RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Hit 100 F on my ride today ...(11 posts)

Hit 100 F on my ride today ...Humma Hah
Aug 10, 2001 10:24 AM
... I did not ride the last two days. The air quality was in the "code red" range (don't breathe, it's bad for you), and temperatures were slightly below 100, with a heat index of 105-109 F.

But today, we were assured, would be a little cooler, in the low 90's, with merely code orange air. Humidity is high, with nasty thunderstorms forecast tonight.

I got my usual late morning start, about 11 AM, thinking I've gotta learn to take my ride earlier. I was out on the parkway, thinking it was awfully warm, and there were no other bikes out. I punched a couple of buttons on the computer and brought up temperature. 100 F even! Humidity was not saturated (the breeze did offer some cooling) but was certainly at least 70%, hazy air in evidence. It'll be interesting to see what excuse the forecasters offer tonight.
Relief is on the way?RhodyRider
Aug 10, 2001 10:50 AM
I realize you are down the (sea)board a ways, but up here in Rhode Island all hell is breaking loose, meteorologically speaking. It is currently as dark as 9 PM and rain is falling in sheets, accompanied by lotsa electricity and wind. Behind this maelstrom is supposed to be MUCH cooler, drier air, but it looks like a wet weekend. I'll take anything over what we've had the past two weeks or so.
DC just caught 2.5" of rain, 20 degree drop ...Humma Hah
Aug 10, 2001 12:27 PM
... but Manassas is still a sauna. There are dark, rumbling clouds just to the west, and we're eagerly awaiting them.
Yep,MB1
Aug 10, 2001 12:48 PM
Seems like all the soup in the air is on the ground now. Lets see, where did I put those fenders???
You gotta get up earlier.MB1
Aug 10, 2001 11:22 AM
Not that is was much help, it was 86 degrees on my way in to work at 7:30. But it will be nice and warm on our way home tonight. But as you know from SoCal....don't trust air you can't see!
It's like riding through soup...Greg Taylor
Aug 10, 2001 11:27 AM
...air around Washington DC has been disgusting for the past couple of days. Even doing the commuter-thing at 7:30 a.m. isn't much better. A thunderstorm just passed through, so hopefully things will be cooler.
Cooler temps are on the way..............STEELYeyed
Aug 10, 2001 12:48 PM
it is 75 degrees today in Iowa,40 degrees cooler than Wednesday,hang tough,its moving east!
STEELYeyed
Solution....grzy mnky
Aug 10, 2001 1:14 PM
Move back to the west coast! ;-)
don't want to hear about it!dano
Aug 10, 2001 1:37 PM
I have the opposite complaint to make.....I'm still waiting for the temperature here to go above 70 degrees and stay there for more than 1 day. Living in northern England, I dream of riding in the heat. I dream of being to able cycle without arm warmers and a vest in July and August.

Actually, I just got back from a one week visit to Montana. The temperature was in the high 90's. People who don't know me very well thought I was crazy to go out cycling in the afternoon. I tried telling them that I miss that kind of heat really badly. I get so sick and tired of Britain's constantly crap weather. The cycling in this country would be really nice if the weather just didn't suck all the damn time!

Too hot to ride.....its never too hot to ride!!
Welcome to my world!climberted
Aug 10, 2001 1:52 PM
Anyone else from oklahoma? It is always atleast around 100F w/o humidity. Heat index is normally 105-110 or so. Frekin' hot all summer.......................
Another benefit of commutingRich Clark
Aug 10, 2001 8:47 PM
My morning rides have still been quite pleasant. It's been 80-85F without too much hard shunshine at 7-8am. The 100 degree stuff happens while I'm in my air-conditioned office. By the time I leave for home (after pre-hydrating with that delicious free cold water-cooler springwater) it feels great to get out into the heat and really get the muscles warm and stretchy.

Now today it was pouring rain on the ride home, but I'd ridden the rainbike anyway, with my lights and panniers already mounted, and the warm rain in the 80 degree air felt refreshing. And the wind was behind me, so it was great.

RichC