RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Attn. "not that gulliable" from thread below(16 posts)

Attn. "not that gulliable" from thread belowcarbonman
Aug 12, 2001 10:18 AM
I am truly offened by your remarks. What motivation do I have for lying ?? I don't own a shop, work for trek, or selling my bike ??
1. fact: I ride an average of 4-5000 miles per year on this bike. I am the original owner.
2. okay the bike doesn't ride like new. It rides BETTER than new. Still no creaks or noises from the frame at all.
3.Do your research before you open your mouth. Find a 96 or 97 catalog from Trek. The 5000 did NOT have a carbon fork. The 5200 & 5500 did. I got mine in Saturn silver. The only year it was made & only to be had in the 5000. With aluminum fork. From the factory.
4. I have used the best possible replacement parts available. FSA, SRP, Easton, Mavic,speedplay & spinergy (soon to be zipp's)
If it helps, I'll send you a photo of the bike on a ups electronic scale (17.24lbs). Yes I do weigh 230 - 235 lbs. I can send you a picture of that also. I go to the gym 2-3 times/week. on a good day, I can INCLINE bench 225 & leg press 1100 lbs. Still think I'm lying ?? I'm no weakling & I can certainly put the power to the pedals. This bike has held up wonderfully. Again, what motivation do I have to lie ? Why is it so hard to believe that I can drop 2-3 pounds on this bike with quality components & make it last ? So maybe Trek had some quality problems in the early stages. I was one of the lucky ones i suppose. The original poster was asking for opinions. I gave mine. I will post a picture as soon as I can track down a decent digital camera.(for all of the disbelievers). I'd welcome a meeting in Eastern Pennsylvania so that you can see it for yourself. You're also welcome to ride it (54 cm frame)if you wish.
Offensive and cowardlymike mcmahon
Aug 12, 2001 11:11 AM
Why is it that people who flat out call others liars on this board do it anonymously only? I can't imagine many people here would call anyone on the board a liar to his or her face, especially not a guy who goes 230. Maybe Mr./Ms. notthatgullible should re-post under his or her true identity.
not trying to start a fight.....carbonman
Aug 12, 2001 11:53 AM
not trying to start a fight with anyone, especially on this board ! I'm just offering proof of my ride, and all of my hard work (not just on the bike, but also the 2 part time jobs I worked for a while to come up with the dough to buy the mods). Hell, I'm even offering the guy to take it for a ride for himself ! I just don't like being called a liar, that's all. I previously had posted as screenname QUADzilla, but I got a new computer, and can't figure out my password....so...I have been around this board for quite some time now..
Didn't think you weremike mcmahon
Aug 12, 2001 1:37 PM
Trust me, I'd also be upset if I were attacked as a liar for posting about my experience with my bike, or any other subject for that matter. The fact that the person accusing you of lying chose to do so anonymously makes it even more frustrating because it's difficult to have a dialog when you don't know who's doing the talking. Like Hank said, don't let people like this get you down.
Offensive and cowardlynothatgullible
Aug 13, 2001 1:35 PM
Why call somebody a liar? Because their story rings as true as a fairy tale. Maybe he's just psychotic, or something, I don't know. We are here to give our opinions and that's mine. What does cowardly mean? That I'm supposed to give him my social security number just because I have a seemingly unpopular opinion? Don't try to be so self-righteous. 95% of the people here don't use their real names. Are they cowards? No, it's just a name they use. And I wouldn't like to talk personally to carbonman because I don't have to talk to him to ask him if it is ok to post my opinion on whatever I feel like. Your name is probably not Mike McMahon anyway. This is a waste of typing. Just chill out, ok? It's just a bicycle forum. Why would I call him a liar to his face if I saw that he was 230 lbs. and rode a 1997 OCLV Trek 5K a year? It wouldn't make sense then, would it? That's why I called him a liar, because it doen't sound true and I cannot verify his story from the seat in front of my computer.
Oh, so now I'm a liar?mike mcmahon
Aug 13, 2001 2:08 PM
"Your name is probably not Mike McMahon anyway." What a strange thing to say. I'd like to think I'm creative enough to come up with something more original than that if I were to select a new name.

Cowardly means that your post was made under a name that, as far as I know, has never before appeared on the board. No, I don't think that people who post under something other than their real names are cowardly. However, I suspect that most of the people who do so would not use another alias to call someone a liar. For example, I can't imagine that Dinosaur, Hummah Hah, or Lazy would assume another name to call someone a liar. In my opinion, hiding behind an alias for the sole purpose of attacking another poster is cowardly. If you don't feel at least a little guilty about it, why are you still posting under this new alias?
don't sweat itHank
Aug 12, 2001 11:21 AM
all you can do is post your opinions. Hopefully it helps someone, or is fun to read, or you had fun writing it, etc. People will attack you from time to time--this is the internet after all.

