RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Why is Cycling So WHITE?(57 posts)

Why is Cycling So WHITE?jtolleson
Aug 10, 2001 6:27 AM
Ok, this is a little afield of the componentry, frame, etc. discussions, but I'd love thoughts.

Why is cycling so white? I don't just mean at the racing level, but at the hobby level too. Kids of all colors grow up riding bicycles, but the adult hobbyist (or even racer) tends to be white.

And I live in a pretty racially diverse community.
Shhhhhh!!! They might catch on........AustinTexasRider
Aug 10, 2001 6:44 AM
That's all we need is for the black man to conquer cycling too. Golf is the same way then along comes Tiger Woods to kick our butts.

Tex
You know Tiger is HALF asianJ.S.
Aug 10, 2001 7:29 AM
Why do people continually overlook this? Notice how Asians don't make a big deal about the fact the media doesn't play up his Asian background like they do his African-American. You can bet if it was the other way around, Al Sharpton would have his mug on TV whining about racial inequality.
haha...very true...jayz
Aug 10, 2001 8:05 AM
i dont know why the make a big deal of it anyways...sooo stupid.
Because he doesn't look Asian? :-)kenyee
Aug 10, 2001 8:42 AM
You know Tiger is HALF asianSteveS
Aug 10, 2001 11:01 AM
Actually, I believe Tiger Woods is more than half asian, more like 2/3 as his father also has some asian blood in his background, if I am correct. Tiger refused to reject either his Thai mother or his Asian background, which is why he asked not to be called African-American. And, if you do look at his face, he clearly has Asian features.

For me, the impressive thing other than golf about Tiger Woods is that years ago, he asked to be called "calabrasian", which was his effort to honor all the ethnic groups that he knew were in his makeup. Plays golf pretty well, too.
re: Why is Cycling So WHITE?onrhodes
Aug 10, 2001 6:54 AM
This is strictly my opinion, and not based on much fact, but this is how I see it.....
Everyone from black, white, yellow, to purple, and plaid has probably grown up with the single speed kids bike, but that is about where it ends. Cycling is an expensive sport (like hockey, Golf, Tennis, etc which are also mainly white). In the case of cycling, how many people can make a decent living riding a bike for a living? When it comes to sports, I believe that a non white child may be lead more on the path of football, basketball, or baseball. Many poor families may not be able to send thier child(ren) to college (or other institution of higher learning) without the aid of some sort of athletic scholarship (i.e. basketball, baseball, football). Cycling is not exactly a hot bed of collegiate sports last I checked.
With recent role models like Tiger Woods, there has been quite an explosion of black interest in golf. While in the past, most role models for black children have been in the sports I have already mentioned above. Why is boxing such and hispanic led sport, or basketball such a black led sport?
I'm not making the conclusion that all non-whites are poor and cannont afford a bike, but look at where sport role models for blacks and hispanics are playing? When is the last time you saw a white guy on the USA 100m,200m, or 4x100m track team at the Olympics? I bet that the Williams sisters will get an increase in tennis in the black communities as well.
I live in NH which is literally almost 95% white as of the 1990 census. I went to high school with 7 black students, maybe 20 hispanic, and 20 asian students out of 1100 kids. In college I went to a State school here in NH where again where about 90% of the student population was white. I kid you not when I say about 50% of the black students on campus where on either the football or basketball team, while our cycling team (20 people) was all white.
Again, just some things I have noticed growing up. I'm sure some people won't agree with me, but like I said, this is just my opinion.
where are you located in NH? (nm)Mabero
Aug 10, 2001 8:25 AM
Manchester areaonrhodes
Aug 10, 2001 8:59 AM
Grew up in Bow/Concord, now live in the Manchester area
Dover areaMabero
Aug 10, 2001 10:02 AM
Depends where you live...JBurke
Aug 10, 2001 7:09 AM
I live in Miami and there are actually quite a few Black roadies, especially from Jamaica, and obviously, there are thousands of Hispanic cyclists.

