RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


help with shorts(12 posts)

help with shortsRandyMH
Jul 24, 2001 11:07 AM
I'm getting ready to buy a pair of riding shorts. I'm only buying one pair so should I buy a pair of the Voler $51.00 with shipping or a pair of Cannondales $55-65.00 localy.
re: help with shorts650C rider
Jul 24, 2001 11:31 AM
go with voler I wear them day in day out wash everyday they last as the saying goes they take a licking and keep on going. Also there customer service is the best. Just a hint The ecaps hammer gel site sells voler bibs but with the hammer gel logo for $34.95 I think they only have small and med may want to check it out.

Ray Still
I ALWAYS BUY LOCAL WHEN I CAN--THAT BEING SAID...Large Cyclist
Jul 24, 2001 11:40 AM
you could *really* justify a mail-order purchae if you were able to find a price that really made a difference.

I've always been a big fan of Performance myself. They have something called the Century Gel Short that I really, really like. Like 'em so much I have three pair. Well-made, wide range of sizes (*very* important for me!), and they don't cost an arm and a leg. They'll sell you two pair for @$75... that's maybe $45 a pair once you've added shipping to the total.

If you're getting serious about your riding, one pair will not be enough. An investment, yes... but you and your "nether areas" will be so much happier!

The only thing that should ever come between and your bike shorts is baby powder, udder cream, or Chamois Butt'r. No underwear. [That's a very basic piece of knowledge, yes--but I still run across people who complain about bike shorts being so uncomfortable]

Hand-washing is fine... but I typically wait until I have a nice little pile of short, socks, a jersey or two... then I run a small load in the washing machine. Cold water, gentle cycle, mild detergent or soap, hang 'em on a line to dry once they've spun out.

YMMV...

Large Cyclist
large_cyclist@hotmail.com
My $75 C-Dales fell apart...Kristin
Jul 24, 2001 12:29 PM
The seam began to teat after just 2 weeks. Replaced them with Volers. No complaints.
Okay, don't ask what teating is...Kristin
Jul 24, 2001 12:32 PM
...sounds nasty doesn't it? By the way, I called Voler's 1-800 number and asked them to help me choose the right size short. They were very helpful and I got a perfect fit.
I thought it was a fruedian slip(nm)Len J
Jul 24, 2001 12:34 PM
is that why you have clenched toes?chim-chim
Jul 24, 2001 12:41 PM
nm
Gees whats your problem??cyclopathic
Jul 24, 2001 7:02 PM
stop stalking the girl get a life
Another Voler vote, especially bibs (nm)RhodyRider
Jul 24, 2001 12:33 PM
ditto thathelpfulman
Jul 24, 2001 4:25 PM
i just got my voler bibs 2 weeks ago and with a coupla hunnert miles on 'em i can say they they rule!
re: help with shortsLardog
Jul 24, 2001 12:52 PM
Sugoi, Pearl Izumi micro sensor, Castelli, all good in my opinion.
re: help with shortsLone Gunman
Jul 24, 2001 5:15 PM
Randy,
Voler's are good, don't buy anything with goo or liquid in them(HFS or Performance), all it does is push out to the edges and put pressure on the bladder that is holding the $hit in, or if you have a cutout seat the $hit pools in the cut out. www.bikejerseys.com has Santini and Nalini shorts very reasonable price, AND GET THE BIBS, NOT THE SHORTS (Bloomington, IN). I say bibs because if you have any kind of excess stomach, shorts will roll over the stomach roll where bibs don't give the gut that option and they stay up and in place. The only drawback I have with bibs is you need to undress alot to pee, a small trade off for their comfort. If you want color shorts then Voler has color, black or pro kits bikejerseys. I read recently that zonabici.com has Castelli at unreal prices but I think they are black but excellent shorts. Again sizing is goofy for european shorts/bibs, voler and bikejersey are excellent at getting you the correct size.