RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Trainers(13 posts)

Trainerssral
Aug 13, 2001 3:55 PM
I've been cycling for a couple of weeks now, and in times of rain or darkness i've had the urge to ride, but did not want to take my new bike into the rain. At least not until it has some more miles on it to get a little more broken in. Anyway, I was thinking about getting a trainer for those rainy days. I was wondering if anybody had suggestions on what brand and also what kind(Fluid, Wind, Magnetic).

Thanks,
Lars
re: Trainersjschrotz
Aug 13, 2001 4:21 PM
I've got Performance's Travel Track 2000 w/the fluid resistance unit, and I've been pretty impressed with it so far. It's quiet enough that I can use it in my apartment (4th floor of a 5 story complex) and no one has complained yet after 5 months. The resistance is fairly realistic and stays smooth even when cranked all the way up. I couldn't say the same thing about their old magnetic resistance unit, at least not in my experience. FWIW, that's my recommendation.
Second the Travel Trac . . .DCW
Aug 13, 2001 4:34 PM
but not from personal experience. I've just done my own research and found these two conclusions: 1. Fluid resistance is the way to go -- recommended by virtually everyone who has A-B it against magnetic; and 2. The Travel Trac that Performance sells is great bang for the buck, even more so if you can get it on sale.

I am about to order the Travel Trac, without the bar mounted variable resistance, which can be accomplished by shifting gears on the bike.
re: TrainersMike K
Aug 13, 2001 4:57 PM
Or the same resistance unit on a peak load also from performance. I like mine - pretty much the same deal as the Travel Track but with a fork mount to keep things steady. I have the adjustable fluid resistance unit and it is much nicer (and less noisy) than my old fan trainer.
Actually, I just got off my trainerSlothlike
Aug 13, 2001 5:12 PM
after an hour workout and I find it a very good workout. I have the Cycleops Fluid which I have had for a couple of years. I was told they were very good before I picked mine up. They can be on the expensive side but I always see them on sale on the internet or in catalogs. The Performance brand I think got a good review in Bicycling Magazine as did the Cycleops, but they always factor in value. I find an hour on these things tougher than 2 hours on the road. Of course there is no coasting and the resistance seems pretty tough. I am sure the other fluid trainers have the same feel, but I have heard some are prone to leaks so be careful. I really haven't used mine all that much lately, but it is holding up well.
Regards
GLG
I'll second this one from personal experienceCliff Oates
Aug 13, 2001 5:16 PM
I have the adjustable fluid resistance unit on mine, and I live in a 2nd floor apartment. Plenty of variability in resistance and no complaints from the folks living below. I think Performance has these on sale right now at $190, too. Check their web site.
re: Trainerssral
Aug 13, 2001 5:38 PM
Thanks everybody for the input. I'm planning to go to my LBS in a couple of days to see what they have and maybe pick one up. I think I might have seen the TravelTrac the last time i was down there.
Trainers vs rollers?Spinchick
Aug 13, 2001 6:44 PM
Anybody have any input on trainers vs rollers? Is one a better workout than the other? Would love to hear from someone who has used both.
Trainers vs rollers?Cliff Oates
Aug 13, 2001 7:23 PM
They result in a different workout, IMO.

Trainers are good for interval training, while rollers are good for developing smoothness and fluidity. I can go longer on rollers without getting bored, but the physical intensity is lower. On the other hand, rollers make me think because I am riding, after a fashion, and not just grinding away on the pedals.

As an example, at the moment I'm rehabbing a badly broken wrist. They pulled the pins out and put me in a splint last Tuesday, and I was cleared for exercise once the pins came out and no longer had holes in my skin. I have a plan...

At this time, I am riding the trainer because my left arm is still weak and can't take my weight on it for more than a minute or two. I've been unable to exercise at all on the orders of my doctor for 2 months, so I'm using the trainer to work my cardiovascular system by gradually introducing intervals into my sessions to regain some of what I've lost. I couldn't stay up on the rollers for any length of time in my current condition -- I can't just sit up and ride no hands on rollers as I am doing a lot of on the trainer. As my wrist gets stronger (first PT session Thursday), I'll be spending time on the rollers as a surrogate for actual riding. I think my wrist is going to need some time before it can handle actual road irregularities, but the rollers will let me simulate a lot of the dynamics of a real ride, after a fashion.

To summarize, I don't believe one tool is superior to the other, they mainly just have different strengths.

(fwiw, the rollers are Kreitler Challenger, as I noted above the stand is Performance TravelTrac 2000 w/adjustable fluid resistance -- made in Italy by the folks that bring you Elite bottle cages)
thanks for the info!Spinchick
Aug 14, 2001 6:00 AM
Thanks, Cliff. That's exactly the info I was looking for. Sorry about your wrist - hope it heals quickly. I just now have total feeling in my foot after breaking it in Feb.
re: TrainersHaiku d'état
Aug 14, 2001 5:31 AM
have the minoura magturbo w/remote. the remote is useless, gears suffice for resistance adjustment. it's stable and quiet and was the right price as a "return" from nashbar. their sales prices on the same item still have not matched what i gave for it, and it was in brand new condition when it arrived. wind trainers are loud (as i've heard/used in the lbs), don't know about fluid, and haven't used rollers. next spring/summer (when rollers are on SALE) i'll probably save to buy for home.

http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?category=123&subcategory=1087&brand=&sku=2078&storetype=&estoreid=
Do trainers really do damage to your bike?kenyee
Aug 14, 2001 6:08 AM
I just started reading the Smart Cycling book by Arnie Baker. He mentions that to really train, you can't use rollers. However, he also says to get an old bike to stick on the trainer because you'll do premature stress damage to your bike if you stick it on a trainer; he also mentions sweat, but you can get sweat shields for that.
TacX SwingStewK
Aug 14, 2001 6:21 AM
I like my TacX Swing with magnetic resistance. It has good resistance and seems fairly natural. I've never ridden a fluid trainer so I can't comment. When I was buying my trainer, a lot of posters were complaining about fluid leakage so I stayed away from them. I think that situation may have change now, but I'm still happy with the TacX.