As a generalization, I would think that economic and geographic features play into it. Most decent road bikes are fairly expensive, and many African-Americans may not have the resources to purchase one, or a local bike shop which sells them. Also, a dispropotionate number of AMs live in urban settings, which aren't that great for cycling. That's my guess.
It's a cultural thang, jack!E3
Aug 10, 2001 7:12 AM
I usually see a few blacks on the one-day tour events I do each summer. Look at the NHL. There are an increasing number of blacks playing hockey, so things are changing in traditionally white sports. Edmonton has, what, three or four black players?
It's a cultural thang, jack!Jon Billheimer
Aug 10, 2001 7:42 AM
Antonio Cruz, of USPS, I believe is black--or at least non-white. But I think the above posts are right, it's a matter of culture and exposure. I don't think it's primarily economic as there are lots of affluent blacks and hispanics. As far as economics and motivation go there aren't a lot of opportunities to make a living or attain stardom in cycling in North America. Guys like Armstrong are the exception that proves the rule.
He is Mexican-American...Lou M
Aug 10, 2001 10:08 AM
I read his profile in a magazine...
speculation / census dataDog
Aug 10, 2001 7:26 AM
I think we'd be speculating without some real study. My speculation is that it is largely related to the expense.

Here's some new Census data, fyi:

http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/00000.html

http://www.nandotimes.com/nt/images/march03/0312race.html

http://www.nandotimes.com/nt/images/march03/0329ca.html
and if, due to that expense,ET
Aug 10, 2001 7:58 AM
and less chance of exposure to proper cycling etiquette, a poorer child (of whatever race) in an urban area on a cheap bike is perceived as less likely to know the niceties of rules such as riding only on the right, does that make the one perceiving it and acting accordingly in order to avoid a collision an Archie Bunker?
can't let it go, huh?Dog
Aug 10, 2001 8:10 AM
let sleeping Dogs lie

Dog
not from youET
Aug 10, 2001 8:31 AM
Didn't care that much regarding the comments from others I've rarely seen or know nothing about, but yours did bother me. I feel you misread me and were presumptuous, safely jumping on the overzealous PC-pretentious bandwagon. It's not like I just came onto the forum yesterday.

I suspect there are others here who understood what I was saying in the previous thread and feel I got shafted; I wish a few would come on to say so, but if it's business as usual here, I'll be left out to dry all by my lonesome.
wasn't directed at youDog
Aug 10, 2001 8:37 AM
My "Archie" comment was directed at Hank's comments. Look back at the thread heirachy.

I essentially agreed with you, that your description was somewhat helpful to understand the circumstances, but probably not really essential. If you read my comments carefully, that should be evident.

Dog
and if, due to that expense,mobil1
Aug 11, 2001 10:50 AM
This posting must be right up your alley, ET. You can't seem to get over the fact that riders who are "different" then you should not be allowed on the road. BTW, Nutmegger and I are still waiting for your apology from your last ignorant remarks.
I agree re economics and....Len J
Aug 10, 2001 8:54 AM
can add to the impact of economics. I grew up dirt poor in a ghetto in Philadelphia. We barely had enough to eat. One of the key things you learn when you grow up poor are all the things that you can not do. Life becomes about surviving with all of the limitations that lack of money imposes. I find that now, 40 years later, even though I have been blessed with financial success, I still find that my automatic reflex to anything new is that "I can't do that". The limitation mentality has survived long after the poverty ended. I would suspect that the lack of blacks in cycling is related to the high % who grow up in poverty who can't see themselves doing something like cycling.

Obviously this is only one dimension of the problem, but a significant one nontheless.

Len
Each person has choices.(not that) Patrick Duffy
Aug 10, 2001 7:26 AM
Everyone has the same opportunity to ride a bike. Some folks may not have safe places to ride as a kid due to traffic, congested streets, etc. Each person ultimately has a choice of whether they ride or not.

