RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


decals - how to remove(9 posts)

decals - how to removewouter
Jul 31, 2001 12:22 PM
I just ordered a litespeed and would like to remove the yellow decal right away. Is there a good way to do this on a ti frame? Are there any solvents out there that work? Has anyone done this? What were the results?

Thanks!
re: decals - how to removeDAN BB
Jul 31, 2001 12:55 PM
I used nail polish remover followed by a citrus-based degreaser when I removed a decal from my Serotta Legend (high polish). One of the decals was damaged in a spill and I replaced it....worked perfectly.

Dan
Try....Jim Burton
Jul 31, 2001 1:18 PM
I've never removed decals from a bike, but for adhesive removal in general, I use denatured alchohol. It dries fast and without residue. Be careful, though. It is very caustic and can hurt your skin. Wear gloves.
re: decals - how to removeak
Jul 31, 2001 1:29 PM
we use lighter fluid in the shop, works like a charm.
re: decals - how to removeMikeC
Jul 31, 2001 1:30 PM
I removed the decals from a titanium frame with a hairdryer. It took a while to get them hot enough, but it did a great job. Just heat them up, and they'll either start to curl off by themselves, or you can scratch them off with a fingernail (don't use anything harder).
I now have a heat gun (basically a super hairdryer), and I removed the decals from a carbon fork the same way, but in 1/3 the time.
thanks guys, that's a lot of wayswouter
Jul 31, 2001 4:06 PM
I'll post in a few weeks how it went in trying to remove the big yellow decal. I will leave the vortex decal because it is not so obvious and attention getting. May be some of the smaller decals on seatpost etc will come off also.

Thanks, I look forward to the Vortex ($3,999 CO cyclist), expecially since my ride is now a 22 pd trek 1400, which is a fine bike, but based on reviews posted on this site I'll be blown away. I can't wait.

Based on reviews here I also had them change the DA BB out for an Ultegra BB. Of course, I'll still get the DA BB in a baggie on the side, since they cannot change out anything.
re: decals - how to removeYellow
Jul 31, 2001 4:36 PM
I've enjoyed great success removing any adhesive material with Rosonol (spellcheck, please), the lighter fluid commonly used for Zippo. Comes in a yellow tin with a red spout.

It's gentle on the hands, not the strongest, but in my book, the safest. Be patient with it and let it soak a couple of rounds.
Bestinejpa
Jul 31, 2001 5:08 PM
You can find it at an art store. It is used to reduce and clean up rubber cement.
I did the same thing. Try a hair dryer to warm the glue. nmk mand
Aug 1, 2001 9:42 AM
nm