RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Seats with the Hole in the center? Opinions please.(16 posts)

Seats with the Hole in the center? Opinions please.UW Mitch
Jul 16, 2001 8:41 AM
So I'm riding a Specialized Rockhopper with slicks to try and get into shape for a 75 mile ride (2 months away). I noticed some discomfort with the original seat, so I bought some Pearl Izumi chamois shorts, which for the most part solved my problems on the shorter rides. Now that I'm adding on a little more milage at a time, by the end of my ride I'm feeling some pressure down there. So I'm wondering if those seats with the hole in the center are worth the investment, or if I just need to train more and/or work on my technique?

For those who have seats with the hole in the center, which ones do you have/ have you tried what are your thoughts.

Thanks,
Mitch
I have...MrCelloBoy
Jul 16, 2001 9:00 AM
A Bontrager saddle (SST-SX?) which was on my Fisher Sugar 2 when I bought it. It's got one of those "hidden" (covered-up) cutouts. The seat is "invisible" meaning I hardly notice it at all, which is a GOOD thing! The Terry "Fly" I've used on both my road bike and road tandem isn't as padded or as comfortable. I'm going to try a "Butterfly" (the slightly wider and softer womens model, on the new tandem. My sweetie likes that one on her Mtb and road bike.
Hey, doesn't matter if it's a women's or men's saddle if it works!
Try a Terry - Moneyback guaranteeMeDotOrg
Jul 16, 2001 9:01 AM
Try a Terry Liberator of Fly. If you don't like it, they have a moneyback guarantee. Seats are a extremely subjective choice, but I rode a Terry Liberator 575 miles in a week with no discomfort.
Terry Men's FlyBQ
Jul 16, 2001 9:17 AM
is what I ride. Unlike MrCelloBoy, I have found it comfortable, though all that says is that everyone has different rear ends and different needs. I wouldn't recommend it for everyone, but it works for me.

I got it for better sit-bone support, not for numbness. I had tried Selle Italia Flite, which has a great reputation, but it left my sit bones bruised after every ride.

As near as I can tell, the state of the art in saddles today requires some experimentation on the part of the consumer. Your best bet may be to enlist the help of your LBS.
More saddle timeCliff Oates
Jul 16, 2001 9:37 AM
You mainly need to be concerned about anatomic saddles when you cease to feel anything down there. I ended up with a Terry Fly (2 actually -- one for each bike), and Terry's 60 day satisfaction guarantee is tough to beat. I began a saddle search after I was numb for 8 hours or so after a century ride.

Stand up in the pedals periodically and stretch on the longer rides, that will help relieve soreness and tension. If you've just now made the change to cycling shorts, then I have to assume that your cumulative mileage is relatively low and that your primary task should be to give your butt more saddle time. If you find that your present saddle is agonizing after 30-50 miles, then you ought to shop around, but for now, just spend time on your bike.
More saddle timeKen56
Jul 16, 2001 10:48 AM
As others have said, saddles are very subjective and what works for me, may not work for you. I have the Terry Men's Liberator now going into it's 3rd season and I like it. However, let me tell you that the typical long, narrow men's saddle is like torture for me. The best advice was to work with your LBS on finding a saddle that fits you. Good luck.
Ken
More saddle time- I second that opinion9WorCP
Jul 16, 2001 12:52 PM
A lot of times it's a matter of your body adjusting to the demands of cycling and it takes time to develop an iron ass. Another thing: try different saddle angles and positions on the seat post. Sometimes an adjustment of a couple millimeters fore or aft, up or down makes all the difference. For numbness, sometimes dropping the nose a degree and keeping the sit bones on the wide part can solve this problem.

Experiment.
Selle Italia Max Flite Trans AmRich Clark
Jul 16, 2001 11:42 AM
I have one of these on each bike, and they cured what ailed me. The Max is slightly wider than the Flite Trans Am, which also has a center hole, and it has a little bit of shock absorption through elastomer-mounted rails.

Saddles are of course a personal fit issue, and the most important advice is to find a source that will let you return saddles you don't like. It may take three or four tries before you find the right saddle -- it did for me.

I believe Selle Italia makes the Fly for Terry, too. Not sure if it's an exact clone of one of their models, though.