I am not going to join in on the hand-wringing and feelings of guilt that bicycling is not "diverse" enough.
What Hand Wringing?jtolleson
Aug 10, 2001 7:43 AM
Gawd, why do some people react to discussion board items so harshly?

No one was wringing hands or expanding this into a socio-political discussion of the white man's burden. I've just really wonder why cycling is so segregated.

If the topic didn't interest you, you could have just stayed quiet.
Tell him, JT! Got a tiger in your tank, don't you!? LOL (nm)RhodyRider
Aug 10, 2001 8:26 AM
Tell him, JT! Got a tiger in your tank, don't you!? LOL (nm)jtolleson
Aug 10, 2001 8:56 AM
aaah, depends on the day. Sometimes with people's penchant for responding only negatively on this board (just a few folks), I get toooo tempted to respond in kind.
Too true. Gotta let fly at some of these crabs. KIR. (nm)RhodyRider
Aug 10, 2001 9:02 AM
What would a discussion be.....(not that) Patrick Duffy
Aug 10, 2001 9:46 AM
if everybody agreed with the original supposition. It would be pretty boring. Judging by past posts in this forum, I would not characterize my response as harsh.

It is my opinion, and perhaps I did not make my point clearly, that we should not be looking at our world in the terms race. Why don't we see more black scuba divers, more Inuit NASCAR racers, more hispanic water skiers? Who cares?

BTW, I black and ride regularly in Brooklyn's Prospect Park. Stop by and you can see how many blacks ride there. Keep your whitey guilt.
My two bitsdinky
Aug 10, 2001 8:07 AM
I do think that ecomonics plays a factor when thinking about the issue in general terms. But I think it has more to do with amount of animosity towards adult cyclist. There have been many posts about run ins with jerks, bottles being thrown, insults yelled...etc. Most non-whites, and certainly African Americans in this country experience prejudice of some form on a day to day basis. So, choosing a sport that is not well received by a lot of people would be kind of a double whammy. Think about it....as a non-white, you are already putting up with a lot of crap just living your life and then you put on a pair of tight shorts and roll out into traffic. Cycling (and running to a lesser degree) is really the only sport that puts it's participants right smack in the world of non-participants. If someone doesn't like football players or golfers they can choose not to go to the stadium or green. But cyclist are out on the highways, at the stop lights, in the lanes. We aren't in an isolated cycling world. So I think that that sort of exposure does not appeal to people who are already dealing with yahoo bigots anyway.
Just my thoughts. Good question!
Who really cares what color the skin is?Thioderek
Aug 10, 2001 8:08 AM
I am a bit shocked at the unfounded speculation going on here.

I am Pacific Islander and Eastern European. Why dont I see more of my kind out on the road?

Who cares, just get out and ride.

