RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Carbon Stays on Alum Frame(28 posts)

Carbon Stays on Alum FrameTJohn
Aug 9, 2001 1:44 PM
I've noticed that more and more framemakers are coming out with this combo. Does anyone have any opinions as to how this type of frame compares with the best fully Aluminium frames??? I ask because Supergo has 2 of these combo frames for sale. The Cinelli Aliente is a little steep at $1400 but the Scattante Airplane at $750. Between these 2, is the Cinelli really worth twice as much as the Scattante?? Does anyone know if they are made in the same factory?? How do they compare with other big name frames like the Pinarello Prince or the Colango and Bianchi models??? Thanks.
TJ
re: Carbon Stays on Alum Framelook271
Aug 9, 2001 2:30 PM
Cyling+ (a British bike mag) reviewed the Cinelli and raved about it. I believe part of the difference in price is due to the Cinelli using a higher grade AL tubeset as opposed to the Scattante. Worth 2X as much? I would doubt it. Seems to me that that combo is a "best of both worlds" type of deal. I'd be interested in riding one myself.
Actually the Airplane and Altec2+ tubesets are virtuallyJ.S.
Aug 9, 2001 2:42 PM
identical( same alloying etc ) except Airplane uses the integrated headset headtube. I believe the Scattante frames are made by Cinelli and in my book are a hell of a deal. I"ve seen one in person and they look nice.
the storyI'llridethrushit
Aug 9, 2001 5:28 PM
cinelli is owned by Columbus.
Columbus tubing is used in both frames.
Both use Altec 2+ - which at this point is a bit outdated (at least at the Cinelli's price)
The only difference then, would be the headset and the workmanship.
Worth $700? Probably not. But then again, you can get some nice frames for that price. (Giant TCR comes to mind)
As far as carbon stays, some swear by em, saying the weight is reduced, as is harshness. Some say it's just a cheap and easy way of building the frames rear triangle. I tend to think it's a nice feature.
Hope that helps a bit.
check out this oh so pretty bike...dustin73
Aug 9, 2001 6:14 PM
Betcha that doesn't cost $750 (or even $1400...)look271
Aug 9, 2001 6:17 PM
Nice bike, though.
Betcha that doesn't cost $750 (or even $1400...)dustin73
Aug 9, 2001 7:46 PM
yeah, one of the guys who responded to my Italy or France post told me to go to those guys for a bike. not sure how much they cost...i guess depending on what the exchange rate is will determine price.
she is pretty..........Mike K
Aug 9, 2001 7:57 PM
Here's the url for the US importer - not a clue on pricing (I assume not very cheap)....
http://www.redroseimports.com/rri_carrera.html

Looks a lot like a Prince, doesn't it?
Betcha it doesmike mcmahon
Aug 9, 2001 8:06 PM
Last time I checked, this frame and fork was going for about $1200 at zonabici.com. I've had good luck with clothing orders at ZB, but I'm not sure I'd want to order a complete bike or even a frame from them. I would imagine that warranty issues would be a real hassle if anything ever went wrong.
I'm thinking...Hank
Aug 9, 2001 8:40 PM
that the Strong AL/carbon stay frame might be kind of nice for about the same money... (I'm assuming its $1000 frame only--the price listed for AL)
ok, just checkedHank
Aug 9, 2001 9:03 PM
the carbon stays bring it up to $1250 frame only.
I'm thinking...mike mcmahon
Aug 9, 2001 9:05 PM
I'm sure you're right. However, I think an alu frame with a carbon rear would be $1250. The price for a straight alu frame is $1000 and Strong charges $250 for the Columbus carbon rear. If I decide to go with alu when I buy another bike some time down the road, I'll give serious consideration to having Strong build it. However, I won't even be mentioning another bike to my wife for at least a couple years.
I'm thinking...Hank
Aug 9, 2001 9:17 PM
I've decided no new road bike until Shimano comes out with the next generation of Dura Ace. At which point I might just go all out high tech (since all my current rigs are so old school--4 hand built steel, three of which are lugged). Right now I'm thinking a custom compact frame with AL/carbon stays would be pretty nice.
I'm thinking...mike mcmahon
Aug 9, 2001 9:31 PM
Funny, I've been thinking the same thing. My current bikes are both Columbus steel (one lugged) with Chorus. It might be a nice change to throw in an alu frame, carbon rear, and (horrors) a Dura-Ace group. If I do go custom and don't go with Strong for the alu frame, I might consider going custom by Chris Huber, who works only in aluminum. I can't believe I'm already thinking about my next bike.
I'm thinking...Hank
Aug 9, 2001 9:40 PM
never heard of Chris Huber--I should check him out.
Link to Hubermike mcmahon
Aug 10, 2001 4:44 AM
http://www.huberbikes.com

He was in the East Bay. He either moved to Hawaii or is in the process of doing so.
not cheapHank
Aug 10, 2001 7:46 AM
not sure I could justify that kind of money on an AL frame -- unless it was a Ventana El Fuego or something.
Yeah, butmike mcmahon
Aug 10, 2001 8:11 AM
I think the listed frame price includes an Ouzo Pro fork.
I'm thinking...Mike K
Aug 9, 2001 9:35 PM
any thoughts/ideas on when big S may do that?
I'm thinking...Hank
Aug 9, 2001 9:40 PM
I've heard it won't be for at least two more years. I'm patient.
Betcha that doesn't cost $750 (or even $1400...)NoName
Aug 10, 2001 4:22 AM
Dude, visit www.zonabici.com......it cost about 1400(frame only)
They have any color you want. Check it out.
I think the Scattante is made by Fortalansutton
Aug 9, 2001 9:31 PM
I'm not sure, but the Fort Airplane uses the same Carve stays, fork and the workmanship looks the some.
alot of people are using those carve stays...RMN
Aug 10, 2001 5:07 AM
even Anvil! it's just a bolt on... look at the "connection" at the rear dropouts (screws!). bottom line, you can't tell who makes a bike by looking at pictures
the Scatante airplane is made in the Cinelli factory.keith m.
Aug 10, 2001 5:25 AM
the scatante zonal is made in taiwan.
the Scatante airplane is made in the Cinelli factory.capnjim01
Aug 10, 2001 7:07 AM
if you click on the link to wrench science in the photo gallery it will take you to frames. this is listed under multi tubes and the price is about $2300. go to this site and yor can pick frames and components, it will give you a price and weight of complete bikes. fun to play with different combinations.
Where is the Link to "Wrench Science"????TJohn
Aug 10, 2001 9:37 AM
can't find the link in the photo gallery. ?????. Thanks.
Where is the Link to "Wrench Science"????wes
Aug 10, 2001 10:01 AM
http://www.wrenchscience.com
Where is the Link to "Wrench Science"????capnjim01
Aug 10, 2001 10:15 AM
click on photo gallery and then click on the flashing ad at the top of the page