RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Road Harassment(24 posts)

Road HarassmentLone Gunman
Jul 20, 2001 8:06 AM
Not to stereo type a person or group of persons, but why is it that the harassment is almost always by a white male between the ages of say 18 and 32, and somehow a ball cap or fishing tackle is connected to the situation? Of all aggressive encounters I can remember having, never has this been with another race of persons, 99.9% white male, .1% white female. Perhaps it is just a result of the demographic I live and ride in, low hispanic and AA population, but I have ridden in 15 different states from Wisconsin to Texas to Mass and all points inbetween. Any other opinions?
re: Road Harassmentbadabill
Jul 20, 2001 8:32 AM
Its just your region of the country. Age has more to do with it than anything here in Southern California. 99% of my encounters involve teenagers out to impress each other. I dont even react anymore, Just keep enjoying my ride. Its funny but reading all the posts about people getting ticked off at mostly kids out showing off seems a waste of time..
re: Road HarassmentUncleMoe
Jul 20, 2001 8:40 AM
I'm not sure its waste of time. My original post was really to understand how others feel. I'm content with the fact that we just have to live with it. I was more wondering if I was the only one that just lets it slide (sounds like just about all of us let it slide).

My big concern is our safety. However much you try to tune it out, I'm sure some of these incidents create crashes from a rider being startled and crashing into a ditch. A lot of riders on this board are experienced riders and can handle it. I dread the day my wife (a casual rider) is out riding with me and someone scares her. She rides tight enough as it is without punk head skaters harrassing her.
re: Road HarassmentLone Gunman
Jul 20, 2001 8:44 AM
Another trend or occurance is BB gun or paint ball drive by attacks.
re: Road Harassmentbadabill
Jul 20, 2001 8:46 AM
True. I would have to say most of my encounters happen while alone. Very few while riding in a group, there is safety in numbers :-)
re: Road HarassmentDINOSAUR
Jul 20, 2001 8:48 AM
I see your point. This is sadly why I don't want my 15 year old daughter riding with me. I hate to think how many accidents I avoid just based on experience. It's a different world today.
re: Road HarassmentUncleMoe
Jul 20, 2001 8:33 AM
I'd say you are pretty much on in that scenario. Although up to 32 years old might be pushing it. I find its usually teenagers. Always at least two in the car, usually 3 or 4. An occassional couple of girls every now and then. You are right on the white part. I have never had a different race give me hassles. I guess that is why we call them white-trash.
re: Road HarassmentLone Gunman
Jul 20, 2001 8:40 AM
I wasn't turning this into a name calling or labeling post, a carload of AA's will drive past and grin cause my kit looks good and they can relate to cool lookin' kit. Just an observasion and opinion.
And it's not just on the road.Brian C.
Jul 20, 2001 8:37 AM
Everywhere, young white guys are a problem. I think it's a sign of the age we live in.
My 21-year-old daughter has been dating a 30-year-old guy for a while. At first, I was dubious she was seeing someone older, but one night in the patio bar district in our town, it became clear why. Most of the 'men' her age were ill-mannered, narcissitic and brimming with attitude and self-importance. And they're like bikers - they act differently when they're alone than when they're in a crowd. One of them bumped into me and spilled a small amount of beer on my pants; when I looked at him, he glared back as if to say: "What's your problem?" No apology, nothing.
Bad parenting? Violence in the media? Poor employment prospects? Who knows?
We all had a swagger when we were 21. But it was never this bad.
Liek Elephants...UncleMoe
Jul 20, 2001 8:46 AM
Did anyone see 60 Minutes II the other night?

They had a story about Bull Elephants that were killing white rhino's in Africa. After studying them, these were "teenage" bull elephants around 13-15 years old. Basically a gang of them.

Scientists studied them while also protecting the rhinos. Turned out that the parents of these elephants had been killed when they were pretty young, so they had no role models growing up. So now their anger showed up by harrassing and killing rhinos. They fixed it by relocating older bull elephants to the area to keep the kids in line.