Why should we care about the color of the skin of the riders on the road?
You might be missing the pointdinky
Aug 10, 2001 8:34 AM
I don't know why the discussion is so "shocking" to you. No one is trying to organize some massive effort to diversify the sport and I don't think that any of the posts have had any sort of guilt inducing message. It is just a discussion, the original poster was just making an observation and throwing it out for thought. I think that everyone would agree that the best thing for cycling in general would be if there were a lot more of us out there regardless of ethnicity. Relax, if you don't like the topic skip to the next post.
Holy shit I was just thinking the same thing! (nm)Mabero
Aug 10, 2001 8:23 AM
The real reason isLazyrider
Aug 10, 2001 8:59 AM
a combination of many of the things people have already stated. I grew up in Brooklyn NY where the socioeconimic status of everyone was on the lower end of the continum. That in and of itself makes serious cycling a deterent of sorts. The fact that less people can afford the sport will create a "subculture" that will not look favorably on a person that tries to enjoy the sport. Playing stickball or basketball was not only cheaper, but easier. A broom stick and a blue or "pinkie" ball and you were set for hours until someone hit one onto a roof or a basketball and a pair of sneakers. If a young kid bought a decent bike and wore the clothing in my neighborhood, he would of got a beating and his bike stolen. Hell, one of my bikes got robbed (bmx). In addition, the more urban streets suck to ride on as the traffic and dirvers are so aggressive. Even if a rich company or person wanted to increase the representation of black people in the sport, they would need to really take people out of their environment to do so. You couldn't train in Harlem for the most part for many reasons to become a world class stage racer. Remember Nelson Vails, the guy at the beginning of the movie Quicksilver. He was from Harlem or the Bronx and a rich guy saw him riding his bike which was a piece of sh%^ and this guy bought him a higher end bike. Vails eventually was given a coach and started to become a world class cyclist on the Velodrome circuit and Olympics. Given same opportunities, skies the limit as great endurance athletes come in all colors. So the reasons are multifaceted in that one reason causes or creates the other. Cycling isn't a popular sport in the Northeast in general. There aren't many races here in the NY area as there would be in Colorado or the Carolinas. Nothing is televised which ultimately has the biggest impact. Tiger Woods analogy isn't realistic in my opinion because he isn't representative of the average black male in this country. He came from a family of economic means which exposed him to a sport early in his life that he probably wouldn't have been if born in Harlem. Some more well to do Black people may take offense to a statement like that because they may feel insulted because I am implying that they may not be able to afford a sport like golf. But unfortunately there is truth behind this just as the majority of poor whites cannot afford the sport either. It is just that African Americans are disproportionately represented in the lower socioeconomic levels for a variety of social dynamics. Now in Europe where cycling is a way of life, you will see children from poorer areas become cyclists as people are so passionate about the sport and families will make more sacrifices. In addition, there is probably more sponsorship and recruiting of young talent there as well. Here in the U.S., the colleges and high schools recruit inner city basketball players from when they are in grammar schools because basketball is a way of life and these kids wind up moving out of district to play ball. So the reasons are complex and multi-dimensional but I wouldn't say intentional racism is a reason. It is about exposure at a young age that is critical.
Speaking for my asian experience...Marlon
Aug 10, 2001 8:40 AM
Jeez, I feel like I'm coming out of the closet. In any case, speaking from my own experience, as a first-generation-born-in-North-America child of Chinese heritage, my fellow Chinese friends and peers were pushed more into the academics and arts (mainly music), since those two subjects were things that are traditionally and culturally held in high esteem. The academics were pushed mainly so that we would be able to earn more money and live better lives than our parents, and the arts were so that we would be cultured people. It was okay to be active, but going fully into a sport was considered a waste of time and money - why spend more time "playing" when you could be educating or culturing yourself? Besides, my parents, as poor immigrants when they first arrived from overseas, had harsh economic lessons drilled into them, and as a consequence, they're still pretty tight-fisted with their cash, a value they passed onto me. Which explains why they frowned upon more expensive sports like cycling - not only is it just "playing", but it also costs money.

I didn't get into cycling until I was in high school, and then, it was still more of a past-time. My parents didn't strongly disapprove, but they didn't approve either. Until I finally started doing triathlons as a way to stay in shape and combine my then-hobbies of running and swimming, that I finally got into biking about 2 years ago, and then I've just discovered racing this year. And, to be honest, I've never regretted it.

Out of almost all the riders I see on the roads today, only a VERY few are asian. It just isn't a sport you see all that commonly among that ethnic group, for both cultural and economic reasons. Or, that's my take on it at least.
I was thinking the same thing...also mostly malekenyee
Aug 10, 2001 8:50 AM
I also had the same pressures as a first gen Asian. Study hard, work hard, sports are secondary. Probably why I'm more of a klutz than most people when it comes to sports. But if you need a software problem solved, I can do it without much effort. :-)

In races, on the trails, etc., the ratio of male to female is at least 5:1 for cycling. Maybe 3:2 for blading.
re: Why is Cycling So WHITE?jaybird
Aug 10, 2001 8:57 AM
What about Nelson Vails? He is one of the top US track cyclists in history.
Let's not also forget about Major Taylor!!! (NM)Cima Coppi
Aug 10, 2001 9:21 AM
Encouragement is the only answer...Cima Coppi
Aug 10, 2001 9:29 AM
One thing we all have in common is we love our sport/hobby/whatever you want to call it, and we need to encourage everyone who rides to continue their valuable input into it. This is regardless of race/sex/ethnicity/etc. If you want to see more minorities or women out on bicycles, give them as much positive feedback as possible to keep them on the bike and ENJOYING being on the bike. That sentiment will be passed on. We do not solicit cycling on a door to door basis, but we can encourage those who are already on their bikes, even the kids!!

