RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Supergo's reviews are bogus(17 posts)

Supergo's reviews are bogusLC
Aug 13, 2001 10:24 AM
I posted a review on the Supergo new site where you can submit your own review of products they sell. The problem is that they "edited" my two star review on Spinery Spox wheels. What they did was change my whole review meaning by cut and past, and even adding their own word till they were happy with it and thus changing the whole original meaning of my post. In several places where I stated that the nipples break, they added "when making truing adjustments" every time. I never even said anything about "making truing adjustments" and after they got done with their editing, the review is more their words than mine. I could see a need for edited posts if someone used a bunch of four letter words or such, but my review of the product was strictly a statement of true facts and while critical, not derogatory. I bet they know all about the nipples since it seems to be a ongoing problem that many reviewers have stated the same thing in the Roadbike Reviews.

On top of that, a five star review of the same wheels appeared just after my edited review by someone who has "just ordered the wheels" and has done a total of one quick ride on them! Is it just me, or is this a major foul on Supergo's part?
That's weakmike mcmahon
Aug 13, 2001 10:28 AM
Maybe Supergo should follow Sony Pictures' lead and create a critic who can give glowing reviews about its products.
Ask them to remove the review...Velocipedio
Aug 13, 2001 10:29 AM
Or threaten them with a lawsuit for violation of your "moral rights."
Hah!grzy mnky
Aug 13, 2001 2:09 PM
What are you going to claim - mental anguish and suffering - what should the damages be?

Of course some retailer want's to control the spin, but would you expect anything different if talking in person to a sales rep for the same company? What - you mean the sales guys at bike shops don't always tell the truth? Stop the presses!

It's good to know how Supergo plays things, but I only buy from these guys based on price. I already know exactly what I want and why I want it.

We're all better off posting on some thrid party who has zero vested interest. Ever notice how none of these websites really want to post a review section for shops and retailers? They might get some advertising pulled. You gotta know who's in bed with whom. Just follow the $$$ and it all makes sense.
Sue them for unfair business practice!Dog
Aug 13, 2001 3:06 PM
California Business and Professions Code Section 17200, et seq., creates a cause of action against a business for unfair business practice, and permits attorneys' fees! Go after them. Surely you can find a lawyer in L.A. to take the case.
Sue them for being themgrzy mnky
Aug 13, 2001 3:54 PM
OK, but wouldn't you have to prove that they took said review and changed the words. They'd simply say that the review wasn't yours, but some other very satisfied customer. Why not go after the drug companies, the auto industry, the airlines, the motion picture industry and anyone else who shows things in an overly favorable light and takes people's statements out of context. Surely they have deeper pockets than Supergo. Yes, i realize that Big Tobacco has been sucessfuly sued, but it was for the damage that their products caused and the cost on the states' health care systems, not the claims about looking cool with a butt sticking out of your mouth.

Kinda troubling that the solution for everything is to sue someone. How about voting with your wallet and never buying another thing from them and just bad mouthing them in a public forum at every chance - even if it's only partly true?

Hey, I've been bad mouthing Spinergy off and on for quite a while, but it doesn't seem to stop the unending stream of dissatisfied customers or the company from producing rubish. Why not sue Spinergy for making all sorts of out rageous claims every six months or so when their newest and most improved product comes out? A carefull customer will check out all sorts of *different* sources and research the product before making a purchase. A navigator /pilot that relies on a single source of info does so at the risk of impacting something very firm. Spinergy buyers reading the Supergo review get off relatively easily.
I agree - facetiousDog
Aug 13, 2001 6:41 PM
My facetiousness doesn't come across sometimes.

I can't stand Supergo, as they screwed up nearly every order I placed, and then couldn't care less about it after. So, I just speak out at every opportunity.

Actually, I'd be that last one to actually sue someone for myself or anyone I was close to. Litigation is a real pain in the butt. It's expensive, time consuming, and frustrating. Better to speak out (thank goodness for First Amendment) and warn others. My wife got rear ended in a car, and we blew it off. It's not worth the mental years off your life to mess with it.

Dog
That is very lame on SuperGo's part...UncleMoe
Aug 13, 2001 10:58 AM
Personally I have found them to have a great selection of merchandise and a great price. Other than that, I hate everything about them. Sales staff where maybe 1-5 employees know what they are talking about. The other 4 are talking out there butt to make a sale.

This is one of the reasons why I avoid them unless I really know exactly what I want. I'd rather support my small LBS at a higher price and feel good about the purchase.

