RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bicycling Mag sucks...(17 posts)

Bicycling Mag sucks...Lou M
Aug 9, 2001 10:26 AM
or am I alone in thinking this? couldn't be. I am a new subscriber and I regret it, it is not the money that bothers me. I don't find the content interesting, only like some of the pics. I am sticking to procycling, cyclesport and velonews. I rather pay the extra for the European mags.

What does everybody else think?
Why did you subscribe?J.S.
Aug 9, 2001 10:34 AM
You wouldn't buy a bike without checking it out first would you?
It always has, and it always will...Cima Coppi
Aug 9, 2001 10:40 AM
The Euro mags are the best. Its too bad Winning Magizine couldn't make it in the world. Winning had great photography, race reports, and team news.

CC
correction: it was once good...John Daley
Aug 9, 2001 10:50 AM
back in the 80s. Lou M, where haveyou been? people have been slagging Bicycling here for a looooong time.
correction: it was once good...Lou M
Aug 9, 2001 11:14 AM
I agree, it was once good, I enjoyed it more than 10 years ago, then again I was probably too naive to know better.
re: Bicycling Mag sucks...MikeC
Aug 9, 2001 11:16 AM
"Bicycling" is like TV news. It's almost free (less than a buck an issue by some subscription plans), it doesn't take long to get through, the headlines often don't have much to do with the story, and it leans toward sensationalism.
I subscribe to "Bicycling", and for fifteen minutes or so, once a month, I enjoy it the same way I occasionally watch TV news. Just don't take it too seriously, and don't get all your information about your community and the world from it.
Or, maybe "Bicycling" is like a candy bar... ;-)
open yer eyesseamus
Aug 9, 2001 11:33 AM
Yeah, Winning was so fricking great that it went right out of business. Cyclesport and ProCycling are great but they don't come from this country.

What's your grip with Bicycling? They run stories with real advice, like Tom Steels tips for sprinting, Franco Ballerini on the flats, Tyler Hamilton on climbing. Stuff you can use. What, are you guys such a bunch of bad-ass Cat 3's that you don't need this sort of thing anymore? All cyclesport ever does is cute little interviews on what kind of car Michele Bartoli drives, and occasionally they test a Litespeed on the Liege Bastogne Liege racecourse, as if any of us will ever get to do that. But they sure have pretty pictures, don't they.

I like Cyclesport and ProCycling too, for the insider racing stuff that US mags don't cover, because US readers don't care. But Bicycling is the only mag out there actually offering useful stuff I can really use, and I can afford more than one mag subscription.

Get off your elitest high horses.
I like itColnagoFE
Aug 9, 2001 12:07 PM
It's cheap. Marginally entertaining articles and lots of pix of stuff to buy. Great crapper reading material. Let's be honest here...it's only like $10 a year. How much does VeloSnooze or any of theose European mags go for? Lots more. I think Bicycling is a good value for the $. No great literature, but not as bad as everyone says it is.
I like itcycleguy
Aug 9, 2001 6:47 PM
Well said. I have been a reader of Bicycling since the early 70's. The only place I knew of that I could get Tour info. I was not aware of any other magazines at the time for cycling. I also have many past issues that go back to 95 etc. A very different mag. then. Enjoyed rereading an artice about Lance just as he signed with USPS and had not raced yet. Times change and publications come and go. With the internet, many that carry most of the same thing as their print version, hundreds of channels on the TV, they are now all fighting for what time is left in our lives. Bicycling mag. is just another way to spend some free moments in simple pleasure. More to the new rider, yet still offers insight from those who live and die cycling. I can always find something that I did not know or wondered about. Or sometimes just a good laugh. Like the add in the bottom right on page 78. Alone worth the price of this issue. Shades of ZZ Top. LOL
I like itChris Zeller
Aug 10, 2001 8:37 AM
Bicycling isn't bad, you just have to understand the audience. Bicycling is trying to be the one generalist mag that caters to the beginner-enthusiast roadie and off road crowd, people like me who do lots of types of cycling and aren't overly concered about racing. Sure the Lance story is great, but I couldn't care less about inside info on race teams, stats or results. If you want that go read the other mags. What I want is info that will make my riding better and more enjoyable. Training tips, technique, and gear reviews. They do a pretty good job of that. To those who think there is not enough road biking info, I will refer you to the title, "Bicycling" not "Road Bicycling" not "Road Racing Insiders Forum" etc.

My only criticism of the mag is that like most consumer magazines, the mag is overly obsessed with gear. This comes in part from the marketing engines that drive most magazines through advertizing. Reading these mags always make you think that you need new gear. Instead, what most people need is just to get out and push themselves to train wether its on their Sora equipped KHS or Campy equipped LS. I am as much a victim of this as anyone. Why the hell am I sitting here writing this?

Get out and ride!
re: Bicycling Mag sucks...Miklos
Aug 9, 2001 2:06 PM
No, I don't think you are alone in this, however, I don't agree with you :) I will say that I liked it better several years ago before they took the "10 second sound byte" approach. Yesterday I got my first copy of Velo News and was greatly dissapointed. I don't race so I don't really care about race coverage. Beyond the race coverage, there just isn't much content. I actually prefer Bicycling magazine and will be canceling Velo News. If I was a racer, it would without a doubt be the other way around.

Miklos
re: Very Well Said (NM)gmagee
Aug 9, 2001 2:37 PM
The best magazine...memoryLane
Aug 9, 2001 2:36 PM
I loved Winning. I don't really think it was better than ProCycling or Cycle Sport, but it was nice. The thing I miss most is the annual Tour de France issue. Does anyone else remember that? It was printed on this GIGANTIC paper, at least double the size of a normal magazine. Stage by stage coverage etc. They had these great 2 page photos that were almost posters. If only Cycle Sport would blow up their TDF issue... Man I'd be in heaven. Sadly, I had 3 of them and lost them somehow. C'est la Vie...
The best magazine...jschrotz
Aug 9, 2001 10:09 PM
As much as I like Winning, the best cycling magazine out there was Road Bike Action. Real bike reviews instead of repackaged promo materials and useful racing and training tips that actually showed some respect for the reader's intelligence. Bicycling used to be ok, but now it caters to readers who couldn't be bothered to read anything more than three lines long. Winning was outstanding for race coverage though. Nobody could touch them there, esp. with the big Tour special issues.
You're not alone, just .....coonass
Aug 9, 2001 3:44 PM
about 2 years behind times.....(this was about the time they changed to format to an 'off-road' mag...limiting the road bike info to about 3-4 pages...I have an off-road bike too, but there must be a zillion (+/- a few) mags for off-roaders...I cancelled my sub with a notation that " as a road biker, this mag has nothing to my interest."
btw...Rodale Press has a teriffic track record of screwing up EVERY publication they're associated with...(remember 'Preventive'mag...it turned into a 'Senior's Walking' mag...)
It's all recycled articles from years past... Zzzz! (nm)Tig
Aug 9, 2001 4:16 PM
<*))))<
Anybody else remember the Tarantula?Spoke Wrench
Aug 9, 2001 6:46 PM
Years ago, Bicycling Magazine had this monster machine that they clamped bike frames into which accurately measured frame stiffness when a load was applied to a crank arm. They did wear testing on things like chains too. Back then they had some actual objective content.

I sometimes think it would be cool if they would do controlled tests of something like chain lubes. Of course, since there are bound to be winners and losers, that's a good way for the magazine to make one friend and ten enemies. Since most of their revenue comes from advertising, I doubt we'll see that anytime soon.