RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


ROAD RAGE!!!(23 posts)

ROAD RAGE!!!Ti
Aug 4, 2001 8:10 PM
In the last 5 road rides I figure about 75% have been on "bike paths". I have been solo and have hugged the right side of the road everytime I'm sharing it with cars. Still, 3 of the last 5 rides, I have encountered road ragers! Today about 1/2 mile from my house I was hit on the side of the face with a water bottle thrown from someones car. I live in Colorado and this place is known as a more "biker friendly" place. I'm getting so sick and tired of it. Anyone have something to share???
re: ROAD RAGE!!!nova
Aug 4, 2001 9:19 PM
http://www.bikepptc.org/roadrage.html
re: ROAD RAGE!!!PO ed
Aug 4, 2001 10:54 PM
Next time some hits you with something, write down there license number and call the local police as soon as possible.

I got hassled near my house recently and wrote down the license number.

Also wave at them like there your friends and smile so they do not think you are the one who turned them into the police!

Pen and a peice of paper is you best line of defence!!!
so what happened?DaveG
Aug 5, 2001 9:47 AM
"I got hassled near my house recently and wrote down the license number."

Did the cops do anything? Anyone on this board have an incident like that and have the cops follow up? What happened to the aggressor? I'd like to hear that this has worked out. My suspicion is that its fruitless. Is doesn't seem like writing down a plate # offers much proof if the person denies it.
so what happened?Vesi
Aug 5, 2001 1:40 PM
I ride with a friend who is a cop. Whenever he encounters idiots, he visits them later and says "remember me".
Call the cops? Good luckpeloton
Aug 5, 2001 5:49 PM
Sorry to Dino or any other police here, but I don't think calling the cops because someone threw a can at you or even tried to run you off the road is not going to do a damn thing. I got run off the road last year, and found a cop one quarter of a mile later. I explained the situation to the cop I even had the licence plate number, and his response was 'And what do you want me to do about it?' What do you want me to do about it? Are you a cop?! What do you think? It's been my experience that unless someone was waving a gun at you the cops around here won't do a thing. Same police force this year didn't even want to file a report when my car was broken into. They told me it wasn't their policy to worry about stuff like that. For the record too, I'm a civil and polite guy and I don't look like a dirtbag. Cops around here seem to think bikes are toys and your being on the road is trivial. Has anyone here ever successfully had a police officer help them out in a road rage incident?
Call the cops? Good luckSkip
Aug 5, 2001 6:18 PM
Damn,

Where do you live? Remind me to never ride there.
yes, actuallyRusty McNasty
Aug 6, 2001 4:07 AM
He actually WENT to the perp's house, and talked with him. Then, records turned up warrants on the slimebag, so he got a shiny set of bracelets, and a weekend tour of the hoosegow. Still, the DA never followed through with the recless driving complaint.
Something else that bothers mepeloton
Aug 6, 2001 7:11 AM
If you did get a cop to go to the guys house I applaud your police department. I wish I felt the same about mine. I have a friend who was chased by a motorist while in his car in a road rage incident. The guy who chased him was picked up by the cops when my friend pulled over at a speed trap to say he was being followed. The offender was driving like a maniac, and throwing things at my friend from his window. Offender has a record a mile long, no outstanding warrants though with some violent crimes to his credit. Buddy doesn't press charges at advice of cop friend. Seems if he pressed charges, the police report would be public record which anyone could get a copy of. The copy would have buddy's name and home address on it. Buddy doesn't want possibly violent person coming looking for him. It bugs me how our law enforcement system can let us down like that.
i got hit with a beer bottle (NM)GTrider215
Aug 5, 2001 5:11 AM
i got hit with a beer bottle (NM)Kula
Aug 5, 2001 9:48 AM
I had a guy in a front end loader try to run me off the road. He objected to me being too close while I followed him across an intersection. I admit I was close (5 metres), but I don't think I was interfering with him in any way. After unsuccessfully slamming on the brakes to slow me down, he then opened up his scoop several times and deposited piles of dirt on the road. This just got me mad so I drafted him for 10 kilometres along the road. He yelled the whole way while I stayed just far enough away to be safe.
"Colorado, 49th in School Funding" (bumper sticker)...Cima Coppi
Aug 5, 2001 6:17 AM
I also live in Colorado (Denver metro area to be exact) and I think this state is one of the worst for cycling. There are few bike lanes, drivers (and in my case, golfers) continuously harass us, and just a couple of weeks ago, the county of Boulder (yes, the Peoples Republic of Boulder) enacted a law making it illegal to ride 2 abreast or more on the counties rural roads. The local donut eating authorities want nothing to do with vehicles harassing cyclists. I have reported road ragers to my local police department, and they basically told me thay can do nothing about it unless there are multiple complaints about the same driver (they're just too lazy to get off their @$$e$ to want to help).

