RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Tire Pressure?(17 posts)

Tire Pressure?BQ
Jul 16, 2001 9:00 AM
I have Michelin Axial Pro's on my bike (came with it). Until yesterday, I'd been riding on about 115 lbs of pressure. When I took the time to read the sidewall, it said inflate to 87 lbs. Oops. I dropped the pressure, and it's a cushier ride and it corners better, but it feels more sluggish, like there's more rolling resistance.

My questions: Is it reasonable to ride at a higher pressure on Axial Pro's or should I go with the mfg rating? What pressure to you ride vs. what the sidewall on the tire says? Isn't there an increased risk of pinch flats at the lower (albeit recommended) tire pressure?
87 psi? You sure?cory
Jul 16, 2001 9:07 AM
87 is a weird number for tire pressure. I don't have any axial pros around to look at, but every tire I DO have has the pressure ending in either 5 or 0--100 psi, 115 psi, etc. Most gauges are off by a pound or two or three, so you can't measure that precisely anyway. 87 (in addition to being pretty soft for skinny road tires) is just...odd.
I'd expect a decent quality tire to carry at least 100 psi (somebody will correct me if I'm wrong). At 87, assuming they're 700x23 or so, I think you risk pinch flats unless you're pretty light.
Yup.K1dude
Jul 16, 2001 9:49 AM
My Axial Pro's are 6 bar (87psi) recommended with a maximum of 8 bar (116psi). The LBS always inflates them to 85 or 90 psi when I go in for service. They have a compressor which is set to turn off automatically when 90psi is reached.
BTW, they're 700 X 23. (nm)K1dude
Jul 16, 2001 9:51 AM
(nm) = no message
axial pros are 120psi maxColnagoFE
Jul 16, 2001 9:17 AM
i think. 87 would be WAY too low unless you are running mountain bike width tires. maybe you are reading the Bar rating?
axial pros are 120psi maxBarney Gumble
Jul 16, 2001 11:06 AM
You should "think". Then you would realize what a mistake you just posted. 1 bar equals 14.5 psi (slightly less that standard atmospherical pressure) 87 psi equals 6 bars.

87 bars would equal 1,262 psi!
actually i was thinkingColnagoFE
Jul 16, 2001 11:38 AM
that it was max of 8 something bars and the poster was reading the 6 at the end incorrectly...or that it was 8.6 or something to that effect. In any event I use PSI and not bars to measure air pressure so I'm not all that familiar with equivalents.
besides dudeColnagoFE
Jul 16, 2001 11:39 AM
you don't have to be an ass about it...you should think before you post.
who should be thinking? or taking a remeedialll englush class...speedmaestro
Jul 16, 2001 9:09 PM
Put the word "think" like this...at the end of a sentence...

"think." you will liearn that in your first collige class...

That is proper...oh and a little more humility before you embarassz yoreself will help. Try to understand the messige you are reeding before you rite it... jeez.
no idea what you're talking aboutColnagoFE
Jul 17, 2001 9:21 AM
but you're definately an ass. by the way...i already have a BA in English so shut it ya troll. nobody is composing shakespeare here and i could care less if you think someone appointed you the grammar police. we're just flappin our gums about bikes. no big whoop.
Axial Pro's Tire Pressure?Ken K
Jul 16, 2001 9:29 AM
Just last night I was looking at the Axial Pro's I bought a few months ago. They were both purchased at the same time at the same store. One tire is marked as 110 PSI max. The other tire is marked as 87 PSI min, 116 PSI max. Does anyone know why there is a difference? Did Michelin change the specs on the the Axial Pros? Their website has no info on tire pressure.

Ken
My Axial Pro's are labeled with 116 psi maxMike K
Jul 16, 2001 11:48 AM
Actually the last 5 I have purchased have been labeled that way. They seems to roll pretty well at that pressure.. I would not ride them at 87 psi - seems rather low..
was that 8.7 BAR??????d_alex
Jul 16, 2001 9:42 AM
Which would be 8.7*14.7psig(atm pressure)=127.9psig. I really doubt that they would be rated at ONLY 87 psig.
re: was that 8.7 BAR??????BQ
Jul 16, 2001 11:58 AM
Based on the comments here, I suspect that it was a minimum of 87 psi with a max around 120. I'll have to look more closely at the tires this evening. Maybe I'll chalk the lettering on the tire -- black on black isn't easy for me to read. It's kind of like the white lettering on the white background that I've typed below.

See what I mean?
;-)
25's max is 95-100, 23's should be 110johnrg
Jul 16, 2001 7:07 PM
From Michelin Tech article in previous Velo News racers are running up to ten pounds less than max I stated above. 25's designed for Paris-Robaix and the article stated many riders are over-inflating tires and complaining of poor rain traction. I run the 25's at 90/93 f/r on most rough roads and smooth roads at 92/95. 87 lbs. sounds like a min pressure for a lightweight on 23's though more appropriate on 25's.
And the answer is...BQ
Jul 17, 2001 5:53 AM
After seeing your comments, I went back and scrutinized what was on the sidewall of the tire more closely. It's tough to read, which probably accounts for why I missed it the first time. The sidewall says: 87 min, 116 max.

I think I'd better get the prescription checked on my glasses.

Thanks for the input, everyone.
dontcha git a pinch-flat, y'hear? (nm)d_alex
Jul 17, 2001 6:35 AM