RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Trek 5200 vs. Litespeed Classic(11 posts)

Trek 5200 vs. Litespeed ClassicDWM
Aug 9, 2001 12:28 PM
I am going to purchase either a Trek 5200 or a Litespeed Classic in the next few days and I was hoping I could get some advice from more seasoned riders than myself. I enjoyed both during test rides and am fortunate that standard frames are a good fit in either case. Typical rides are rolling with a few large hills near the end, 20-30 miles two or three nights a week and 75-125 once every week or two. Any advice?

I am concerned about the durability of the Trek frame. Should I be?

Thanks for your help.
Apples vs. Orangesgrzy mnky
Aug 9, 2001 12:47 PM
Both are good examples of their material and construction. Nothing too fancy or unique, but solid products. If you can't tell the difference then it won't matter (to you) which one you get. However, both designs/materials have their fans and critics. It might be worth holding off on your purchase until you can decide which one you like better. I had a 5200, but am now riding a Ti bike - to me the differences were amazing. Mostly it's b/c carbon has the often quoted "dead" feel. You should be able to score a good deal since it's getting close to the end of the selling season for road bikes.
Apples vs. ROTTEN ApplesD'Ohhh!!!
Aug 9, 2001 12:53 PM
bring it on Litespeed bashers/disciples.... haven't had a good knock-down-drag-out in awhile
DWMSlothike
Aug 9, 2001 4:06 PM
I have had a Classic for over 4 years now and I love it more than the day I bought it. For me, it is the bike that will always bring a smile to my face. We all have memories of our favorite things, be it a car or bike. This is it for me. The Classic will be more durable, no question. Titanium is bulletproof. The Classic is a great all arounder that does all things well with unbelievable comfort. It climbs well, sprints well, lets you do a century with no real shock on the body. You really don't have to worry about the finish or scratches as they can be sanded out yourself. The Trek is a fine bike, but if you are like me, and your going to spend this kind of cash, you want something that will be the most durable with no sacrifice in performance or weight. The Trek doesn't have a replaceable derailleur hanger so if you crash or bend it, you need a new bike. At least that is what I read about it in a professional review. They also complain of the "dead" feel which I noticed in a test ride of CF. Very comfortable though and responsive but "dead". Plus you won't look like a Lance groupie as well. People, don't kill me for saying that, but many many people who never really rode are going out and buying these Treks because of Lance which is a good thing. That is why Lance is getting so rich, because his winning the Tours work for sales. I am a big Lance fan, but have been riding too long to go out a buy a bike for that reason. Before Lance starting winning, no one here can say that the Treks were discussed as much as they are now. That is a fact but it doesn't take away from it being a good bike though, just played out. Yes, there are many Litespeeds on the road, but they are not anywhere near the size company Trek is. Litespeeds sell the most Titanium frames for a reason and build them for many other companies as well. My bike is 17.5lbs with Dura Ace. It looks new when I clean it up and I have 10,000 miles plus on it. Now that you have ridden it, you kinda know what it feels like. However, when you get back from your first big ride, you will truly appreciate it. The classic hardly changes year to year which is the main reason why I bought it. The new classic is the same as mine except the new steerer size and an engraving on the bottom bracket. So the ride of the new one and mine is identical. Look, the novelty of me having a new $3500 plus bike has warn off and like in the past, I should be getting bored and the bug to want a new bike. Yes, I am eying up a Vortex nest year bit I will never get rid of my CLASSIC.
Hope this helps
GLG
DWMDWM
Aug 9, 2001 4:19 PM
Thanks for taking the time - your message speaks mountains, particularly the first few lines. I know a lot of Trek owners and no-one speaks in those tones about their bike. Your input is very helpful.

