RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any comments on Litespeed Arenburg & Airborne Zepplin...(20 posts)

Any comments on Litespeed Arenburg & Airborne Zepplin...russ g
Jul 30, 2001 8:51 AM
I ride 2-3 times a week 20 - 30 miles at a time and looking at these two bikes, I currnetly ride Bianchi Campione steel. I have a Litespeed dealer nearby so I can ride this one but anyone with experience on the Airborne? Looking for any comments on either bike. The litespeed I think will run about $400 - $600 more than the Airborne.
Regards
Russ
Another Alternativetirider
Jul 30, 2001 10:29 AM
Just a suggestion... check out Titanium Sports: http://www.titaniumsports.com/bikes/... this is an American Ti tube supplier and manufacturer who fabricates frames for the likes of Mongoose and Dean. They sell overstocks for around $700 sans decals. If you're looking for a reasonably priced Ti frame this is the way I would go. Airborne for the same price sources their tubes and manufacturing to China and if you've seen them the quality is remarkably deficient. I also think for less $$$, Ti Sports offers these with comparative if not better quality than the Litespeed you mention.
Another AlternativeLone Gunman
Jul 30, 2001 10:47 AM
And, if this route interests you, find someone who is a graphic artist to do some paint/art work on the plain jane frame.
Another AlternativeSteveS
Jul 30, 2001 10:55 AM
Saw my first Titanium Sports built frame this weekend, which I mentioned in another post elsewhere on the page. The guy passed me and I had a couple of minutes to look at the rear end of his frame before I left him behind. From 4 or 5 feet away, I could see lumpy welds around the stay near the drop out. The rear stays themselves looked smaller in diameter than those on my Zeppelin and I just checked the rear end of my bike before I posted this and they looked much better than the TST built frame that I saw. Maybe it was one of those TST's made in Mexico for Mongoose. (see the Mongoose ti reviews on that one) There were plenty of left over Mongoose frames to sell...

To the original poster, read the various reviews on all the Airborne frames, there is a very clear pattern of satisfaction. Then note that "Cycling+" picked the Zeppelin as bike of the year and compare that with the fact that no magazine has picked either of the other two frames for any award. Have fun shopping.
Another Alternativetirider
Jul 30, 2001 11:09 AM
I should have mentioned... I've talked to the guys a Titianium Sports and they can tell you which of the overstocked frames are made where. I would not consider their outsourced ones made in Mexico... only the ones made in house. They have different models available.
What people who have ridden more than just Huffies say...Go Huffy!
Jul 30, 2001 11:15 AM
From the Airborne Web Site (kudos for pulishing this) the Bicycling magazine review (summary) of the Zeppelin (3 chain rings - not real good):

7 WORDS ABOUT THE BIKE
Affordable, not cut-rate, Cleanly crafted. Sizing-challenged. Titanium.
BUY IT IF
The site of a titanium SRP bolt kit sets your heart afire.
FORGET IT IF
You're beyond material lust and want the best bike for the money regardless of material.


Considering the amount of advertising Airborne does with Bicycling even this much of a slam took balls on their part - imagine what they would have written if Airborne was not one of their best advertisers?
If all you can see is cheap and Ti - this is the bike for you! If you want bang for the buck or just prefer not ride a bike made by slave labor in factories owned by the Chinese "People's Liberation" Army and have a nice cross association with Huffy you might want to look elsewhere and get something else.
Gee Huffy or Litespeed - now there is a difficult choice....
What people who have ridden more than just Huffies say...SteveS
Jul 30, 2001 11:31 AM
For what it's worth, nameless one, I proved the reviewer of that worthless rag, "Bicycling", wrong well over a year ago when he mentioned the "sizing challenged" portion of this review. Maybe you would like to copy that one over here and I can prove it wrong again.

Oh, and your "slave labor" mantra ain't making any converts. Maybe you should grab some of your little pals and form an expeditionary force to free them. Then you could make a "name" for yourself. Think of it, a chance to prove your courage. Go Huffie!
What people who have ridden more than just Huffies say...Go Huffy!
Jul 30, 2001 11:51 AM
I am nameless like the people who work in Chinese sweat shops in order to make sure that you senseless ass can ride on a bike with a $200 savings.
I am nameless like the man who stood in front of the tank in Tiananmen Square or the prisoner who was not yet dead when his kidneys were removed so they could be sold to a Westerner like you.
Enjoy you Airborne and remember what the savings to you cost some nameless other... Enjoy your ride...
Ho ho hoSteveS
Jul 30, 2001 1:06 PM
You are nameless because you don't really have the courage to stand up as a real person, unlike the man in Tiananmen Square so don't try to cop his courage. You aren't a worker whose parents saw 2.5 million Chinese killed by Japanese and you have never faced a commie on the other side of an AK-47. You are a whiner visualizing whirrled peas.

