RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Split-rail saddles...anyone?...Please?(8 posts)

Split-rail saddles...anyone?...Please?dinky
Jul 18, 2001 7:53 PM
I posted this a few days ago with no luck and am hoping that maybe this time someone out there has has some experience with this type of saddle. I won't post again, don't worry. The one I am thinking about was in the new nashbar catalog that just came out. The brand is Trico and its adjustable. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
re: Split-rail saddles...anyone?...Please?STEELYeyed
Jul 18, 2001 8:12 PM
I think most of the center cut,split,hole in center,physician designed saddles are marketing hype,I have tried several of them,but not the split rail,it just seemed to expensive,the best saddle I have is a beat up old Selle Italia Ti Flite that I bought on Ebay for 30 bucks,my high priced "physician designed" saddles now collect dust or have been sold,just my opinion though,try some different saddles until you find one you like then dump the rest.

Often in error,but never in doubt.
STEELYeyed
re: Split-rail saddles...anyone?...Please?Woof the dog
Jul 18, 2001 11:52 PM
Just a different opinion: My specialized body geometry (the one thats racy looking, not squishy at all, and almost the best/lightest among b/g) is so good, I don't get that dull scary numbness you know where like I did with my old saddle without a cutout. So, I am a bit hesitant of trying Selle Italia.

Woof the dawg.
Selle Italia Ti Flitedavidl
Jul 19, 2001 3:59 AM
I went from a SI Flite Gel to a Ti Flite [smooth surface] on my main workout bike and it was an improvement. The Gel is still ok - I use it on another bike. For me the Ti Flite is the best saddle - no numbness - comfortable - can spend all the time I want on it. I guess it's just body geometry, but I stopped experimenting.
Selle Italia Ti Flite - one more thing...davidl
Jul 19, 2001 4:03 AM
I learned that Sheldon Brown is right [again] that every minute adjustment can make a big difference in how a saddle works. For instance I was one click away from eliminating some annoying hand tingling. I tilted the seat back one click and it disappeared.
Sella Italia Prolink Trans am..........Len J
Jul 19, 2001 4:09 AM
The most comfortable saddle I've ever used. I have tried too many saddles to count & this is the one for me.

That being said two cautions.

1.)This is a very personal choice. Everyone's Butt is unique. Try as many different saddles as you can to find the one that fits you. I know this can get expensive, but IMHO if the saddle ain't comfortable the bike is worthless.

2.)Minor saddle adjustments make a hugh difference. Start with level and pay attention to wether you are sliding fore or aft on the saddle & then adjust (In very small increments) nose up or down. I found as an example theat the most comfortaqble position for me (on the Prolink) was a very slight nose up and pointed about 3 degrees right of dead center. It has something to do with how my Jewels sit.

The key is experimentation in small increments.
Good Luck.
I have a KoobiMikeC
Jul 19, 2001 8:05 AM
My Koobi Tri is fully split. I've had no numbness, and the thin gel layer is just right...it takes the edge off, without being too plush. The only problem is that I still have difficulty coming to terms with the price even after six months!
Thanks all!dinky
Jul 19, 2001 8:24 AM
I appreciate the two-bits! My bike came with the pave fizik and I have tried every possible adjustment in order to ease my discomfort. I've suffered through over 700 miles and am throwing in the towel. My butt bones just weren't making contact the way that they should so I was essentially riding on my biz. I will post a review as soon as I have had some saddle time. Hopefully this new guy will work out and then I will have a slightly used pave up for sale! Thanks all!