Funny how humans are just another animal. I'm only 34, but I remember being a stupid kid myself. However, no where near as bad as teenage boys today.
Liek Elephants...fuzzybunnies
Jul 20, 2001 5:34 PM
Sorry, I'm not buying the "things weren't this bad when I was that age b.s.". The real trouble makers may not have been the people you hung with but they were still there. Not all teenage boys are as bad as several of you are portraying and several people may have stupid moments that place them in the trouble maker catagory when they're really not. You also might not realize how stupid some of the things you did looked to other people, only through your own eyes and coloured by time. TTFN
re: Road HarassmentDINOSAUR
Jul 20, 2001 8:43 AM
I run into problems with all types. Redneck P/U truck drivers, soccer moms driving suv's, teenage kids. The closest I ever came to getting clipped was by a bob tail propane truck. Actually I'm pretty lucky. Most drivers in my neck of the woods are fairly considerate to cyclist. The ones that unnerve me, are the drivers that refuse to pass me, especially when I am honking up a hill and there is no place to pull over. I had a group of outlaw type motorcyclists sneak up on me once and went blaring my with very loud exhausts. The last guy in line must have weighed 300 lbs. I yelled at them, but luckily they didn't hear me due to noise, otherwise they would have come back and finished me off. I guess all this stuff come with being a cyclist. I figure if they don't hit me, no harm, no foul, it all comes with riding on the roads. I kinda think if you vent at them, that's what they want, I ignore them and show no emotion, sort of like robo cop...
re: Road HarassmentLone Gunman
Jul 20, 2001 8:47 AM
You must remember when cresting a hill, the guy behind you can't see the crest to go around, I always crest the hill and immediately wave the driver through if it is clear. He waited for me, I returned the favor by waving him through.
re: Road HarassmentDINOSAUR
Jul 20, 2001 8:53 AM
Aye laddy, it's not on cresting a hill. It's on a straight away and I waive them on and they still don't pass. Mostly older drivers who are afraid to drive to the left of the center line...lots of hills up here in the Sierra Nevada's, they are endless...
re: Road HarassmentDave Woof
Jul 20, 2001 9:11 AM
I agree - I hate being followed closely on a climb and not being passed. I always stop at a trackstand on the side of the road and force the car around.

Comes from when I was younger - a car followed me for quite a while very slowly - as he passed I saw that he was wankin as he watched me. Ugh.
Ugh is right!!! NMDINOSAUR
Jul 20, 2001 9:17 AM
NM
re: Road HarassmentWoof the dog
Jul 21, 2001 2:09 AM
what is this, another wannabe me?

Woof the dog
wm's w/pickup truck I bet....mtnrogue
Jul 20, 2001 9:15 AM
typicially run me off the road whether in my car or biking...immaturity my guess. But I am getting po'ed with roadies riding side by side on conjested city streets...pretty stupid too!

mark(recently hit by a w/m truck, they laughed about it)
racial breakdown (controversial)Rusty McNasty
Jul 20, 2001 9:37 AM
on my daily "urban" commute, i have found that MOST of my idiot encounters are with black males, of the 18-35 bracket, followed closely by black females of the 18-25 bracket. white-trash males, while present in considerable numbers, rarely give me any problems. pushy white yuppy males age 35-50 in fat-@$$ BMW's are actually more of a problem, but only because of poor driving (too fast, talking on cell phone, etc). Soccer momsare rarely seen in this part of town.
I have come to the conclusion that, to at least a certain segment of the african-american population, i am considered a "safe" target, worthy of being harassed, perhaps as a proxy for my entire racial group. i know that somebody will probably call me a bigot, but sadly, this seems to be the case. nobody ever yells anything at me about my bike, or my driving, only about my ancestry.
racial breakdown (controversial)UncleMoe
Jul 20, 2001 9:46 AM
Not judging your comments or you, but where do you live?
racial breakdown (controversial)Rusty McNasty
Jul 20, 2001 9:50 AM
upstate NY
racial breakdown (controversial)TypeOne
Jul 20, 2001 11:09 AM
It always seems to involve the neighborhoods I ride in. Sorry to read about your experience. I ride through and around the city of Seattle through some neighborhoods that are predominantly black, and I haven't had many problems. The rural white trash guys speeding on country roads have harassed me now and then. My observation is that the problem I see from black drivers is a total disregard for traffic lights--but my generalization is probably because I encounter black drivers in areas that have traffic signals! I'm sure the white guys would blow the red light, too.
My second observation is that I have never been yelled at or had anything thrown at me by a black driver.

Ahh, this is a silly post and a silly thread. I am considering deleting it and just reading the flames, but I'll post it anyway.
I pay attention to the situation, not to what race I expect to see out there. Five percent of the entire driving population sucks.
racial breakdown (controversial)Lone Gunman
Jul 20, 2001 12:01 PM
TO,
Not silly at all, relevant to any rider who has ever been harassed on the road before, look at the # of posts to the simple question and observation. That was all that this was and you validated my point about never being harassed by a member of any other race than white. No social head hanging necessary, it just the truth, and I don't know why.
Lone Gunman
re: Road Harassmentcracker1972
Jul 20, 2001 11:07 AM
And notice that the people who harass bikers probably couldn't ride for more than 100 feet even if their life depended on it. Whatever. Small minds think alike.