RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


any negative response to treks 5200(17 posts)

any negative response to treks 5200zero1
Aug 4, 2001 5:33 AM
i have just about made my mind up to buy a trek 5200...i have test rode one and believe it or not it blew my old derosa away...i have yet to see any negative response to this bike...does anyone know of any negatives to this bike...thanks
Icon componentsAndy
Aug 4, 2001 6:53 AM
I think the 5200 is a great bike especially if you can pick it up for under $2000. The only negative thing I have found is the Icon components... stem, seatpost and pedals. I switched mine out ASAP. This is more of a personal preference thing.

The seatpost did not have infinite adjustment. It has little serrations in the angle adjustment which click and lock in the desired angle. Unfortunately, the angle I needed was right between clicks.

Functionally, the stem was OK but I thought it looked really cheap.

Mine came with Icon SPD pedals and I don't use SPDs.

Overall, I'd buy it again even if I didn't have the money to upgrade the Icon stuff. You can always upgrade those parts later.

If you're purchasing this bike from a shop, make sure they fit you properly. Have them check the stem length and offset. If you need a new stem the shop will probably swap it for you no charge.
re: any negative response to treks 5200JohnG
Aug 4, 2001 7:01 AM
The standard negative comment I've seen (and expressed myself) on the Trek carbon frames is that they have a rather "flat" or "dead" ride quality.

If you liked the ride then enjoy!

good rides
JohnG
A few Questions.Jamm
Aug 4, 2001 5:33 PM
A few serious questions:

Can you in your own words describe what it means when you say it has a rather "flat" or "dead" ride quality?

And why is this a negative quality?

What is the opposite of "flat" or "dead"?

Is the opposite a positive quality?

Are Trek carbon frames unique in this respect?
A few Questions.JohnG
Aug 4, 2001 7:32 PM
HI

A "flat" or "dead" feel is the opposite of "springy" and "lively". A "flat" bike will absorb much of the road irregularities and give the sensation of being VERY smooth and comfortable. A lively frame will transmit more of the road irregularities to the rider. Steel frames 'tend' to have a lively ride quality and carbon frames 'tend' to have a dead quality.

A "flat" feeling frame is NOT necessarily a BAD quality but it's one that I and some other riders don't particularly care for. There is also NO performance downside to a "flat" frame.... some would argue that it's actually a plus because the rider isn't beat up as much. Didn't seem to hurt LA. ;)

The trek carbon frames are not unique in this respect. However, there are other carbon frames that have a livelier feel than the Trek.

Keep in mind these statements are my opinion and they will surely differ with others. In fact, I've talked with a very good rider who had test ridden a Trek carbon bike and did NOT notice the "flat" ride quality..... so it must be a rather subjective assessment. Heck, it might even be frame size and rider weight sensitive for all I know.

good rides to you!

