RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions on CNC stems ie:3T, Cinelli, Deda(11 posts)

Opinions on CNC stems ie:3T, Cinelli, DedaBig Mig
Aug 7, 2001 12:22 PM
What are your opinions on the current crop of cnc'ed stems on the market such as 3T, Cinelli, Deda, Easton, Thompson or Stella Azzura. Any troubles? stiff or flexy? heavy or light? looks good or bad? any comments on this subject would be appreciated.
Most of these stems are actually forgedJ.S.
Aug 7, 2001 2:21 PM
in a process called "near net shape forging" which results in a very strong part with the classic forging grain alignment. The machining is simply for final cosmetic shaping and fasteners.
They have models that are forged, and some cnc,edBig Mig
Aug 7, 2001 3:29 PM
All of the companies I listed have a completely cnc,ed stem such as the the Deda Newton and the Cinelli Solido. I know about the forged stems. I would like to know about riders experience's with the cnc'ed stems only.
The company I work for is thinking about designing a road stem, so any imput would help.

Thanks.
CNC'ing Partzgrzy mnky
Aug 7, 2001 3:46 PM
Well, CNC'd everthing was a big trend in MTB's a while back - until the stuff started breaking. You're ultimately going to wind up with a stronger, lighter stem if you start with a forging. I'd say you're about 5 years too late and that the market opportunity has essentially passed, but that's just my opinion, I could be wrong. (Credit to Mr. Dennis Miller of "I don't want to get off on a rant here, but..." fame).
Forgot it, you guys are lameBig Mig
Aug 8, 2001 6:55 AM
So you guys never heard of cnc'ed road stems? they seem to be all the rage. Look at the riders in the Tour, 99% of them had a stem that was cnc'ed. Telling me that they are forged or Im 5 years to late, do you guys read magazines, watch OLN or get catalogs from Colorado Cyclist or Excel? If you do, you'll see stem that are cnc'ed. Maybe I should have asked, How do people like their Deda Newton, Cinelli Solido or ITM Millennium.
Don't be a Dopegrzy mnky
Aug 8, 2001 9:09 AM
You asked for people's opinions so don't complain when you don't get the answers that you want to hear. It makes you look pretty stupid. Just b/c "all the guys are doing it" doesn't make it right. You got some free engineering level advice - don't be a whiner. If you had an engineering back ground you wouldn't have asked the question in the first place. So much for me being a kinder gentler grz mnky.

Based on what I now know I think you should go ahead and CNC a bunch of beautiful stems anodize them all purple, in spite of what anyone thinks, burry yourself in inventory and take a bath in them.

This is what you wanted to hear right?
Don't be a DopeB1
Aug 9, 2001 8:12 AM
You're right, maybe I was too hard on the post. I do have have a enginnering degree and have designed products that you probably have seen or used. By asking someone's opinion on a product, Im not asking for design help "per say" Im asking about likes and dislikes. The stems that I listed are 100% cnc'ed, sorry that I know that, but others don't, I figured that their are some people who are educated on what products they use on their bike.
Im sorry if I offended anyone.
OKgrzy mnky
Aug 9, 2001 9:01 AM
Well educated users know a little bit about CNC vs. forgings and most of us avoid the former based on the MTB experience. Sometimes CNC is the way to go - especially for prototyping. Last CNC bike stuff that I worked on was for Fox Racing Shocks - the run rate was something like $1 per minute of machine time on 7000 series alu. No wonder the rear shocks retail for $350 a pop. CNC has a bad reputation, and justifiably so, since the grain of the metal is cut instead of being aligned. Most folks know that rolled threads on a bolt are stronger than cut on a lathe for this very reason.

Good luck on your market research - it's important to know what the market thinks about something before you go ahead.
My opinion: They look very nice but are expensive and...Bruno S
Aug 8, 2001 7:52 AM
from a manufacturting point of view forging them is better. By forging you will get a stronger stem (better grain alignment) which is also much cheaper to make. After forging to shape, the holes and treads have to be machined or CNC machined. Now, there is nothing telling you can't forge them first then CNC machine them just for the look. Maybe thats how they do it in very high end stems. But $140 for a stem?
Excuse my ignorance, but ...bianchi boy
Aug 8, 2001 10:56 AM
What in tarnation does CNC mean?
Do you, Yahoo?Bruno S
Aug 8, 2001 11:15 AM
http://www.digitalmachine.com/cnc.htm