RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Merckx Team SC(9 posts)

Merckx Team SCaxelwannabe
Aug 12, 2001 9:08 PM
Has anybody ridden the Merckx Team SC?

Not that Bicycling Mag reviews mean anything...but it got a killer review in the July issue (compared with Trek, Pinarello, Colnago, Look, Specialized TDF team bikes).

Curious to know if it is sweet as they say it is??? Don't skimp on the details.
Merckx geometryHank
Aug 12, 2001 9:21 PM
I'm not lucky enough to have ridden the new Team SC, but I have an older Merckx. You may know this already, but the Merckx geometry is quite a bit different from those others you list - more laid back seat tube angle and what seems like a steeper head tube angle (don't know for sure because it seems to be some kind of secret). Also has a low bottom bracket and fairly long c-stays. You should make sure the geomerty works for you before you get one. I love it but it's not for everyone.
Merckx geometryaxelwannabe
Aug 12, 2001 9:38 PM
The magazine pretty much echoed what you said. Lower BB, stretched out geometry. Something they like but can't quite put their finger on. They described it as:
"Do almost anything race bike without nervous, thoroughbred race manners. Absolutely magnificent ride." Blah blah blah.

Merckx Team SC 5 Chainrings (that's their rating system)
Trek 5900 3.5
Pin. Prince 4.5
Spec. S-Works 4.5
Look KG281 3.0
Colnago CT1 4.0
Merckx geometryHank
Aug 12, 2001 9:49 PM
well of course there's a good chance it just fit the test rider(s) better than the others. Compared to my more conventional custom rig, the center of gravity seems farther back, it steers quicker at low speed but feels a bit more stable at high speed. Rock solid stability standing out of the saddle. But I think anyone with shorter femurs or who is used to a slightly more forward seating position/steeper seat tube angle (like those found on the Trek or Colnago for instance) might find this design awkward.
Merckx geometryDINOSAUR
Aug 13, 2001 12:17 PM
The Merckx MX Leader might be my ticket, I can't seem to locate a site that has any measurements for the Merckx frames. The Eddy Merckx website shows nothing except photos of complete bikes. Can anyone help here? I've seen this info somewhere, I just can't remember where...
cbike.com nmJohnG
Aug 13, 2001 12:27 PM
.
Check this outPeetey
Aug 13, 2001 12:29 PM
http://www.gitabike.com/hdr_pages/em_gc.html
Merckx geometryaxelwannabe
Aug 13, 2001 4:02 PM
www.gitabike.com is the US rep for Merckx...you can find specs/geometry on their site
oversimplified reasoning in articleJohnG
Aug 13, 2001 6:20 AM
I read this article and thought the BS generalities and simplistic rationalizations just about offset the few glimmers of truth.

ride hard
JohnG