just my opinion.... as twisted as it is ;)
JohnG
re: any negative response to treks 5200Crash
Aug 4, 2001 8:55 AM
The 5200 was my #2 choice to the R2000si I ended up with. The Canny fit me just a tad better, plus I think the Ksyriums were a definite upgrade from the Rolf wheels, but the 5200 is a wonderful bike. Had I not had a Canny dealer so close to my house that gave me such a great deal on my bike, I know I could have been very happy on the 5200.
Oh, I just remembered one thing that I wasn't wild about. It would be nice if they made a model that was in a lighter color, but didn't have TREK and USPS written all over it! Just a personal preference though.
just...Hank
Aug 4, 2001 10:26 AM
keep that De Rosa as a back up. OCLVs are nice, but just about everyone I know who has had one who rides a lot has had to send theirs back at some point or another -- and not all damage/failures are covered by the warranty. Personally, I didn't like the fit or ride, but obviously that is subjective--for you it was great!
Actual ad in the Baltimore Sun..Car Magnet
Aug 4, 2001 4:12 PM
Under the Bicycle Sales & Services column:
Racing Bike USPS Blue
54cm Trek 5200,
men's. Used 1/2 hr.
$2100 (phone #)
If it's your size/location maybe you could talk him down. After all, who wants a bike that's "used" that much.
re: any negative response to treks 5200My2Cents
Aug 4, 2001 4:41 PM
Excellent bike -- I've had mine for about a year. It's a 2000 model that I picked up for about $2000. The only problem I've had with it was the Icon stem would creak while mashing up steep grades. The bike shop swapped it out for a Ritchey at no charge. I also swapped out the seat for one less hard on the nads.
Dead feel? I don't think so -- it's very smooth and quiet; who wants a stiff jarring ride? Your hind end will thank you!
re: any negative response to treks 5200billygoat
Aug 4, 2001 6:08 PM
I had a Trek OCLV for about two years. I put less than 5K miles on it and I weigh around 145 pounds. Some people told me they were prone to failing at the bottom bracket but mine seemed fine. Well guess what, after the two years or so and the aformentioned mileage the bottom bracket cracked. At first it was creaking and I couldn't figure it out, then it started to shift from the big ring to the small one on small clims. Upon further inspection the seat tube and chainstays were cracked very close to the bottom bracket. I sent it to Trek, they sent me a new frame and I sold it. I really liked the way it rode, it is very nice, it absorbs shock extremely well. It also fit me very good. And of course they are very light which is very noticeable. I didn't find it particularly stiff but it was good enough. I miss it but I wasn't going to put up with replacing it every two years. And I wasn't even putting a lot of miles on it. Since then I have met a Cat 1 rider that has broken at least three of them. So they don't have a good reputation as far as reliability. I wouldn't buy another one. Maybe if they built them a little stronger even if it meant a little more weight, I might think about buying another one. Right now I have an aluminum GT which is a little harsher but is very stiff and I doubt it will be breaking any time soon. It is quite heavier but I rather have that than reliability problems. Just my experience. Good Luck on whatever you decide.
re: any negative response to treks 5200cycleguy
Aug 4, 2001 7:47 PM
I have loved mine for the year I have had it. I think every bike maker would love to have sold as many high end bikes as the Trek 5200 has in the last 3 years. Negatives, yes you will find many. Perhaps it comes with selling so many? Yet read the reviews and let me know if you find another bike that has such a high rating. Yes you will find those unhappy, yes you will find those who love it. The curse of making a great product that is also available to the masses! Not perfect, but a great bike for the price. As are many others.
It's got no soul.grzy mnky
Aug 4, 2001 8:57 PM
Owned one for several years - never thought I'd be interested in another bike. Then I rode a ti Serotta - it was the difference between sex and well....

Seriously - it's a solid bike, good tecnology, strong company, and light. Hey, it's good enough for you know who. Consider what you want in a bike: a solid ride or an inspiring one. Test ride a bunch of other bikes - as many as you can - and try and deterimine what you like or dislike.

I was little pissed that Trek wouldn't warranty the finish that was peeling off b/c it had been over a year (don't get a nude '96), but they did a good (cheap) job on the der. hanger replacement after a nasty crash. It's way strong and has good resale value, but it's just a plastic bike and all of the standard criticisms about the feel apply.
It's got no soul.zero1
Aug 5, 2001 8:41 AM
pls let me know which serotta u have
It's got no soul.grzy mnky
Aug 5, 2001 10:32 AM
Colorado Legend Ti using the CTS 3 tubeset. The newer versions are a bit lighter and incorporate some nice improvements. Run a Reynolds Ouzo Pro fork, Ksyriums, Ultegra 9, and a King NoThreadset. wife runs a custom Ti Holland (San Diegeo builder), buddy runs a Seven Odonata and they all blow the OCLV away in terms of feel even on long rides (100 to 200 miles), but that's just my opinion. Of course you're looking at significantly more money, but you can't take it with you.
great for going in a straight line, but slow handlingnm
Aug 6, 2001 5:14 AM
stable ridem but definitely not for crits.
icon stuffDuane Gran
Aug 5, 2001 4:53 AM
As mentioned, the icon components are the real downer to this bike, but otherwise I love mine. I know people who have ridden this model for over 8 years with no problems in the frame. This is a very popular bike with many units sold and there will undoubtedly be some stories of equipment failure, but in general you can expect it to hold up. I personally like the "dead" or "flat" feel of the ride. It is criticized by many but it is a matter of preference.
re: any negative response to treks 5200HMS
Aug 6, 2001 6:36 AM
I have a 2001 Trek 5200. After riding it for approximately 1900 miles, I am very happy with it with one exception. I opted for the Ultegra triple. It was a mistake. There have been posts on this board in the past about shifting problems with the Ultegra triple -- I have had to have my LBS adjust mine three times. Go for the double.