RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Need Help(26 posts)

Need HelpSean E
Aug 5, 2001 6:39 PM
First time on this board all together and need a little help and guidence. About 10 years ago I was seriously into mountian biking and called it quits. Today I'm more into the on-road scene and want to race. My pocket can only fork out $600 to $800 at the most for the bike (Not including, Helmet, Jeresy, Shorts, Shoes ,etc.) What, "In your guys opinion" is the best racing bike for that money? Throw more than one bike at me if you wish. Just need to know whats hot and whats not so when I go down to a bike shop I want get screwed. Just want a firm grasp of this before I even think about going down to a local bike store. Oh yeah, been looking at the Trek 1200. Whats the price on that thing and where does it rank? Thanks for the help guys
re: Need HelpVictorChan
Aug 5, 2001 6:48 PM
Although I have been riding road bikes for years but only recently I forked out some serious cash to get a good road bike. Anyway, you really need to spend about $1000 to $1800 to get a decent racing road bike, unless you buy it used. If you want to know, I have a Raleigh R600 year model 2001. $850 on sale at my local bike shop. Normally, the bike would cost about $1000.
Do ThisTi
Aug 5, 2001 7:58 PM
Don't even consider going to a bike store!!! Get your measurements and fit and then purchase a bike from someone online via this site or www.mtbr.com.

$600.00 will not get you anything you would dare trust in a race. You should try to get Ultegra or Chorus at minimum and try to stay away from Aluminum frames.

You may get lucky and find someone who's trying to dump a 3 year old bike that been hanging in their garage. Make them an offer.
Don't do thisGregJ
Aug 5, 2001 8:27 PM
Aluminum has more than proven itself as a durable, eminately rideable frame material. It is probably the material of choice in most of the best value oriented bicycles. If you are on a budget, you should not hesitate to look at bicycles with either Shimano 105 or Campy Daytona parts.
What?Mike K
Aug 5, 2001 8:48 PM
If you have never really been in to the road scene and have been out of riding in general for the last 10 years the last thing you want to do is go to a classifieds and drop around a grand on a cat in a bag.
Go to a few stores, there are plenty of acceptable bikes out there for under a grand (especially with fall and '02 models coming). Look at some of the stuff from Trek, GT, Cannondale, etc. Most of the bikes in this price range will have Shimano Sora components, try to see if you can get something with Shimano 105 or Campy Veloce instead.
So far as the "don't buy Aluminum" crap, most of the bikes in the tour this year were aluminum, only one team even rode a Ti bike in the tour (actually Ti main triangle and partially CF rear end, Colnago's CT1). You are a lot better off on a good aluminum or steel frame that fits and is within your price range than with some misguided elitist desire to add the letters Ti to something your ride while sacrificing fit and components or credit line in the process.
You will have no problems finding a good ride in either steel or aluminum in this price range. It will not be a top of the line race bike (but you will get about 80 to 90% of the performance and a little extra weight). The biggest thing to do is to make sure the bike fits, which is a hell of a lot more important that what its made out of in the first place.
What?Sean E
Aug 5, 2001 9:32 PM
Mike, thats the best damn response Ive heard yet. You took what I had to offer and made something of it. Thats a true response and I appreciate it. Comming in here and saying I have $800 to blow and then being Knocked down with the fact that a decent bike cost $1000 to $1800 is pretty damn depressing. I figured a $800 bike would work with nice components. Forking out $1800 on the other hand sure as hell wont make you a better rider, "I'm not that stupid" Talent comes first before blowing that kinda money. In the town I live in we hold a yearly race called the, "Redlands Classic" maybe some of you have heard of it. My uncle 4 years in a row Won and beat guys riding on $1500+ bikes on his $400. Some of them being your Cat 3 "Pro" Riders. So basically thats what I'm racing for, just are yearly race here in town and training off the side. If I decide to take it to higher expectations, I will fork out the money if I thank I'm good for it.

As far as this Aluminium BS goes, I agree with mike. Damn near everyone I saw ride the Tour this year was aluminum. Except for your Time Trial Bikes, which is a different story. I'm not exactly new to the scene but word of advise..... If a newbie comes in here and asks the same questions as I did, its simple replys like some of yours that would make them want to quit. Mike on the other hand and the guy after (Sorry forgot your name) :) seem to take that into consideration. Thanks guys. Anymore replys would be awesome. Thanks a bunch
<b>you elitests</b>FOOLS
Aug 6, 2001 6:35 AM
If you know everything about bikes then why did you ask a lame ass question then knock peoples responses. You seem to be an expert at bikes (and suddenly racing) so why are you dumbing up your questions. Aluminum is a bone jarring ride and prone to break. Aluminum is mass produced and stiffer than Ti and Steel.