Doug
DWMcycleguy
Aug 9, 2001 6:21 PM
"no-one speaks in those tones about their bike: ie Trek 5200 Read the reviews on this site about the 5200
When I bought my Litespeed..............STEELYeyed
Aug 9, 2001 7:14 PM
I actually went to the bike shop to test ride a Trek CF,but ended up buying an Arenberg/Ultegra Triple,after testing both bikes, I just could not leave without the LS,Arenberg is the bottom of the LS line,I can't imagine how much better the higher end models could be,but I love my Arenberg,just my opinion though,others may differ.
STEELYeyed
Steel, the other bikes inSlothlike
Aug 9, 2001 8:58 PM
the Litespeed line are more expensive, including my Classic but not "better". They are all made for different purposes. The Arenberg is their entry point, but I have only heard good things about them. The Tuscany is said to be the best value and the Classic you are only paying for a little more worksmanship and finsih options. However, the geometry is the same in the Arenberg, Tuscany, Classic and Vortex and they all have a similar ride. The Ultimate and Palmares are made to be stiffer. There may be subtle differences but even the 6/4 titanium with the same geometry is gonna give a similar ride to the 3/4. I wouldn't mind the Vortex as my next bike, but I am worried it may be a little anticlimactic as I don't think there will be that much of a ride difference than my Classic. It will be new and a little lighter, but my Classic is 17.5 lbs and too much lighter at my size isn't a good thing. I think Litespeed could do away with some of the bikes in their line but I think they have experimented so much over the years that they created a need to keep many of the bikes in their line to "justify" their functions. The Arenberg, Tuscany and Classic could really be one bike for all intent and purposes if they chose to do so. The Vortex could remain for the lighter more exoctic 6/4 titanium and the Ultimate and Palmares could me made into one bike as well if they chose to do so. All in all they are awesome bikes though and shouldn't be criticized so much as people feel they are a marketing machine. When I bought my Classic, there weren't that many Litespeeds on the road and few criticisms on this board. But through the years they ahave been accused of "selling out", whatever that means by becoming some big bike company with some fantasy that their quality has diminished. This ideology is common though when any company's product catches on . People assume quality goes down when production increases which is a fallacy.
Im am rambling but thought this may help someone in their decision to buy a Litespeed.
Regards
GLG
Litespeed is better IMOgirodebirdman
Aug 10, 2001 12:27 AM
I ride a Vortex, until I had to sell it temporarily to make ends meet (I will be buying another when I graduate from college in a few months). I test rode a 5200 at one time, it was okay, but just "dead" feeling, not too lively. I really like the ride of steel, and ti is very much similiar, only lighter. As far as ride quality, I would say that a Look KG281 is better than the Trek, in my experiences, if you want to go with carbon. Those interested in ride quality should look elsewhere, unless they like that "riding a block of wood" feel that carbon, especially mono like the 5200, gives you. Of course, when I had my headset changed over on my Vortex, the guy at the Trek shop told me "you should have bought a 5200, it must be the best cause Lance wins on it". Don't listen to that crap, people who try to sell you a bike because of who rides it are just trying to make a sale, are grouppies with no identity of their own, or in the case of this guy, doesn't even ride. Durability and ride quality are all in favor of the Litespeed. Honestly, the ride doesn't get much better, and this is coming from a guy who has owned some pretty highly-regarded steel frames.
re: Trek 5200 vs. Litespeed Classicjaybird
Aug 10, 2001 4:39 AM
Wait until October, The new Ultimate will have carbon seat stays which will make it ride a little smoother without losing any stiffness. FYI the Palmares will be discontinued, perhaps you can get one of them on clearance...
re: Trek 5200 vs. Litespeed ClassicDuane Gran
Aug 10, 2001 5:41 AM
I test rode a Litespeed Classic when I decided to purchase the Trek 5200. At the time I could get better components, dollar for dollar. That may be different now. Both rode very well, but something about the carbon really apppealed to me. I like the feel of the ride. Your description of your riding style seems like mostly casual use. Durability shouldn't be a problem with either bike. If you plan on racing there are some factors to consider, but for general riding both are going to be great and you can expect to ride the bike 10 years from now.