RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone out there used a MaxChill water bottle?(9 posts)

Anyone out there used a MaxChill water bottle?boy nigel
Jul 17, 2001 8:05 AM
Just wondering if they're as good as their Web site claims they are. They SOUND perfect (www.maxchill.com). Sure, they're $10.99 (24oz.), but if they keep stuff THAT cold and tasty, they'll be worth it.

Any reviews out there?

Cheers,
Nige
re: Anyone out there used a MaxChill water bottle?jagiger
Jul 17, 2001 9:00 AM
I've been using Polar bottles which are insulated & probably similar to MaxChill. I think they're great! I usually freeze some drink in the bottles before I go out & it helps quite a bite. Yesterday I was out for 38miles (2h40m) & the second bottle was lukewarm but not obnoxious. I will probably freeze more liquid the next time. For rides under 1 hour, I've been real happy.

I got these bottles for $7 on sale at Performance Bike. If you surf around you can probably find the MaxChill or Polar bottles for a similar price. Check their websites to see if their is a noticable difference & take it from there.
One other thingjagiger
Jul 17, 2001 10:20 AM
On another ride with the Polar bottles (30+Mi) I froze too much gatorade in both bottles & I had to leave one of the tops open to aid the warming process. You have to play with it, but too cold is a good thing!
re: Polar Bottles!!!Taylor_A
Jul 17, 2001 9:12 AM
Try the polar bottles, they are great.

I usually freeze on completely and half of the other. They are good for a couple of hours on a hot day. Much better than regular bottles.
Another vote for polar bottlebianchi boy
Jul 17, 2001 10:10 AM
I've used Polar Bottles for a year and I'm sold on them. I fill mine with ice cubes and then top off with water. They stay cold for at least an hour and cool for much longer.

I haven't used Max-Chill but read a review in which they panned them. Apparently they are surrounded by a wet sleeve that cools the bottle by evaporative cooling. They cool fine, but the sleeve tends to collect dust and get very dirty under the right conditions.
Yet another vote for PolarLardog
Jul 17, 2001 10:55 AM
I have two larges. Their utilization depends on how hot it is and how long your ride is. If it's hot and I'm going for a 30 miler, I just add ice. If I'm doing a 6 hour with a 15 mile uphill killer I'll just about freeze two completely and put my under seat cages back on for them. Two regulars full of ice to make 4 total.
I don't get itHUH
Jul 17, 2001 12:54 PM
Why does it matter so much that your drink stays cold? Personally, I would much rather have 4 extra oz of water than cold water.
Because...JamesT.Kirk
Jul 17, 2001 2:31 PM
I think I read somewhere that cold water is easier for your system to absorb and that it helps lower your core temperature... Maybe someone else knows for sure?
here's the deal....wingnuts
Jul 17, 2001 7:09 PM
cold water is actually harder for your body to absorb and it also takes more energy for your body to use it. that's because it cannot be integrated into your system until it is the same temp. as your internal environment (98.6 degrees), and it takes energy for your body to heat the water. that's energy that your body could be using in other ways (ie. riding faster). so warm water is actually more efficient. however, im not going to be the one to deny that a cold drink of water on a hot day is way tasty. :)