And to compare yourself with a Tour de France racer. Trust me, there was not a bike on the tour that cost $800.00. Maybe their wheels.

If someone offers their opinion I don't think you should discount it, and/or criticize them. I didn't sense any elitism in their message. They just simply offered their advise. And it's good advise! You can get killer deals online. My last two mountains and one road bike were bought online. My friend just bought a brand new Ti frame for $400.00. You need to know what you are buying but you will get more of a bike for your buck. That's not even arguable!

Go buy the aluminum crap. By the way, the winner of the Tour de France wasn't riding aluminum, Oops, forgot about that didn't we!!!

idiots!
<b>it's called ritilin</b>J.S.
Aug 6, 2001 7:32 AM
Try it, it may help with your anger problems.
uh maybe you meant Ritalin?Jack S
Aug 6, 2001 8:39 AM
or methylphenidate... regardless, Haldol would probably be more appropriate
Maybe you need a ...kick
Aug 6, 2001 9:26 AM
maybe the two of you need a swift kick in the a** for trying to be funny:)
No, its called a red herringTi
Aug 6, 2001 9:42 AM
When you lose an arguement you then attack the person. Go on boyz, you are really making a statement here.

I still hold firm on my post!! Aluminum is not durable by the nature of the metal(s). It's stiff and an uncomfortable ride and I would not recommend aluminum to anyone. I have a broken Cannondale (crack-n-fail) on my patio to prove it.

I could give you 10 reasons why not to ride aluminum and your only responses would be to attack me. It's typical of this anonymous format. No one yet has given a valid reason why aluminum is worth making a bike out of. I do see its value in soda cans.

Have a great day boyz!
myopic, anecdotal evidence?Dog
Aug 6, 2001 12:32 PM
It's defective reasoning (attacking the reasoning, not you) to state that "because my bike broke, and my bike is aluminum, then all aluminum bikes will break" (or, all aluminum bikes are "bad"). Isn't that essentially what you are saying?

Aluminum is light and affordable. The harshness you describe is not evident in all aluminum bikes, even assuming it is in some. I've had four of them, and have not experienced it.

For an objective, knowledgeable opinion, take a look: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/frame-materials.html#aluminum

Doug
everyone is an expertTi
Aug 6, 2001 8:21 AM
Yeah, it seems like everyone is an expert. Everyone is an expert racer, expert mechanic, expert on what bikes to buy. If you have an opinion that differs from their then they attack you. No biggie.

I hold firm on my comments.

have a great day boys!
<b>you elitests</b>Sean E
Aug 6, 2001 11:10 AM
Ok I am an Idiot, I confess. But spending $1500 is pricy for me. Maybe you didnt understand that when I said my wallet can only fork out $800. I serious mean it when I said it. No, I'm not pro and no I don't need a $1500+ bike in my garage either. I'm not as serious about racing in here as you guys. Maybe race but once a year and a $1500 bike in a sense is overkill for that. I'm not Brain Surgeon that rolls in the doe and can afford that pricy stuff. Maybe some day I will. When I want your advice on bikes that are that expensive I will ask. But lets go back to the $600 to $800 for a minute. Thats what I asked. Not to be blown away with a pricy bike thats way out of my budget. Never claimed to know more, but I do know a little. I damn well know that a $1800 bike aint going to make me ride any better than that of a $800. Jesus Christ, I will never come here again and bother you people. Seems that a few of you need to pull a stick out of your rear end. Your more the Idiot than I am fools. Read my post and anwser it you moron. I ONLY HAVE $800!!!!!!!!!! NOT A PENNY MORE!!!!!!!!!!
You Gentlemen have a nice day

I would not let him get to you.Mike K
Aug 6, 2001 12:31 PM
Always a rotten apple in the bunch. I think that most of the people who responded tried to be helpful.
Just do some serious shopping, look for specials and get a bike that fits your body and your budget.
And stop back once you get your ride and let us know how you made out!


I can do HTML too!

sorry....

Good luck!
<b>you elitests</b>VictorChan
Aug 6, 2001 1:35 PM
What about tax? In reality, you are looking for a $700 bike with some extra money for bike gears (jeresy and short and other minor stuff). Why don't you go to your local bike shop and to see what they have at your price range. Then, come back and to do some research about that specific bike (check the manufacturer website and stuff). Trek 1000 is about $600.
don't goHank
Aug 6, 2001 5:58 PM
I liked the little red guy giving the finger.

Just go ride all the bikes you can and focus on fit. Bring your tape measure. Trust first impressions. Then come back and ask more questions. Just ignore the obvious idiots, and realize that this is the internet. AL is fine. Parts is parts - mostly just a durability and weight issue. For racing you'll want light wheels - so maybe upgrade to top notch tires when you buy. I'd also aim for a good solid shoe/pedal combo.

