RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


what to buy? a trek 5200 & litespeed tuscany(14 posts)

what to buy? a trek 5200 & litespeed tuscanyzero1
Aug 7, 2001 7:50 AM
i am really having a hard time deciding which of these 2 bikes to buy they are both comparable in price using ultegra...i am not a racer..but i do want a quality performance bike that will be with me for a long time...i usually do ride anywhere from 40 miles to 100 miles...i ride 3 to 4 days per wk...any help would be greatly appreciated....thanks
re: what to buy? a trek 5200 & litespeed tuscanyjaybird
Aug 7, 2001 8:10 AM
go with Ti for the longevity, it will maintain all of its characteristics essentially forever... The tuscany is a great ride and a great value. I just ordered one with Chorus and cant wait to ride it... I'm sure you will see a lot of people bash litespeed, but just remember, opinions are like A$$holes, we all have them and they all stink...
what do you currently ride?ET
Aug 7, 2001 8:14 AM
That might help with geometry considerations, which are a bit different on the two, with the Trek having a bigger drop to the bars, everything else the same. Which sizes in each were you considering?

Have you had a long test-ride in each? Some like the deadening feel of carbon, some don't. You say you want a bike to be with you for a long time. The same bike or the warranty bike? Some claim the OCLV likely will not last (although if you're not riding it hard that may not apply to you), but apparently the replacement warranty will.

There was a thread a week or two ago on the Trek 5200 (or was it the 5900?) vs. the Litespeed Ultimate. You may want to go back and check what they said there.
what do you currently ride?zero1
Aug 7, 2001 9:41 AM
i just had a derosa stolen...i ride a 50 cm or a 51cm...i have test rode a trek 2300 and a trek 5200...have not tested a litespeed...there is not a dealer in macon, ga.i have been talking to a bike shop in va about the litespeed....what is the warranty on the litespeed? thanks, gary
what do you currently ride?jaybird
Aug 7, 2001 10:37 AM
lifetime on the LS...
in your sizes, the geometries of the two are similarET
Aug 7, 2001 10:53 AM
So fit isn't the key here. Take each out on a long ride over varying terrain. The choice is yours (as if it were ever ours :-)).
clarificationET
Aug 8, 2001 7:01 AM
The geometries of the Trek (50 and 52) are very close to those of the Derosa (50 and 51), but not the LS. Based on top tubes, it seems like there's only one size LS that is comparable, namely the 51. Is that what you tested? The LS's seat tube angle is almost one full degree lower than that of the other two, meaning you'll probably have to adjust the seat on the LS way forward, over a cm (unless you adjusted it way back for the others. Going to the next higher size gives a top tube quite a bit longer than yours, but after the seat adjustment forward, it would bring it back close. The 51 LS standover is also higher (76 cms vs. 74 and 75.4 for the Treks, and probably a cm higher than the 50 Derosa but comparable to the 51), bringing up the bars for the same number of spacers and stem. Don't know which you prefer. The 53 LS standover would be way higher (77.6).

I recommend checking where you are currently on your rails, as either the LS will be better-fitting or the other two will be better-fitting.
Why...PsyDoc
Aug 7, 2001 11:08 AM
...a bike shop in Virginia? Colorado Cyclist has the Tuscany on sale right now for $1499.00. I bought a Fuji Team for my wife last year from Colorado Cyclist and they were great! I have not had any bad experiences with CC. By the way, I live down in Valdosta, GA. I test rode a 5200 at a shop in Macon several months ago and I did not like the geometry/ride of the 5200. I am currently riding a 1992 Merlin Extralight and looking to upgrade to a 2002 model. Most of the 2002 Litespeeds will have an integrated headset with the exception of the Ghisallo and the Classic...or so I was told by Litespeed.
what do you currently ride?cycleguy
Aug 7, 2001 9:05 PM
I ride a 2000 5200 with Ultegra. I put my feet into the pedal and it responds without asking why. The best return on my effort I have ever had. If thats what you want, you can't go wrong with the 5200! Effort spent, speed returned, pure and simple!!
fit?Hank
Aug 7, 2001 8:16 AM
which one fits better? The 57cm Tuscany would fit me spot on, but I'm between sizes on the OCLV. For long term durability and resistance to the sort of damage not coevered by warranties, I'd probably lean toward the Litespeed. (both are nice - and Lance has won on both) But fit should come first.
Fit settled the same question for mePdxMark
Aug 7, 2001 9:44 AM
I was leaning toward the 5200, but I needed a top tube/seat tube combo of about 56 cm each. The Tuscany (with Chorus - which I absolutely love) came close. The 5200/5900 frames were off from my square shape, so I'd need some odd seat tube/stem/etc. combo to get the right fit. I've had the Tuscany since April.
Ride em, and decide..GregR
Aug 7, 2001 9:07 AM
I have put some miles on the Trek, and a Litespeed (classic, which is very comparable to the tuscany).

For me, the Trek hands down is a better ride. CF is stiffer, stronger and lighter. Don't get me wrong, the Litespeed is a fine ride, but Trek has a real winner with the OCLV design.

I had never ridden a CF bike before the Trek, and I was really impressed with the way the bike rides. I would reccomend it to anyone.

G
Agree with most posters, Ride & decide.......Len J
Aug 7, 2001 11:18 AM
I have posted before that I went out to buy a Titamium bike any test rode several. While they were setting up another Ti the LBS suggested that I take out a Trek Carbon. I loved it. Ended up buying a 5500.

Chainreaction.com has a great article on testriding a bike that you ought to read.

They are both great bikes for the money, I don't think you can go wrong with either, Test ride & go with the one that "speaks" to your heart.

Len
Don't kill me for my opinion,Slothlike
Aug 7, 2001 7:36 PM
but although the Trek is a nice bike, the titaniium will definitely be more bulletproof and durable. Without question. I have a problem spending that much cash on a material that is more delicate. A crash or small crack in a CF frame can lead to disaster. Titanium is hard to kill. I would love to have a CF frame, but $$$ is an issue and I think ti gives you a balanced ride with unbelievable durability. I past on Colnago steel for the ti as I rusted through other steel rides in the bottom bracket. The reviews of the Trek weren't that great in the recent Bicycling magazine and I hear about the "dead", "wooden" feel all the time. Some may not mind this and it is very light, but my Litespeed has been so low maintenance and bulletproof. I have known several people with CF frames that have failed. If I had $$$ to burn, I would add a CF to my stable, but until then, I will ride ti. I have a Fondriest steel as well and even good steel will rust eventually no matter how finicky I am. Sweat and regular wear and tear breaks down the paint and leaves it susceptable. I hardly wash my Litespeed. Just my opinion. If you get the Trek, please don't get the Postal colors, you'll look like a groupie for sure if that means anything to you. I am proud of Lance, but I assure you that Trek is selling these bikes to more impressionable riders rather than guys like myself who have been riding for almost 20 years now. I don't mean this to sound arrogant or pompous but I find it to be true.
Later