still retarded.'

BTW- Lance would have a pretty good court case against you for slander. I'd shut my yap if I were you.