CC
Skewed perception?9WorCP
Aug 10, 2001 9:43 AM
There are a lot of Black, Asian and Latino riders in NYC. They got expensive bikes too. Of course there are a lot of Black, Asian and Latino people living here. Maybe you ride in predominately White neighborhood.

On the Pro scene there a lot of successful Latino racers including National Champion Fred Rodriguez. I think the times are a changing.
9WORCp I think your view is a Skewed perception?Slothlike
Aug 10, 2001 12:35 PM
With all due respects, your observations of "a lot" isn't scientific and a representative sample. You have to look at the general demographics of cyclist in NYC. "Most" blacks and latinos aren't riding and racing bikes in NYC. Look at it this way, there are many more minorities playing baseball, basketball, football etc and so very few make it to the professional level even though there are many minorities in sports, compared to those that try, so few are that good. Now, the amount of minority cyclists is dwarfed by the amount of minorities playing these other big sports and therefore there are fewer potential cyclists that are black or Latino in the "pool" of potential world class cyclists. For that matter, there really aren't many American cyclists in general at the Tour De France as cycling is so huge in Europe and they have a much larger "pool" of potential world class cyclists to pick from. Think about it, it takes so many variables to be as good as Lance. So there may be what you condiser "a lot" of minority cyclists, but in reality they are so small in number and how many of these have the natural ability (Vo2 max, Watts etc) to be world class. Smaller pool, less likely. Now, if as many black athletes take up cycling as they do basketball, you will see the handful that have the genetic potential rise to the top. It is not racism at all as black athletes excel, it is about exposure, interest on the part of the participant and individual ability.
Still curiousmike mcmahon
Aug 10, 2001 1:03 PM
Just for my own amusement, are you posting under the names Slothlike and Lazyrider?
Jeez!! Sloth.9WorCP
Aug 10, 2001 8:23 PM
My observations are purely pedestrian. Buddy, I'm an armchair sociologist at best (at anything, really) so cut me some slack,Okay? I'll agree with you that most so called "minorities" do not venerate cycling, neither do whites in this country. We (are you white?!)love a fringe sport, like it or not. Hell, rollerblading is more popular in my neck of the woods. But, looking around Central Park and looking at the local racing clubs I think there is a pretty fair representation going on. That's all.

Please note, I never mentioned racism nor do I discount your observations (which lay outside scientific scrutiny also) but merely want to point out that there are all sorts of people participating in the sport whether you personally get to see them or not. Deal?
Just as importantly: WHERE ARE THE WOMEN!!!!Mike K
Aug 10, 2001 9:53 AM
Maybe even more than the race question (at least for those of us who are single & male), where are the women, damn it! White, black, Hispanic, Asian, etc, I'm not all that picky, I just want to see more women on bikes.
Our club rides of 30 to 40 riders are 95% male, takes all the fun out of wearing lycra :-)
Cycling is B.Y.O.W.dano
Aug 10, 2001 10:16 AM
B.Y.O.W. = Bring Your Own Women. I've found that a lot of women like cycling once they get into it, but I think they are less likely than men are to start cycling themselves. They rode bikes as kids, liked it, and are easily brought into the cycling fold if they can do it with someone they like and trust. I don't know if its the perceived lack of safety for a single woman on her own riding a bike on the roads or into the woods, women being more social creatures than men, or what. Obviously, there are women out there who cycle independantly, but not nearly as many women do this as men. My experience is that if you want a sweetheart who cycles, then first you find a sweetheart, and then you introduce her to cycling at a pace and a difficulty level that suits her. My fiance (whom I'm marrying next month) likes to cycle but doesn't do it alone. So I hammer myself at my pace with early morning rides while she sleeps in or I ride when she is busy doing something else. Then we both go out at her pace either some other time during the day or the next day when my legs are still recovering. That way I never feel like I'm not getting enough of a workout and she never feels like she is holding me back. We both have a great time. Maybe that's one reason why I'm marrying her!
No! No! dump her and marry me!!rollo tommassi
Aug 10, 2001 12:38 PM
So many thoughtful sentiments about women in cycling, Dano - thanks!! Your fiance is very lucky that you understand or sense the issues so well. Would that we all could be so lucky!!

