RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


new roadie...what pump?(15 posts)

new roadie...what pump?marklorie
Aug 14, 2001 4:44 AM
i'm a mountain biker but just bought my first road bike. will i be able to get enough pressure into road tires using my atb mini pump? if not, what's a good pump to bring on road rides?
re: new roadie...what pump?Miklos
Aug 14, 2001 5:21 AM
You will get a lot of different opinions on this from co2 to frame pumps. What works for me is the Topeak Road Morph. It works just like a small floor pump including having a short hose. Very user friendly.

Miklos
probably notalex the engineer
Aug 14, 2001 5:22 AM
A lot of guys carry those CO2 things, but at $2 a fill, they get awfully expensive for air! If you run out of gas, you are $hit outta luck, and you walk. A good high-pressure full frame pump (Blackburn makes some really nice ones) are best for everyday use.
nashbar=$2/fill walmart=<$.50/fill nmHaiku d'état
Aug 14, 2001 5:24 AM
nashbar=$2/fill walmart=<$.50/fill nmnuke
Aug 14, 2001 6:02 AM
Yes, those prices are correct. But one must point out that this is true ONLY FOR NON-THREADED CO2 CARTRIDGES. So if you hope to take advantage of the cheaper cartridge, make sure you buy a CO2 thingywhiz that uses NON-THREADED CO2 cartridges!
re: new roadie...what pump?Haiku d'état
Aug 14, 2001 5:23 AM
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?printerFriendly@@.ee9c790

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?printerFriendly@@.eeb40c6

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?printerFriendly@@.eeaca1c

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?printerFriendly@@.eea29ab

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?printerFriendly@@.ee9c790
Road and ATB tires have different challangesSpoke Wrench
Aug 14, 2001 5:27 AM
The issue with mountain tires is to get a lot of volume at 50 or so psi so a fat pump, that has a lot of volume, works best. If the pump has a 1/2 sq.in. chamber cross section, you need 25 lbs. of push to get to 50 psi. That may not sound like much resistance, but you will be doing at least 100 reps.

With a road bike you need to get a smaller volume of air to at least 100 psi. You need a long skinny pump for the higher pressure. My personal favorite has long been the Zefal HPX. On my go-fast bike, I only carry co2 inflaters. They are much faster, easy to use and compact to carry. Just be sure that you take along enough cartridges for the number of flats you are going to have that day.
Blackburn AirstickStewK
Aug 14, 2001 5:31 AM
I have had several flats on the road and have filled the new tube easily and fairly quickly to about 120p.s.i.
Blackburn AirstickLone Gunman
Aug 14, 2001 6:57 AM
Ditto on the airstik and they sell rebuild parts if anything goes bad.
re: new roadie...what pump?nuke
Aug 14, 2001 6:00 AM
I second the Topeak's Mountain Morph. I, myself, carry CO2 and will carry 3-4 cylinders with me. But if I'm going to be on an extended multi-day ride, I'd really prefer a pump. And I just ordered the Morph pump because I saw it in action this past weekend.

It's little foot peg that fold down, lets you use it like a floor pump. Why is this advantageous? Well, from my own personal experience, as well as watching it happen, again this past weekend, pumping a road tire with a handheld pump can work the valve back and forth enough to cause the tube to leak (either because it was a weak valve or due to the movement alone). In any case, that tube is absolutely no longer usable. My friend was "topping off" his rear road tire with his handheld pump. Result: replaced tube