Good fit formulas here:

http://www.coloradocyclist.com/bikefit/
It's called roadbikereview.com for a reasonGW Rider
Aug 7, 2001 12:14 PM
Try the Product Reviews on this site, they even give you the price. From there do some more research elsewhere, including your friendly LBS's. Try bicycling.com, they have a bicycle finder.

If your first stop is a messageboard, then you should expect to get some off-topic responses...let 'em blow right past. But once you respond back in a negative tone, then you are fair game. Just some helpful suggestions.

Otherwise let the flames begin
Giantspookyload
Aug 5, 2001 8:08 PM
You can find a new giant ocr 2 for that price easy. It is not a bad bike for getting the miles up, but like someone else said, I don't know that I would race it hard core. You should know from your past MTBing that you get what you pay for. You can definately find a Giant TCR used for around $1000 with Ultegra parts that will race you with the best of them. Keep an eye on this site for deals on complete bikes.
Try this site....DINOSAUR
Aug 5, 2001 9:12 PM
Try GVh Bikes http://www.gvhbikes.com/
Gary Hobbs is on vacation untill Aug 10th. I suggest that you contact him and tell him exactly what you told us. The guys on the VeloNews forum rave about him. I bet he could fix you up with what you want with no problem.
Good luck
Dino
Try this site....Sean E
Aug 5, 2001 9:33 PM
Thanks Dino, I appreciate it :)
Giant OCRDougal
Aug 6, 2001 12:51 AM
Why on Earth wouldn't you race on anything under $1000? One of the most important things for a rce bike is that its in a price range that you can afford to have bits fixed if you trash them racing. There's no point in dropping a grand or two on a bike to race, if you can't afford to maintain it. That would take all the enjoyment out of racing.

I'm sure as much as we all like to think that we could destroy a bike just by riding it, with modern bikes I think this is somewhere short of impossible unless your putting out a crazy amount of power (like the pros).

For what its worth, one of the top road riders in the UK rides on a Giant OCR with a higher groupset. I've been racing one for 3 years and its still faster than I'm going to be for a long time.
Bikes for Ordinary Folkjtolleson
Aug 6, 2001 11:26 AM
You've got about $800, you want to race for fun/as a hobby and otherwise just ride. You ask a normal question (what bike might work?) and it turns into, ah, this!!

For $800, you will do best looking for a sale price and finding a Shimano 105-equipped aluminum entry-level racing bike like the Specialized Allez, Cannondale R500, Bianchi Giro and the like. If you pay full retail, you'll probably get stuck with a bike with Sora or Tiagra components, just a little heavier and less "perky" (that's a highly technical term that only I know). Your racing success (especially at the hobby level) will have a lot more to do with your training, fitness, and natural ability than whether you cough up another $500-$1000 for a different steed.

Shop sales, go for what fits, and don't be afraid of aluminum (that's my two cents, anyway). It does dominate the market, its durability has vastly improved in the past ten years, and most manufacturers offer a frame warranty.

Go forth and have fun, and don't let anyone tell you you can't.
re: Need HelpIan
Aug 6, 2001 6:25 PM
Sean,

I must say I got a laugh out the red angry face on your post.

Anyway, $800 to spend on a bike huh? Since you are just getting back into riding, I would recommend buying from a shop or a local used bike. You might have a hard time figuring out if something is going to fit by purchasing online.

You will get more bang for buck buying used. Road components take a while to wear out and buying something a year or two old will get you better performance. You will probably be able to get something with 105 and maybe some Ultegra.

For new bikes, you will end up with Tiagra or Sora. The Trek 1200 has an MSRP of $929, but it is that time of year for bike sales.

I did my first crit about 5 weeks ago. There was a guy out there on a 1200. I was surprised to see that bike, and we did drop him after a while, but I did respect him for trying. Just know that if you get serious about riding / racing, you will outgrow an $800 bike.

Good luck and happy shopping.

Ian
re: Need HelpSean E
Aug 6, 2001 9:10 PM
Wow, I'm impressed to say the least. There is actually some nice people in here. I thought I was getting bombed by cocky jerks in here. I will look tommorrow and see whats up. Since my uncle is good friends with a local bike dealer I can probably get a $1200 bike for about $900. I will see what I can do. I appreciate those who took time and listen what I had to say and responded in a mature manner. Not to say that my little red dude was mature but sorry I got extremly pissed there for a moment. But I will take a look and take note on what I liked and bring back for another thrilling discussion tommorrow. Till then you guys take it easy, peace.
Yep, good peoplemike mcmahon
Aug 6, 2001 9:21 PM
Don't be discouraged by the few who look for any opportunity to attack others. Almost everyone here, and certainly almost everyone who sticks around more than a few days, is here to learn and to help others. Good luck with the bike search.