You are very right about doing an activity with someone you can trust. This is more important than even I like to admit, and my best riding partners have always been guys. I trust them and they trust me - and we've been there for each other in times of crisis.
"If you REALLY loved me you'd already know how I feel" LOL (nm)Jon Billheimer
Aug 10, 2001 2:22 PM
Where the girls are...mr_spin
Aug 10, 2001 1:30 PM
I don't know where you ride, but my most frequent riding buddies are women. All are in fantastic shape and can definitely hang with the big boys. In fact, at least one can kick my ass on any given day, and some of the others do it at least once a year! That's okay--women don't seem to gloat as much as men do!

I think the key to finding women who ride is to look for triathletes. Triathlons seem to be a more supportive environment for women. Because they tend to train in the same places, especially the local pool, they all seem to know each other. Every time I ride with a triathlete, we always run across someone they know along the way.
They must be here in BoulderVlad the Impaler
Aug 10, 2001 2:22 PM
I see a lot of women out on the roads here. It may not be 50% but it's got to be at least 25% to 35%.
how about, Midnight Crits?Dog
Aug 10, 2001 10:18 AM
...for those of you who remember midnight basketball. Seriously, though, why not? (I hope someone gets the pun, too)

Dog
Because it's a european weenie sport...mk_42
Aug 10, 2001 10:33 AM
I'll concede that the economic forces and youth exposure play a part. My other sport is skiing and it's also mostly white for the same reasons. But I think, unlike golf or skiing, which are viewed as rich man's sports, cycling is not viewed as a rich man's sport, but a weenie sport. Let's face it, how many people outside the sport know how expensive it is? If you asked someone on the street what a good bike costs (or even a jersey) do you think they would guess anywhere near it? I don't think the main reason is that people can't join the sport, it's that they don't want to.

I think sports in general are about being strong and macho. Power, prowess, athleticism. And most people (some sports writers included) just don't consider cycling a real sport. It's considered weenie. And if we're going to wantonly stereotype I'd say as races go, whites are the weeniest of the bunch. Also generalizing (though this is from a real study from psych.) blacks and hispanics tend to be a lot more macho (they had a more technical name for it but that's what it came down to).
Also, as stereotyping goes europeans (particularly french and italian ones) are viewed as weenies or fags (espeially by the macho crowd). As coincidence would have it, most of europe is also white. The sport is european. We are looked at as weenies, fags, or whatever.

There are other sports in this category. Gymnastics and figure skating come to mind--those men are cut, but ask someone if they think they're gay. Even wresting which is all about macho gets the same treatent because they wear tights and roll around on the floor with other guys.

And by the way I'm white, born in eastern europe, moved to the US when I was 10.

_42
Because it's a european weenie sport...VictorChan
Aug 11, 2001 6:44 AM
You are on crack. Golf is a weenie sport. The only sport you can wear a sweater and a pair shoes and pants. Bicycling is a real man sport. You have to maintain 80% closes to your physical limit all the time. You have to do this for more than 3 hours. No rest.
Because of where the roads and trails are??Rich Clark
Aug 10, 2001 11:44 AM
Sure, I think all the economic and socio/cultural issues already addressed are a big part of it, too.

