RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


shimano 105 or ultegra(14 posts)

shimano 105 or ultegrasal
Aug 13, 2001 11:23 AM
where is the cheapest place to buy built kit and any opinions on which one to buy
re: shimano 105 or ultegraAkirasho
Aug 13, 2001 11:33 AM
http://www.ifyoulike.com/cgi-bin/bike.cgi

pop your request in here and see what you get. Excel usually has fairly good prices on Shimano gruppos, plus allows a cost reduction up to the retail price of two components (something that you might not need such as a headset or hubs...)

http://www.excelsports.com/main.asp?page=1

Both are good... Ultegra give you a bit crisper performance and weight savings... kinda relative you how light you want you wallet to get.

Be the bike.
re: shimano 105 or ultegraalex the engineer
Aug 13, 2001 11:59 AM
Nashbar.com is usually a good place to look. Ultegra will be a bit lighter, and more expensive. Possibly has a better finish, depending on what you consider is better. Bearings and machining are about the same.
Isn't 105 lighter?jtolleson
Aug 13, 2001 3:05 PM
I know Ultegra is one notch up the Shimano food chain, but I always heard that 105 was lighter, primarily because of the crankset (hollow crankarm). Not true?
No.look271
Aug 13, 2001 3:37 PM
Both use the hollow crank arms (just like D/A). Check out Nashbar or Colorado cyclist where they show the weights for the gruppos. Ultegra is lighter.
No.VictorChan
Aug 13, 2001 3:46 PM
I read in the reviews that the shifters suck. Missing gear or just does not shift. It rattles too.
Which ones?look271
Aug 13, 2001 4:10 PM
I had Ultegra for a while and they occassionally did rattle, but they always shifted great.
Which ones?VictorChan
Aug 13, 2001 6:17 PM
Right here:
http://www.roadbikereview.com/reviews/Shifter/product_44844.asp
Datagrzy mnky
Aug 13, 2001 4:53 PM
This was mentioned before and I asked the poster for their source - the silence was deafening. So I took 45 sec. and looked it up for myself.

Ultegra 643 g.
105 663 g.

Source: www.shimano.com (FWIW).

Fact is the Ultegra crank arm is also hollow as is the DA unit.
Thanks folks!jtolleson
Aug 13, 2001 4:59 PM
Now I can tell the guy who built his ti out with 105 rather than Ultegra because it is "lighter" (telling me this when I chose Ultegra)... nyah nyah nyah!!!! :0
Ti and 105?grzy mnky
Aug 13, 2001 5:04 PM
What will they think of next. Guess they stole a line from Detroit where you can buy things like a Mustang with a 6 cylinder engine....

Just why did you think that Ultegra was more expensive and DA even more expensive?
I'm probably wrong, but ...pmf
Aug 14, 2001 4:05 AM
I seem to remember back before the days of STI when 105 actually was lighter than Ultegra (or 600 back then) mainly because it utilized more chinzy plastic parts. I have no data to back this up.
Aren't the current 105 crankarms also hollow? nmRusty Coggs
Aug 13, 2001 5:07 PM
nm
Aren't the current 105 crankarms also hollow? nmVictorChan
Aug 13, 2001 6:19 PM
Yes. Using it now.