RichC
I have the "Flite Trans Am"Jim Burton
Jul 16, 2001 3:53 PM
It's not the "Max" version. I love this saddle! I never thought a saddle could feel this good...to me. I stress the "to me" because some people absolutely HATE the Italia shape. You really have to try saddles to find the one you like. On the other hand, if you don't have many miles in, all saddles will feel a little uncomfortable.
Used Saddle CollectionDCP
Jul 16, 2001 12:04 PM
I've had the Flite Trans Am, but only for about 200 miles. Its narrow like the Flite but with a hole in the center.

The bike came with one of the Selle Italia gel insert saddles. I found the gel to place pressure in all the wrong places. Then I went with the saddle that was on my MTB (I can't remember the brand), but between different seating positions and longer road time (and more sitting time), it wasn't comfortable. I still am unsure about the Flite Trans Am, but it is the best thus far.

Saddles are personal, and now that I am on the third saddle in six months in search of a comfortable one, I am developing quite a used saddle collection.
I just fit my Rockhopper with 1in slicks >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Live Steam
Jul 16, 2001 1:09 PM
I did this to ride with my girlfriend. When I'm on my racing bikes I tend to want to push it. She isn't up to speed yet so I ride the Rockhopper. The gearing suits a fast spin with a slower speed. It looks cool too with those skinny little tires on it.

As for the "seat with a hole in it" - I love my Selle Italia Max Trans Am saddles. I have one on all of my bikes. Very supportive yet compliant on the package. I had a gel saddle and it sent me to the specialist for an Ultra Sound. I saw stars for a few days. My privates really didn't like that gel saddle. :-(
secret=cruisers...and another rockhopper here...Haiku d'état
Jul 16, 2001 1:17 PM
had to take that flat/hard stock saddle off my (99) rockhopper and replace it with the specialized bgc, now both road bikes and the mtb have the same saddles. haven't had any problems with the bgc, long ride=102 miles this year. took some fiddling to get them adjusted, though.

on pacing yourself for the wife, these have worked for me:

40 pound cruiser
35 pound SS cruiser
mtb w/knobbies in very high gear, seated (no shifting)

add to any of them:

towing child in child carrier/trailer (have to keep it smooth once the little one's eyelids get heavy)

and:

ride moderately with wife, follow immediately with long solo ride on road bike
secret=cruisers...and another rockhopper here...Live Steam
Jul 16, 2001 1:37 PM
I was using the knobbies, but I couldn't stand the sound they made on the pavement. Slicks seemed like the easiest (read cheapest) solution. I thought about a nice Milano or something similar, but I just bought her the Trek so ................. Maybe next year or at the end of this season I'll look around. She says she prefers me to be in front of her rather than behind. It's this going slow to smell the flowers stuff that is difficult. I no racing champion, but I do have a need for speed. I find it hard to hold back and not pull too far ahead of her. I amy look for a tandem one day. A friend bought one and he says he and his wife have a nice time on it. They attend some events with it as well as going to tandem only rides. I guess it makes for a nice weekend cruiser.
check your local newspaper on sunday morningHaiku d'état
Jul 16, 2001 1:52 PM
bought my (geared) cruiser from an lbs after they rebuilt the rear wheel, and the owner lost interest. probably cost more than he paid for the bike. it cost me $54.

bought the ss cruiser from an ad in the sunday paper. one ring in back, one in front, coaster brake, big wide handlebars, squeeky saddle, $30.

most recent purchase is the best so far: the late 60s raleigh sprite, now in pieces on a dropcloth in the garage. beautiful lugged touring frame, north road bars, swiss-made rear rack, shifter mounted on a clamp around the headset. cost me $5.

go
they work for mebianchi boy
Jul 17, 2001 6:07 AM
I have two saddles with holes in the middle -- a Serfas on my Rockhopper mtn bike, and a Selle Italia Max Flite Transam on my road bike. Both of them work as advertised, in my case. I previously had a thickly padded gel saddle on the Rockhopper and still had problems with numbness and discomfort. No such problems at all with the Serfas. My brother is a lot bigger than me and had all sorts of saddle problems until he tried a Serfas, which has worked well for him on his road and mtn bike. The Transam Max is not as cushy as the Serfas, but I actually prefer that on longer rides. It takes 100 or so miles to break it in, but very comfortable after that, although firm. I have never had any numbness problems at all with the T-Max.
Thanks for the input!UW Mitch
Jul 17, 2001 7:23 AM
Morning all,

Thanks for the input! Right now a 20 mile ride is a workout for me. Once I get comfortable enough to be going 30-40 miles I guess I'll see how I feel...although I'll stop by the LBS to check out what he has.

Thanks,
Mitch