But there's a practical dimension. Neither road racing nor off-road competion are easy to pursue in most cities. Training for competitors in these sports tends to take place in locations to which most urban-dwellers would have to drive their bikes. So not only is it logistically difficult, but kids never even *see* these sports.

It should be pointed out that, while it's true that an unbalanced majority of cyclists in the US are white, it's also true that cycling interests almost nobody of any background. Suburban high schools full of white kids that play all the traditional sports and many that aren't, still have no cycling programs of any kind.

My son goes to one of those schools, and gets ridiculed because he commutes on his bike. And even though many of them now know who Lance Armstrong is -- meaning that professional cycling is actually on some of their radars for the first time -- according to my son it's a common belief among his peers (I'm *not* making this up!) that Lance got testicular cancer as a direct result of cycling.

So resistance to cycling as a worthwhile sport is strong even where there may not be as many economic barriers.

RichC
Come to L.A.mike mcmahon
Aug 10, 2001 1:23 PM
I'm not going to argue that the percentage of non-white roadies is proportional to the general population of L.A. County. However, I regularly see Black, Latino, and Asian riders in Southern California. Major Motion is a large club of primarily Black riders based out of the Crenshaw area. They have a big presence in the L.A. racing scene and currently have one of the hottest young racers in the country. I've also ridden with many people from Central America and South America. The "majority" does not exist in L.A. County any more, so diversity is present everywhere.
"Boyz ON Da Hoodz"E3
Aug 10, 2001 1:23 PM
Great discussion - until I butted in.
Why is Cycling So WHITE in the US?Car Magnet
Aug 10, 2001 2:29 PM
Shouldn't that be the question your asking? As a person who has spent many years abroad, I find fault with your question. If you go to Brazil, Honduras, Mexico, Cameroon, New Guinea, Mauritania, Zaire, Japan, Korea, Indonesia, Vietnam, China you will rarely see a white person on a bike (and if you do 10 out of 10 times they will look very scared). It amazes me that people forget there is a big world outside the US. Don't say that it's a pricey luxury that the whites can mostly afford, cause in most other countries it's a luxury to have a rusted bike with no tires that we wouldn't think twice about taking to the scrapyard.
Why is Cycling So WHITE in the US?jtolleson
Aug 10, 2001 3:55 PM
Tri, don't attribute such xenophobia and ignorance to me. I have lived and traveled in Mexico... I was just talking about my hometown and my club, along with what I see at major cycling events throughout the U.S. Sheesh. I guess I should just drop it.

I just thought it was an interesting disparity, especially since my city has sizeable latino and african-american populations. I guess some things are better left unsaid.
Why is Cycling So WHITE in the US?Car Magnet
Aug 10, 2001 5:21 PM
Hey, I know what you meant and I meant no offense, sorry. I'm not singling you or your post out. It's just that some of the replies are a little off kilter. To imply that we don't see people of color due to
"unaffordablity" is economic racism. Nobody says that you have to be able to afford a Merlin or Colnago to be into the sport or an active cyclist. Huffy, Pacific, Tommasso and Iron Horse are companies that put out affordable products albeit not the best. If you want to ride and your timetable and job allow it, then there are affordable bikes marketed for those individuals. I would say that we don't see more racial diversity in US cycling due to the racial distribution found within our states borders. ie: Maine 98.4% white, 0.4%black, 0.6% hispanic. Hypothetically speaking, I could ride a very long time without seeing a black or hispanic rider. But if I ride long enough I WILL see one and I WILL wave hello. On the other hand is Hawaii 33.4% white, 2.5% black, 61.8% asian/islander, 7.3% hispanic.
In reverse I could ride a long ways and not see a white rider.
To be honest, how many of us bike through East L.A, Chinatown, Harlem or Anacostia to see the minority rider?
Economic reason == posers.VictorChan
Aug 11, 2001 7:16 AM
Let's face this. If bicycling is all about money and economic reason, you would have bunch of posers!!!!