Regarding OCLV durability--I'm one of those guys who pipes up from time to time to point out the possible downsides those bikes. I worked in bike shops for a long time, some of them were Trek shops, and I saw all the kinds of ways those can break (some of these problems have surely been solved by Trek over the years). (someone can now attack me if they want, say that I'm lying). But I also don't doubt your experience at all. I think an experienced, non-abusive rider who takes good care of his/her equipment and doesn't crash much could be pretty happy with one.
So that's where you've been!look271
Aug 12, 2001 2:46 PM
How's it going? You still planning on doing the "Gap gallop" century? (You're from around Allentown right?) I believe that I'll be doing it. Maybe I'll see you there and I'll be able to attest to your credibility. :-)
So that's where you've been!carbonman
Aug 12, 2001 4:12 PM
Hi look271 !! I don't have any info on the gap century..let me know the specifics !! Yes, I am from Reading. The Shoo fly classic is September 15th this year. I can mail you some info if you want, or I believe it is posted on our website....Berks county bicycle club. Also, I wasn't sure if you ever went to the swap meet at the Lehigh County Velodrome. It really is awesome. I believe it is Saturday October 14th or 13th. I can also post some info for that when I get the "facts". Don't want to be called a liar !!
Here's the web site:look271
Aug 12, 2001 7:28 PM
It's Sept 23rd. Sounds like a good ride. http://wwww.lehighwheelmen.org I'll be doing the Capital century here in Harrisburg on Sept 16th, also a nice ride.
You know you can have your password reset/emailed to you right?JamesTKirk
Aug 12, 2001 3:33 PM
Just click the login link, there's a button for forgotten passwords.
They will reset you and email a new password...
hey, thanks ! (nm)carbonman
Aug 12, 2001 4:14 PM
re: Attn. "not that gulliable" from thread belowVW
Aug 12, 2001 5:21 PM
Hey carbonman aka QUADzilla,

I have a 96 Trek5000 (Ice Green). I bought it not too long ago. I just updated it with Ultegra drive train. I stopped riding 25 years ago, and just got back on it this year. So, I'm not sure how my bike rides as compared to other models and makes. I bought this bike base on what I read in this website about 5200. Since I couldn't afford a new one, this was the best I could do. So far, it seemed to perform well for me. I don't remember riding so well back then even with the Columbus tubing and full Campy Nouvo Record equipped bike I had! I just hope I'm as lucky as you, and that this bike will last for quite awhile.

You mentioned changing the "bonded" Aluminum fork, what ever "bonded" means, to the Time Millenium carbon fork. Is that a threadless fork? Also, how did you know it was a good match for this frame? Do you know the fork rake if your Time fork? Also, you mentioned something about "changing the fork was the most important upgrade for this bike", can you tell me what improvements (weight? smooth ride? handling?)did you experienced?

Funny thing, my bike is also 54cm, but I weigh 140lb and is 5'8" tall. At 230lb, you must be pretty husky to ride such a small frame. How tall are you anyway? I just want to get a general feel for the size of my bike as compared to my height.
i'm 210-220 and ride a 2200 (Alu tho)..Made in Taiwan
Aug 12, 2001 7:08 PM
but the frame held up fine for 2300 miles (before the 83yr old lady came along)... eventhough it was an aluminum, which we are talking bout c/f here, it was fine, and offer little flex but mainly it was the stem. btw, i'm about 5'10" short and chuncky
the 5000carbonman
Aug 13, 2001 8:25 AM
I changed the headset to a threadless cane creek model when I went to the time fork. The fork is quite a bit lighter and tracks/corners much better. I suspect that this may be due to my size. Which, by the way, I am 6' tall with a 32" inseam. The fork, I believe, has identical rake to the stock unit. Much more comfortable ride with the carbon/vectran fibers. I went to a 110mm stem, and now I have a great fit. I suspect I may have gone to a 55cm, but the shop recommended a 54 after fitting. I selected the fork after reading many reviews about them. I almost bought a renyolds, but wasn't sure it could hold up under me. The time has a 43 mm rake. I just looked on the box.
To carbonman...againnothatgullible
Aug 13, 2001 1:12 PM
Alright so it seems that those frames came with aluminum forks, I threw that one in without really knowing. Since your whole post seemed suspicious I figured that was another made up comment. Anyway stories like yours don't ring true because of personal experience. As far as being annonymous, aren't we all? I am still very skeptical about your story, if anything it is not even close to the norm. Those frames break and with you being 230 pounds...Don't be offended, It's nothing personal, It's not like everybody knows you and the ones that do will get a kick out of it if the story is true. I'll tell you what, the last thing you said, 6' tall and a 32 inch inseam. I am between 5'7-5'8 and my inseam is 32. And a 110mm stem, that's what I use too. It just doesn't sound right but if that's your story, don't worry about what I say. No matter how much I say your story is made up, it is true, right? From now on I won't call you a liar, just a little suspicious. And if that is still a little too harsh I'll call it...out of the ordinary. That's not offensive, is it? If you are telling the truth, I'm sorry I called you a liar. If it is a lie, you must be pretty happy that I said that I was sorry to call you a liar.