RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


GT vs. Trek for Aluminum Road Bike(11 posts)

GT vs. Trek for Aluminum Road BikeGTvsTrekRoadBike
Aug 7, 2001 12:02 PM
I am trying to chose between the GT ZR 5.0 and the Trek 1000T for a new aluminum road bike. Both bikes have the Shimano Sora group that will be upgraded to my Ultegra group the moment the bike comes through the door. Both bikes are about the same in weight, (I couldn't tell a difference)and both are made from good aluminum material. Both have cro-mo steel froks. The Trek may have a slight advantage with the rims though. The GT comes with aluminum stem and seat post, the Trek doesn't. Bicycling Magazine (free plug) spotlighted the GT ZR 5.0 in their product review section this month. They said the GT frame is very worthy of upgrades and that it handles great. The GT fork is among the best in it's class, they also said. I can get either bike for the same price. I like the looks of the red GT ZR 5.0 with the trademark "triple triangle" but I would like to hear from some "experts" out there on what you think is the better bicycle.
re: GT vs. Trek for Aluminum Road Bikefuzzybunnies
Aug 7, 2001 12:13 PM
If you like to have possibly be able to warrenty the frame in the future I would recommend going with the trek. GT is in bankruptcy(sp?)
and the newest buyer isn't required to warrenty any old stuff. TTFN
Warranties...jtolleson
Aug 7, 2001 1:36 PM
Purchasers take both assets and liabilities; unless the company dissolves, except warranty coverage.
InaccurateDCP
Aug 8, 2001 5:35 AM
Business purchasers often only assume selected liabilities. While consumer warranties are sometimes assumed, it is far from automatic. As I understand it, Schwinn/GT filed for bankruptcy to clear out liabiities so that the buyer, Huffy, could get the assets clear of unwanted liabilities. This is pretty typical in a distressed company sale. Even if a company does not assume consumer warranties, however, it many honor them anyway if they intend to continue the brand name for integrety of the brand. Still, it's uncertain and a risk.
Inaccuratejtolleson
Aug 8, 2001 7:19 AM
I don't mind you sharing your opinion, but using the header "inaccurate" is, well, inaccurate. And my statement of the law is correct (I've been in practice for 13 years, how about you?)
Didn't mean to offendDCP
Aug 8, 2001 8:26 AM
Sorry, but your statement really is inaccurate, or maybe I just didn't understand what you meant. Schwinn/GT is deeply in debt and has been looking for a buyer for some time. Huffy agreed to purchase some of the Schwinn/GT assets, but subject to Schwinn/GT filing bankruptcy to wash it of unwanted liabilities, like enormous amounts owed vendors apparently well in excess of the value of the Schwinn/GT assets. I would be pleased to engage in a legal analysis discussion with you if you want, but I prefer that it not be here. You can e-mail me at dcp@mbhtexas.com if you would like to do so.
Didn't mean to offendjtolleson
Aug 8, 2001 12:13 PM
The liabilities which can be discharged in the bankruptcy proceedings will not include warranty liabilities. That's the only part I was clarify, and I have no real desire to engage in a drawn out discussion. But those hyperparanoid misstatements of law (don't buy a GT or a Schwinn because you won't have a warranty) are floating all over the internet and become the biking/warranty equivalent of urban legend.
re: GT vs. Trek for Aluminum Road BikeLardog
Aug 7, 2001 12:32 PM
Man, if you've got yourself a grouppo, forget wasting money on a fully assembled completely marginal rig. That Sora stuff won't even be giveawayable used. Total and complete waste of money. If you're going to do it, do it right, get the best frame you can squeeze out of the wallet, everything else is upgradeable. If you're stuck on Trek for some reason or another, 2300. Forget GT. If you're going to go aluminum, I cannot recommend anything better than a Klein.
re: GT vs. Trek for Aluminum Road BikeTrekMan
Aug 7, 2001 2:12 PM
I did what Lardog said and got a Trek 2300 frame set built it up myself. It worked out cheaper to do it this way than get the full bike, and no Icon or Rolf in sight!
re: GT vs. Trek for Aluminum Road Bikekostic
Aug 7, 2001 9:15 PM
After many years with Cannondale and broken frames, I now race a GT 2.0 and it totally rules. As for GT going bankrupt, I don't know but I question it considering that they recently bought Syncros.
re: GT vs. Trek for Aluminum Road BikeRich Clark
Aug 8, 2001 5:21 AM
Well, it's not really a matter of opinion; it's been all over the news for the past several weeks. Here's one article; a little searching should find a bunch more: http://biz.yahoo.com/apf/010802/schwinn_suitors.html

As to the wisdom of buying a GT now, personally, I wouldn't worry too much if I liked the frame and it fit. I might care more if we were talking about a high-end frame. But it's extremely likely that whoever buys the company will be obligated to honor existing warranties.

I also agree with the people who wonder why the owner of an Ultegra groupset would bother buying a complete low-end bike. I'd be looking for a frame, a fork, and a good local wheelbuilder, myself.

RichC