RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Campy Daytona...Opinions Please.....(13 posts)

Campy Daytona...Opinions Please.....Nick G.
Jul 28, 2001 10:33 AM
I'm in the process of building up my first road bike. I had decided on building it up with Ultegra but in the new Colorado Cyclist they have an entire build kit of Campagnolo Daytona for $899.99. This includes everyting except pedals. I'm not too familiar with Campagnolo components so how does Daytona compare to Ultegra? Is this a good deal?

http://www.coloradocyclist.com/common/products/productdisplay2_v2.cfm?PRRFNBR=21695&CGRFNBR=293&CRPCGNBR=293&CI=1,225,293&TextMode=0
Well...JamesT.Kirk
Jul 28, 2001 11:15 AM
First off let me say I've never had a Shimano bike so I don't really have an opinion on Ultegra. Also, when I upgraded to Daytona 10 I was moving up from a worn out Veloce 7 speed setup, so ANYTHING was better (no complaints about Veloce though).

I've got about 2000 miles on it at this point and honestly I can't say anything bad about it. The shifting is crisp and accurate, even under heavy load. The brakes stop well. Everything has an attractive finish and is well made. I guess it could be lighter or a bit prettier, but that's what Chorus and Record are for...

Really, it works great, I don't even notice it or think about it, it just works when I need it. Coming from 7 speeds, 10 is a dream, also, if you haven't tried a ErgoPower bike in a long time, the hoods are nice. They are much larger and more comfortable than they used to be.

Is $899 a good deal? Sounds like it to me. When I got my group, CC didn't carry Daytona. I ordered from Licktons and paid $700 including shipping. Keep in mind this was for the group minus headset and seatpost with a wheelset built on Mavic Open Pro rims. So, another $200 for everything else sounds about right. Just for comparison, one of the larger LBS around here quoted me a price of $1300 for the same stuff...

here are some links:

Lickton's - http://www.lickbike.com
Campy Only - http://www.campyonly.com - they have detailed reviews of all campy groups, including installation and road tests. good stuff.

hope this helped.
re: Campy Daytona...Opinions Please.....JohnG
Jul 28, 2001 11:56 AM
I've got a Daytona 9 drivetrain on a bike and it works perfecto.

JohnG
Very positivek mand
Jul 28, 2001 12:52 PM
I have the 10 without the hubs (Spinergy wheels). The only problem I have noticed is some minor front derailer rubbing that is easily cured by clicking the levers down one. I think the front shifting is also a tad too slow. The rear derailer shifts like a Swiss watch and is very responsive. I can't speak on Ultegra since I haven't spent time with it (other then test rides). Love the 10. Having 10 speeds for each ring limits the amount of time I have to shift from the large to small front ring unless I have to climb.You get what you pay for and it's well worth the money. After 5,000 miles it's proven reliable and durable.Have fun building the bike. Also, try Totalcycling.com to check prices.
Go with Campy Daytona [nm]davidl
Jul 28, 2001 1:22 PM
re: Campy Daytona...Opinions Please.....cycleguy
Jul 28, 2001 2:15 PM
I purchased Daytona racing triple from CC last month. Paid 800 incl. shipping etc. But minus the stem, bar, tape, seatpost, saddle, tires and tubes. Sounds like a great deal. Do they have a 90 price low price match!! I also have Ultegra and find both a great group. I don't think you can go wrong with this deal.
re: Campy Daytona...Opinions Please.....roadcyclist
Jul 28, 2001 3:35 PM
I also contemplated the Daytona 10 speed group (I ended up with Chorus). Although I've never used Daytona, I've been told that upgrading the ergo levers to Chorus is worth the cost. It seems that Daytona uses bushings, while Chorus uses ball-bearings. Colorado Cyclist will upgrade for you, no problem. Also, for what it's worth - Campy is changing the name of the Daytona group due to copyright problems with another firm so you may be buying a "collectible".
PS - Daytona is better than Ultegra (IMHO).
re: Campy Daytona...Opinions Please.....peloton
Jul 28, 2001 3:57 PM
The only way to go with Daytona is 10 speed. In addition to the shifters, think of upgrading the bottom bracket and crankset. Ultegra is a better design there, and of better quality. There also seems to be a big jump in quality of the bb and crank from Daytona to Chorus.

Ultegra is kind of a can't miss group. So is Chorus. Daytona is okay, but not can't miss for lots of miles. IMHO -not to start a war ;)
re: Campy Daytona...Opinions Please.....Cliff Oates
Jul 28, 2001 8:27 PM
I have Chorus levers on one bike and Daytona levers on another. I can state without a doubt that the Chorus levers are shinier. That is the only tangible difference between the two.
Look at the replacement costs in the long run tooLC
Jul 28, 2001 7:30 PM
Since money is a concern (I can tell because you did not pick Dura-ace or Record) you have to look at the big picture too like cost of ownership over the life of the bike, availability of parts ect. Replacement of parts that wear out on both groups, the two common ones:
Cassettes: Ultegra $40, Daytona $70
Chain: 9 speed Ultegra $19, 10 speed $33

Also look at bottom brackets, chainrings, and even brake pads.
re: Campy Daytona...Opinions Please.....bird dog
Jul 28, 2001 8:15 PM
best price that i have found on groups is a place callad crazy daves. has no wedsite, have to callfor price. got a full chorus group for$785. best price i could find
Soon to be discontinued....C-40
Jul 29, 2001 4:59 AM
As I recall, the Daytona name will be replaced by something else, next year. That's why the blowout prices, I assume. The group's fine though. The weakest point is the crank and BB. Uses a 111mm spindle, which is not compatible with Chorus or Record. Chorus is still the best value.
Not discontinued, just another name change (nm)JamesT.Kirk
Jul 29, 2001 6:20 AM
nm