I noticed that my brand new toilets are made in China. (recommended by my local plumber), my Logictech mouse is made in China, my Logictech wireless keyboard is made in China, the Boston Acoustic car speakers that I checked out were made in China, and the Diamond Audio speakers that I bought are made in China. The toilets, I think I will call them the "nameless ones" in honor of your courageous position, which of course is, squat. And I will enjoy each product. Grow up, kid.
Ho ho hoGo Huffy!
Jul 30, 2001 1:25 PM
All I can say is that I'm very glad that you clarified for us that in your case expediency outweighs morality.
You're the same kind of guy that would have bought lamps made of human skin from the Germans in the 40's if they would have been .50 cheaper than something else.

Enjoy your Airborne...
No no no4bykn
Jul 31, 2001 8:47 AM
So, Mr Huffy (if that is your real name), how much time did you spend in China touring the Airborne facilities? Have you communicated with the people at Airborne with your concerns? If not, then your attitude smacks of prejudice. To answer your next question, no I haven't been to China, but I have traded emails with the president of Airborne and he assured me that the frames are built in a factory (perhaps not unlike where I work) where the employees are well compensated for their labor. Slave labor? No. Political prisoners? No. I realize your next response will be that he is biased, and that may be so, I am biased toward the Mitsubishis I build, so it is understandable that you may think that. This bias may also be thought of as pride in one's work. If you are so concerned with the conditions under which Airborne builds frames maybe you should talk to Airborne with these concerns. Otherwise your continued bad-mouthing of a company boarders on slander or libel.
Ho ho hoJeremy Mudd
Aug 7, 2001 1:14 PM
Dear Mr "Go Huffy",

I would advise you to stop slanderring Airborne, it's products, methods, and employees.

It is obvious that you know absolutely nothing of our products and our committment to quality and customer service.

I have been watching your threads for quite some time, and it saddens me to think that you have nothing better to do than to sit at home (or work) on your computer and compare people who purchase our products to people "who would have bought lamps made of human skin from the Germans in the 40's if they would have been .50 cheaper than something else." That is grounds for libel.

I find it curious that you don't use your real name. Why is that?

Please, for your own sake, stop.

Sincerely,

Jeremy L. Mudd
Marketing Coordinator
Airborne Direct Bikes
Zeppelin4bykn
Jul 30, 2001 11:15 AM
I've seen a Zeppelin close up, and the quality is remarkable, not "remarkably deficient"! In fact I see one every day, all I have to do is look down while riding. I believe the Zeppelin is a reasonable alternative to the Litespeed. I have gotten many compliments on my bike when at centuries, etc.
Another AlternativeScottH
Jul 30, 2001 12:45 PM
I've seen and test rode both of these bikes. They are both quality frames with good clean welds. The airborn does have a couple other niceties, pump peg, chain holder(?), shaped top tube.

I haven't done much more than look at the litespeed bikes...way too expensive.

Bottom line, ride whatever makes you happy, and to h*ll with what everyone else thinks.
note to scotth4bykn
Jul 31, 2001 7:41 AM
The Zeppelin has a pump peg ONLY on 58cm and larger frames, my 56 doesn't have one. It DOES have a chain holder. Just trying to clear this up a little.
Sampson Sportsjtolleson
Jul 30, 2001 10:51 AM
If you want Ti for less than Litespeed I'd also consider Sampson.
re: Any comments on Litespeed Arenburg & Airborne Zepplin...STEELYeyed
Jul 30, 2001 12:32 PM
I bought a 2000 Arenberg/Shimano 105 this year on a year end close out sale for less than the cheapest Airborne,its a great bike,not to say that the Airborne is not,but I have never seen or ridden one,that in itself says something.
STEELYeyed
Tommasini, a lot more for the money....C-40
Jul 30, 2001 1:45 PM
For less than the price of a bare Arenberg frame (or the same as it's offbrand Macalu cousin) you can get a beautiful Tommasini Sintesi frame with chrome fork. Artistic lugs, high quality paint and chrome. Only a few ounces heavier. Great ride and handling. A real showstopper in comparison to dull grey Ti with decals.
My wife has the Arenbergmoneyman
Jul 30, 2001 2:32 PM
And it is a very nice ride. The frame is beautiful, with the seat and chainstays having gentle, shock absorbing curves. It is rather svelte, so for a lightweight rider like her (125 lbs) it is perfect. For a guy like me (195) I would probably crush it. I have, however, tooled around the neighborhood on it and it is a sweeeeet ride. It is spec'd with Shimano 105, and it is smooth and reliable.

$$
re: Any comments on Litespeed Arenburg & Airborne Zepplin...Mark Gold
Jul 30, 2001 10:45 PM
Last year I decided between an Airborne Zepplin, various Litespeed Ti bikes, and a few others. I ended up going with the Airborne. I've been pretty happy with it. Pretty fast, climbs very well, smooth ride. I didn't find it very stable at speeds around 50 mph going down steep hills. I've seen others say that there Zepplin's are stable at those speeds. The stock seat -- Max Flite -- was a painful experience for a few weeks before I got a Terry Men's Liberator seat. Make sure you try to get a comfy seat if you go for the Airborne, perhaps getting the saddle separately.

The money I saved by purchasing an Airborne frame allowed me to go for a nicer headset and component group. Good customer service in my experience. I spent quite a bit of time sizing the frame, handlebar width, spacers in order to get a decent fit.

I probably would have went with the Litespeed if the price was comparable.

Mark Gold