RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What bike should I buy...Lemond Zurich or Jamis Eclipse(20 posts)

What bike should I buy...Lemond Zurich or Jamis EclipseBMW
Aug 3, 2001 8:16 AM
PLEASE HELP ME DECIDE BETWEEN THE TWO!!!

2001 lemond Zurich or 2001 Jamis Eclipse...

Very similar in frame material, but a little different parts picks!!!

Thanks...BMW
For God's sake, don't buysteeveo
Aug 3, 2001 9:36 AM
the Zurich!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Haven't you read where we're boycotting LeMond for the terrible, teriible things he said about Lance??????? If you buy a Zurich we won't let you in our club!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
For God's sake, don't buypeteey
Aug 3, 2001 9:40 AM
Yeah, anyone that doesn't worship Lance doesn't deserve the priviledge of having people buy his products, even though it's just a company using his name.
Boycott??? give it a rest...jaybird
Aug 3, 2001 10:19 AM
Jamis is crap... Yeah, lets boycot Lemond bikes, they are made by that evil company little company out of Wisconsin, I think the name is somethink like TREK. Do we know anyone famous riding Treks???

Let's get off of Lemond's case... LA should not have been associated with Ferrari strictly from a PR standpoint. He knew Ferrrai's history and given the fact that the euro press has a tabloid style mentality, it was inevitable that this would become a controversy. Yes, he is held to a higher standard than many others because of his accomplishments but that is where he choses to be...

Let's also not forget that Lemond is to american cycling as Babe Ruth is to baseball. His records may fall but he is still the pioneer and the premier icon in our sport.
Hmmm... Too close to my screen name? (nm)Peetey
Aug 3, 2001 11:34 AM
Hmmm... Too close to my screen name? (nm)jaybird
Aug 3, 2001 11:59 AM
I dont understand...
Not directed at you , jaybird.Peetey
Aug 3, 2001 12:09 PM
But rather the chap to whom you responded (peteey). He seems a little churlish. I have been posting for over a year and didn't want folks to confuse me with him (or her).
steevo, any self esteem problems? NMjbrown2036
Aug 3, 2001 11:22 AM
I'm apologize for that, it was unworthy of the club NM :)jbrown2036
Aug 3, 2001 11:23 AM
jbrwn, no worse than yours. NMsteeveo
Aug 3, 2001 11:25 AM
re: What bike should I buy...Lemond Zurich or Jamis EclipseBig Lug
Aug 3, 2001 10:09 AM
Don't buy anything with Lemond written on it. What goes around comes around. Greg should suffer for his petty accusations.

Besides, I've heard his frames aren't anything special anyway.

If you want a great steel frame, get a Colnago Master X-light.
re: What bike should I buy...Lemond Zurich or Jamis Eclipsesteeveo
Aug 3, 2001 10:15 AM
And suffer and suffer and suffer. There is no suffering great enough to punish him for ... the unthinkable.
Mercury-Viatel used Colnagos with Lemond painted on them (NM)Bruno S
Aug 3, 2001 1:12 PM
uh...nomr_spin
Aug 3, 2001 1:37 PM
Tonkov had a repainted Colnago. The rest of the team had Lemonds.

That would really take the cake. Give Fuji the boot, buy Colnagos, paint them as Lemonds?
uh...no. (Mercury and thier bikes).mr tornado head
Aug 4, 2001 6:01 PM
As LeMond pulled out of the Mercury sponsorship, looks like most of the mercury guys got new Fuji's. Saw them at the Wendy's Cycling Classic and also overheard Derek Brouchard-Hall discussing them with a Colorado Cyclist/7-Up rider (...geez, the name escapes me now!).
Most had new Fuji's but some were still riding Lemonds.
But seriously ...jtolleson
Aug 3, 2001 10:21 AM
the Lemond, in my humble opinion, is a vastly superior frame. I'd buy the Lemond.
re: What bike should I buy...Lemond Zurich or Jamis EclipseBreezydz
Aug 3, 2001 10:22 AM
The differences are probably not that great. Buy the one that feels better when you ride it or the one that makes you feel better about you when you ride it. Just make sure that the bike makes you happy.
Lemond Zurich or Jamis Eclipse- A real reviewJS5280
Aug 3, 2001 12:52 PM
I looked at both these bikes, I ended up buying a Airborne Zepplin instead which I'm very happy with. The Jamis is a great value, both are all/mostly Ultegra but the Ksyrium wheels really put the Eclipse over the top. Significantly better (some might argue the best) wheelset over the Rolfs that come with the Zurich. I also remember the Jamis being a about 1.5-2 pounds lighter than the Zurich which is another big plus. I know the Zurich comes with a double, don't remember about the Jamis. I was looking for a triple (live in Colorado) so that was a factor. The Jamis would of been my second choice because of the value. Lemond has a better reputation (until recently on this message board for diss'n the Lance) which lends more confidence to the Zurich frame/design, it's also one of the most common bikes on the road (a plus and a minus in my book). Personally, I think the Jamis is the better bike. If you did want to upgrade, I don't think you'd stick with the Zurich frame anyway. With Jamis you get a kick ass, light, Ultegra bike with incredible wheels. Not much to upgrade there. On the Lemond the Rolfs would be an immediate candidate for upgrade and Ksyriums go for $600+.

Might want to look at Airborne's too, it fits into this price range. I wanted a softer ride (steel or Ti) because I wanted something for distance. It's all Ultegra and a little lighter than the Jamis. I have Ultegra/OpenPro wheels which aren't as good, but it's not a bad wheelset either. Plus you can pick exactly what components you want for the whole bike with Airborne. Check them out at www.airborne.net if you haven't already. Granted, you've not going to generate many WOW's from the "pretty/trendy/Euro" crowd with either the Jamis or Airborne, but I think you get a lot more for your money and to me that was more important. Isn't bike buying great! Have fun!
Rolfsjtolleson
Aug 3, 2001 1:48 PM
My understanding is that Lemond dumped the Rolf Vectors on the new Zurichs... true?
RolfsJS5280
Aug 3, 2001 2:35 PM
This was for the 2001, not sure for 2002. Probably true though, isn't Rolf going under? Bontrager buying them out or something, saw it somewhere. . .