This state sucks for cyclists, so if you are a cyclist and want to come to Colorado to ride, go somewhere else!! You'll be much better off (and safer). We as cyclists have a lot of work to do with our ignorant politicians here in the state.

CC
Such a horrible, horrible place -- you should move! (nm)MorgulBismark
Aug 5, 2001 1:00 PM
Working on it....Cima Coppi
Aug 6, 2001 8:15 AM
Being a native, its difficult to leave CO, and this state has so much potencial. I am actively looking for another place to call home, but I also have to be able to get a good job to support my cycling habit.

CC
tossers and side-swipersRusty McNasty
Aug 5, 2001 6:49 AM
We don't have too many "tossers" around here-probably because littering fines are too high! I HAVE seen people toss things at riders on my club rides, but that usually only happens in the boonies, by some "Jethro" in a pick-up.
In the more urban areas, the biggest problem with anti-social idiots is the side-swipe. I have actually had this happen to me 3 times in the last year (or so), and 2 of those were definately with malicious intent. When I ride in heavy traffic, I often now ride with a fiberglass driveway pole bungeed to the seatstays, sticking about 3 feet to the left. This pole has reflective tape, and a little screwdriver blade on the end. The next side-swiper is not only going to get their paint gouged, but I'm going to have a sample of that paint to show the cops.
Front Range, eh?club
Aug 5, 2001 9:51 AM
That ain't Colorado, it's just the pretty part of Kansas; unless you live in Boulder, that's just the scenic part of Hell. Colorado begins at the Continental Divide.
F*** off you elitest!Ti
Aug 5, 2001 8:08 PM
F*** off you elitest! Move back to NY where you cam from. I'm a native and you are a tourist!
Hmmm, guess I must've hit a nerveclub
Aug 6, 2001 5:55 AM
gee, I never have any problems like you do, out here in the Real Colorado.
you better hit the pavement...TOURIST
Aug 6, 2001 7:06 AM
and start riding you sissy!! Take you elitest attitude somewhere else.

I ride the mountains all the time and have had rude drivers outside of Delta, Tenn Pass etc.. You are either a dumb ass and don't notice the drivers or you don't ride. My guess is you don't ride you sissy!

You are from NY arent' you?
where you from?ColnagoFE
Aug 6, 2001 7:16 AM
you never said...
re: ROAD RAGE!!!Skip
Aug 5, 2001 1:18 PM
How about carrying a disposable camera to photograph these people and vehicles, then turn in the proof to the cops and lawyers.
re: ROAD RAGE!!!BiGMiG
Aug 5, 2001 6:55 PM
If you have been run off the road by a car and have the license plate number of that car can you not go to the police and tell them you would like to prosocute the driver for assult with a deadly weapon?

I am not a lawyer but what would you call it if somone maliciously drove you off the road while in a car? Assult at least I would think?
If the cops won't help...(long)biknben
Aug 5, 2001 8:31 PM
...You can do their job for them.

Armed with the license plate number you can have a summons written for the offender. A COP is not the only one who can write a ticket. Remember a COP is only a "Citizen On Patrol". We are also citizens with many of the same powers.

Show up at the police station where the incident occurred. Have them write the summons for "careless driving" and YOU sign it instead of a COP. The summons is hand delivered if the person lives in town or mailed if out of town. A court date is issued and you will have to prove your case in front of a judge.

Have the license plate, make and model of car, and a description of the driver. The driver description is critical. The license plate only proves the CAR was there. The owner can claim he wasn't driving it at the time and get off. Careless driving is very easy to prove. It is a vague charge that covers all kind of situations.

I have seen this method used a few times. My brother once caused an accident and was charged with Careless Driving by the other driver (not the COP at the scene). He was taken to court and lost. All the other driver had to do was prove that he was driving the vehicle and the vehicle made contact with her car. In another, more interesting situation, a female friend issued a summons for careless driving to a Road Rager who swerved at her and gave her a "Brake Job". She proved he owned and was driving the vehicle and won.

This may seem a bit too involved for some of you but it's not that bad. Even if you can't prove your case you've caused a major inconvinience to the person by making him/her go to court. That alone may make them think twice next time.

Arm yourself with pen and paper or just write down the License number in the dirt with a stick. Most cops aren't gonna go racing around town looking for a license plate number. But if you really want to make something happen you can do it yourself.