I recently bought a pair of Specialized Body Geometery PRo MTB shoes from them. The sales person talked them all up compared to other shoes, etc. I get to the check out and I need a pair of cleats to go with them. The girl asks who helped me so I tell her. The guy comes over and asks what pedal I have so he gets them. As he's walking away she says to him in plain earshot of me, "Good going 'insert sales guys name here', you get a bonus sales spiff for selling so many of these."

Now if that isn't a way to make a customer feel uncomfortable about a sales persons recommendations, I don't know what is.
re: Lets do something with thisRon L.
Aug 13, 2001 12:00 PM
There are as many complaints about bikeshop as there are components. I think you guys are on to something; I think it's time for Road and Mtbike Review to add shop to there list of reviewing items. The editing of someones review is a bad thing for everyone.

Drive this home

Ron L.
NEVER GONNA HAPPEND'Ohhh!!!
Aug 13, 2001 12:04 PM
With Supergo a "featured merchant" (i.e., pays advertising $), I doubt anything will happen. Heck, they are going to require make classified users pay $3 per ad whether you are selling a $3,000 bike or a $20 stem!
NEVER GONNA HAPPENSlow Ned
Aug 13, 2001 3:18 PM
Agreed.

In a related note,I posted a reply to the $3 fee 2 days ago on RBR.com (you know, about how it sucks that we will be having to pay $3 per classified ad on RBR.com in the near future).

I suggested that the messageboard section would still offer a "free" area in which to post ads on the sly, as a workaround to the fee. The ad was gone within the next 2 hours. Coincidence? You consipracy-wrought fans of the "X-files" would say not.
Post 'em Right Here!!grzy mnky
Aug 13, 2001 4:09 PM
And let's see what happens.

There's a theory in behavior science that basically states that any rule has the opposite of the intended effect. I forgot what it's called, but someone out there will know. RBR wants to charge $3 for classifieds so the theory says there won't be anyone posting and paying the fee - they'll find another source. Instead of RBR "covering" their costs/making a profit they'll see the activity in this area drop to zilch. Why pay for anything on the net when you can get it for free? In time they'll realize their mistake and bring it back for free.

As far as them removing your post - you know that this is a moderated forum correct? Consider yourself "moderated" ;-) Kinda funny how we can curse and insult each other with nothing happening and then some one speaks up and says that the emporer has no clothes (and a small winkie) and "WHAM" your comment is obliterated.

I wonder how long this post will stay on the board? The current time is 5:08 PDT on Monday 8/13.
I read your reviewpeloton
Aug 13, 2001 7:46 PM
The comment that they added at the end of the review about only having wheels trued by a professional wheelbuilder got me. It was as if to say, 'This guy can't true a wheel, and it's his fault he's dissatified.' I would demand that Supergo remove that review if it were my words that they butchered like that.

It isn't good business. They lost me as a customer if this is how they conduct themselves.
re: Supergo's reviews are bogusOliver Danner
Aug 19, 2001 1:45 PM
Dear LC,

I am the director of business development at Supergo. I was shocked to hear about your complaint last week as I was sitting in the offices of RBR and MTBR in Sunnyvale. The site manager informed me of your complaint and I immediately asked him to send me the thread.

We have 2 to 3 watch persons who's job is to monitor for inappropiate content, not to edit a single word. You can be assured that I will find out who changed your copy and take the necessary actions.

Sincerely,

Oliver 'Ollie' Danner
Director of Business Development
web site: www.supergo.com
email: oliver@supergo.com
direct line: 310-576-0246
mobile phone: 310-529-9874
mobile email: oliverd@skytel.com
pager: 800-492-7066
fax: 310-576-0223
626 Broadway
Santa Monica, CA 90401
See, look at that!look271
Aug 19, 2001 7:13 PM
Perhaps you might all feel a little foolish? If I've learned anything from being married to someone who has worked in retail for 10+ years, you complain to management when things are not handled in an appropriate manner. Often, you'll get results. Had you brought this to this gentleman's attention earlier, perhaps this would have all been avoided?
but is it fixed?nm
Aug 20, 2001 5:13 AM
nm
See, look at that!peloton
Aug 20, 2001 1:03 PM
That's true, perhaps bringing it to this gentleman's attention might have retified the situation. Point it though, it should not have happened in the first place. An analogous situation would be seeing a roach in a restaurant. The manager might refund your meal, and try to appease you but the damage really has already been done. No reason for anyone to feel foolish.