RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Comfortable Road shoes...do they exist?(12 posts)

Comfortable Road shoes...do they exist?JohnnieM
Jul 16, 2001 11:42 AM
Hey everyone,

Time for a new pair of road shoes. The ones I have are extremely light, but also extremely uncomfortable.

I get pain in my right foot right around the front sides, behind my toes. This happens after 10 miles or so into a ride.

Anybody have any recommendations for good shoes in the $150 range. Light weight would be appreciated, but comfort is my number one concern. Maybe a little wider in the front.

Thanks!
-john
Yes, of course...MrCelloBoy
Jul 16, 2001 12:39 PM
but some peoples feet are badly designed.
I've had good experience with a pair of Silver Shimano Road shoes circa 1993.
Lately I'm considering a pair of MTb or touring shoes so that I don't have to tippy-toe or skate around when I stop for coffee on club rides or in rest stops on Centuries, Etc.
No, of course...ET
Jul 16, 2001 12:56 PM
No pain, no gain. :-)

I've had some luck with Shimano; give them a try.

Sure, you can find extra wide shoes out there, but then they're falling off at the heel. It's hard to find shoes that are both snug enough at the heel and yet roomy in the toes. I think it's a conspiracy out there. Or maybe it's that these shoes are all designed for some slim-footed Italian rider we all want to emulate.
I like my Sidi Genius >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Live Steam
Jul 16, 2001 1:02 PM
They have a nice wratchet system for adjusting on the fly. Read the reviews in the "Product Reviews" section. It has lots of info! :-)
I like my Sidi Genius >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Mabero
Jul 17, 2001 4:21 AM
Plus they are very comfortable! But they do run a little narrow...

Specialized has a really good shoe out there that is for a wider foot...it was designed really well to help with the contrast between pedaling and walking.
re: Comfortable Road shoes...do they exist?Lardog
Jul 16, 2001 1:15 PM
Sidi is the way to go. I've never had anything but. Just ordered the latest pair today. Energy 2001. They are $220+ anywhere around here. I ordered from Zonabici. They are an INCREDIBLE $120 plus shipping and any customs. Shipping is somewhere around $20 and I can't imagine customs being more than $15. Sidi makes a *mega* shoe for wider feet. Check 'em out.
re: Comfortable Road shoes...do they exist?Live Steam
Jul 16, 2001 1:39 PM
I ordered a second pair from Zonabici and no customs duty was due. Something to do with the dollar value and the fact that it was clothing.
re: Comfortable Road shoes...do they exist?siclmn
Jul 16, 2001 1:36 PM
First go and find the right size sidi shoe that fits you perfectly. Then order it from that place in Ireland where you will save about eighty bucks. Then when you get them go to a good sports shop that sells ski boots in the winter and have them make you some custom footbeds for your new shoes. You will now have the primo setup.
re: Comfortable Road shoes...do they exist?cracker1972
Jul 16, 2001 1:49 PM
Sidi Energy - Absolutely amazing, but I don't have particularly wide feet.
Sidi's are brutal on MY feet. Try Nike Poggio'sJ.S.
Jul 16, 2001 2:10 PM
Have a pair of Sidi's gathering dust in my closet. I have wide feet and my old carbon soled Lakes rule. Of all the new shoes I've tried the new Nike Poggio's with carbon soles feel the best, gonna by a pair in a few weeks, and they are the lightest shoes on the market as a bonus.
Sidi'scoonass
Jul 16, 2001 3:39 PM
Try a pair of Sidi "Megas"....they're wider.
OrthodicsCar Magnet
Jul 16, 2001 4:12 PM
I actually had a similar problem with my right foot. I tried Nike, Shimano (Carbon sole) and Sidi Genius 3. Same problem with all 3 shoes, left foot okay - right foot hurt like hell. I tried different footbeds without much luck until I tried Peterson Powerbed (Cycle Powerbed). Bam!! Pains gone. I use the Powerbed in my right shoe without the stock insole (They say to install over the stock insole but then there's no room for your foot) and wear the left shoe as is. I bought them at a Performance store for around $20-30 bucks. If that doesn't work you may need custom orthodics which can get pricey. Good Luck!!