RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions on COLNAGO Dream+ VS. LOOK KG281(12 posts)

Opinions on COLNAGO Dream+ VS. LOOK KG281mannyc
Aug 13, 2001 11:09 PM
I looking into both frames.I know they are different AL vs Carbon.I just want to know how each one rides,preferences,problems,weight diff.,etc.Also LOOK measures c-c,but I have heard diff. procedures for Colnago is it:c-t of top tube or seat tube or bottom part of seatpost clamp.Thanks.
totalcycling.com has them for $1200Made in Taiwan
Aug 13, 2001 11:32 PM
plus 3.9% for import 46 bucks (just think of it as tax) and 22 dollar shipping charge. grand total of $1268 for frame and fork. 700 cheaper then excelsports.com and probably wayyy cheaper then the c'nago
Extra added bonus too...Lazy
Aug 14, 2001 7:32 PM
That $1200 includes a free Deda Newton stem and bar. The fork is an HSC 3. The only possible downers are that they only have them in about 5 sizes and this price is only good on the BBQ (flat black) color scheme, which I happen to like.

I was goofing around there the other day in anticipation of this years bonus, I spec'd one with a Record group and Nucleons for ~$2500 or so. All from Totalcycling.

As an aside, this is a testament to how bike companies get their money's worth out of having their bikes in the TdF. I happened to see JaJa on his this year and fell in love. Looked super sweet with the white tape. Some K's would top it all off quite bodaciously.

What were you saying about addiction? I don't know what you're talking about. I can quit anytime I want to.
re: Opinions on COLNAGO Dream+ VS. LOOK KG281Largo
Aug 14, 2001 4:09 AM
Can't comment on the Look, but the Dream is a delicate machine.
I've a friend who has one, and it dented very easily, and another friend had a problem with braze-ons coming off.
Gorgeous frame, but not a good all-rounder, imo.
quite different.... need more info from you ........... nmJohnG
Aug 14, 2001 4:31 AM
how about commenting on what you are looking for and what size and weight you are????

IMHO, Colnago geometry is really goofed at the low and high end.

JohnG
quite different.... need more info from you ........... nmmannyc
Aug 14, 2001 7:01 AM
I'm 5'9" with a 32.25" inseam and I weight 140 lbs.What size colnago dream+ would fit me since their way of frame sizing is unclear and as you have said frame geometry different.In the look I would be a 52 or 53 c-c.They are about the same price in totalcycling.com.Thanks for any suggestion.
quite different.... need more info from you ........... nmRik
Aug 14, 2001 6:48 PM
As a result of input from most of these posters, I just ordered a 54cm KG281. I am of similar height and inseam and ride a Litepeed Ultimate with geometry similar to the 54cm Loook. Just curious why you're considering a 52 or 53cm; did I overlook something?
LOOK KG281Dave Hickey
Aug 14, 2001 4:32 AM
The LOOK is a great frame. I just ordered a new KG281 from
www.saddlesore.net. Frame and fork for $1200 shipped(+3.9% duty if the post office catches it). Like the above poster said, buying from the UK or Ireland is alot cheaper than the US. The new LOOK frames come out in September so you can get a good deal on the 2001 models if they have your size. Most of the UK retailers have the midsize frames(53cm-58cm). I've never owned a Colnago, so I cannot speak on the differences between the two,but I can tell you the LOOK is a very durable, lightweight(3.85lbs frame AND fork) frameset.
WeightsDave Hickey
Aug 14, 2001 6:45 AM
The weight of the Colnago Dream Plus is 1180g(55cm) for the frame only. The LOOK KG281 is 1750g(54cm) frame and fork. I don't know the weight of the Colnago Flash or Force carbon fork.
another viewpointlonefrontranger
Aug 14, 2001 7:47 AM
I don't know anything about the Look, but my boyfriend and I both ride the Dream Plus frames. His is a '00 with a Flash fork, mine is an '01 with a Force (carbon steerer) fork. Both are equipped with Record 10.

He's 6' (59cm), I'm 5'4" (49cm). Both of us got the frames from a buddy who runs a Colnago shop, so we're not good people to ask about value issues - at cost, they were an unbeatable value. Typical retail on the Dream Plus is between $1650 and $1800. Colnago is going to a lighter Al alloy for the '02 Dream, so the price will most likely jump to reflect this.

Both of us really love these bikes. John says his rides extremely supple - no flex, but no harsh road shock either. I've been riding mine for about a month. The ride is silky but not spongy, it climbs and sprints effortlessly, and the handling is superb on the long, long, switchback mountain descents here in Boulder County. Overall the bike fits me better and is far more rideable than the overly harsh aluminum crit bikes I've been forced by cash flow / sponsorship issues to ride for the past 5 seasons.

Colnago measures their frames center to top of TT, and the frames start out on the small end "over-square" (mine is 49CTT/51.8TT), go "square" (54CTT/54TT) in the middle, and then run progressively "under-square" as they get bigger (my boyfriend's is 59CTT/56.9TT). This corresponds with standard physiology I am told - smaller people tend as a rule to run longer in the torso, and even as a female this rule applies to me as well. Another good feature is that you can get sizes in 1cm increments, and they run from 46 to 63.

Many people feel that the Colnago frames run "small"; this might be a function of the proportionally shorter TT the bigger the frame gets.

All that being said, the weakest link is the distributor. The only U.S. importer is Trialtir, and their customer service is hideous - it took both of us months to get our frames, and I got shipped the wrong size as well, which took forever to rectify, so you might see if you can get a deal via the Internet direct from Italy. Be wary of buying these bikes from other countries, however, because I understand from my German friends that the Colnago frames sold in the less affluent nations are actually built in Eastern Europe, not Italy - and the welds and paint quality suffer drastically from this.

A lot of people don't think they're worth the extra cost, and I've seen a lot of complaints about the paint being fragile. I wonder if these are the Eastern European frames, because I know of at least a half-dozen serious Cat III - Cat I racers who have Colnagos and abuse them as only a bike racer can, and they have no issues with the finish. My experience with ours is that both are flawless in weld and finish quality, and neither frame shows signs of chips or wear, even though the Colorado riding conditions are brutal - lots of dirt roads, and on any given group ride innumerable rocks get slung around and ricochet off everyones' tubesets.

I hope this helps. In the end, it adds up to what fits and is the best value. See if there is a possibility to try both frames out first.
re: Opinions on COLNAGO Dream+ VS. LOOK KG281seamus
Aug 14, 2001 9:29 AM
I've been riding a Look KG281 for a while now, and it's easily one of the best riding machines I've thrown a leg over in 15 years. It just feels fast yet comfortable, and I LOVE the geometry.

Look has been making lugged carbon frames for over 18 years, and they've got it worked out pretty well. I've done a lot of research into durability and have not yet found a Look owner who's had a serious issue with a 281.

The Colnago Dream is another excellent bike, but I think you'll find it a little more harsh. It has a more snappy feel in an all-out sprint, but the Look feels better and better as a ride gets longer and harder, and it's also nice that Look's aren't as *trendy* as Colnago's and Litespeeds with the dentist/accountant/poser crowd.
Another vote for the Look.look271
Aug 14, 2001 4:08 PM
While I haven't ridden a Colnago, I can say, too, that the kg is the best thing I've thrown my leg over. Ever. Comfortable, stable, light, and fast,durable, plus a certain individuality that you have when riding one.