A friend once asked me the same question...CO2 or pump? I didn't answer verbally. All I did was to deflate his tire (shop setting) and hand him a roadie pump. By the time he got the tire to 120 psi, he was buying CO2 (heck, and this was in AC!) So...I do prefer the CO2 because I hate doing shoulder/bicep reps in 100 degrees on the side of the road. But if I carry a pump, I'll use the Topeak Mountain Morph.
Silca frame-fit the classic choiceclub
Aug 14, 2001 6:32 AM
they're cheap, durable enough for on-road use (though not as your sole shop pump), come in colors and chrome, fit your frame without ugly straps or clips, and are designed for high-pressure road tires. Plus, even if you're pedaling the latest compact frame with sloping top tube, tig welds and a plastic fantastic fork, equipped with sti, purple tires on 16-spoke rims with 10 cogs in back and speedplay pedals, and wearing rainbow colored bug glasses and a camelback, you can be happy knowing you have at least one part that's remained unchanged since before you were born to connect you to cycling's rich heritage. For bonus points, look around and try to score a Campy metal pump head for it, then you be really stylin'. Just make sure you measure your frame for the correct length; it's not the same as your seat tube or top tube length, because it has to fit, compressed in between. If in doubt, buy at the LBS to insure the right size.
As for your compact, fat-barrel mini MTB pump, try pumping a road tire to 100-plus psi sometime. You'll hit 50 or 60 quick enough, but after that, you'll be hating life. The fatter the barrel, the harder it is to achieve high pressure.
here's the dealmr_spin
Aug 14, 2001 8:19 AM
The truth is, all mini pumps suck. But on road bikes, it is particularly bad because there is no way you'll ever get the pressure you want.

So, buy the cheapest mini pump you can find, strap it to your frame and hope you never have to use it. Then buy a CO2 inflator and a couple of cartridges. Don't get the hi-tech fancy inflators with levers and bright colors and such. Just get the extremely low-tech right-angle head. It's cheaper, it doesn't take up much space, and it doesn't weigh much. That's all you need. CO2 and a pump for backup.
This one works better than most...UncleMoe
Aug 14, 2001 9:30 AM
I did find a pump that works pretty well, but it is a little longer than most. Not sure if I would strap it to a frame of a MTB cause it would get banged up in a crash or rough riding, but it would fit easily into a camel back type pack. Also fits OK on a road bike.

It is the Blackburn Mammoth Dual Stage MDS reviewed here:
http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Pump/product_22482.shtml

I got mine at supergo.com about two weeks ago for $12, but I just checked and it is no longer listed. Not sure if they will get them back in.

It is a little confusing to use because the instructions suck. It fits both Shrader and presta valves. Once you put the coupling over the valve, you have to twist the body of the pump to seal the connection. Not explained very well in the guide. Once I figured that out, it worked like a dream.

This also has a switch to go from hi volume to hi pressure. That is the trick. Whatever you get, get one that has that feature cause it is the only way you will get decent tire pressure.

Another trick is to not use it solely by hand. What I mean is, take the tire off the bike, find a flat rock, stump, or a solid surface that is raised a little bit. Place the wheel flat over this surface and brace the pump on it. Then use one hand to hold it in place, and the other hand to pump. Works almost as well as a floor pump, but takes longer obviously.

I agree that I don't think they make a hand pump that can get good pressure just by using your hands. You need a brace of some sort to get good leverage. Not as big a need with an MTB tire, but is for a road bike.

I avoid CO2 cartridges because it is bad for the environment.
re: use thisbattaglin bob
Aug 14, 2001 2:19 PM
zephal hp. this is a full frame pump. comes in 4 sizes. will pump up to 120psi with ease and is very durable. used one for 10 years and never walked home. about $20 everywhere
Topeak Road Morph is simply THE bestAndy
Aug 14, 2001 3:11 PM
This from personal experience...

I have used a Zefal HPx, Blackburn AS-1 Air Stik and a Topeak Road Morph. The Zefal worked OK, the Blackburn took a zillion strokes to get my road tires up to 80 psi but the Topeak Road Morph easily pumped my Michelins up to 140 psi without giving me an upper body workout (which I could use). The built in pump gauge is inaccurate though. I found that out after my tires blew off the rim.

If anybody knows of another frame pump that will do this... well... I'd like to know about it. BTW, I won't be using my Blackburn AS-1 Air Stik anymore. Anybody want one real cheap? No mounting bracket though.