RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help me pick a road bike!(13 posts)

Help me pick a road bike!bigbon
Jul 14, 2001 2:37 PM
What is the best road bike for under $600? Thanks!
Trek 1000 no doubt about it (NM)GTrider215
Jul 14, 2001 5:24 PM
ryegadhtbdg
I agree, go for the 1000. (I have one). (nm)ALLEN
Jul 14, 2001 6:41 PM
re: Help me pick a road bike!quinroo
Jul 14, 2001 6:53 PM
i'm not a bike expert or anything, but i have been recently in your shoes. my limit was the same as yours, and i was on a search for a good road bike, with the help of my cyclist boyfriend. the advice i can give is to look at ebay and classifieds. i found some good stuff that way, but it didn't work out for one reason or another. what i ended up doing was finding a last-year's-model bike i liked that was a bit out of my price range (as listed on the manufacturer's website), and then calling around to see if any bike shops were having closeouts. lo and behold-- i found the bike i wanted, price dropped by $100, and now in my price range! just a tip, and good luck finding your bike!

-qr
re: Help me pick a road bike!RandyMH
Jul 15, 2001 3:52 AM
I agree with Quinroo. I was also in your shoes about a month ago. The only 2 bikes that I found in that price range in my area (Dallas) was the Motobecane and the Giant OCR3. I hear the OCR3 is a pretty good bike for $599.00. The next closest bike to my price range was the Trek 1000 $659.00. I opted for a Cannondale R400 that I got a good deal on. It was over my budget, but worth the wait. If it take 2-3 weeks to get another $100.00-$150.00 to buy a Trek 1200 or Cannondale or any other bike that falls within that 750, 800 range it might be wise to do so. Also like Quinroo metioned try to find close outs. My wife got her Cannondale R300 (which is the same as the R400) for about $$200.00 off it original price.

Also if your going to look on ebay make sure you get fitted to each bike tha you are thinking of buying. A lot of the bikes fit different and just because you are a 56cm in one does not mean you are a 56cm in another. I looked all over the net for a bike, but ended up in a store because when I got fitted I found out I would not fit any standard bike without some modifications that the shop was willing to do for free. If I would have bought a used bike I would have hade to pay for all of the parts and service. Another thing to think about is, most bikes have a lifetime frame warranty, if you buy a used bike that warranty is void. I very new to biking so I'm not sure how often a frame may crack so it may not be a big deal. Just some things to consider.
Hope this helps
Got to go do my Sunday morning ride
Good luck
Ebay...GTrider215
Jul 15, 2001 5:38 AM
I'de be extremely careful on ebay and stuff. Its best if you are able to get your hands on the bike and ride it before you buy it. Thatd suck if u bought a bike off of ebay and think its your size and everything but when u get it its really way to small or way to big or something and u dont like it. But be careful n some people try to rip u off. and the pictures of the bike look in good condition but its really a crap pile and stuff liek that.
I think I will get.....bigbon
Jul 15, 2001 7:38 AM
a Giant OCR 3. I saw one at the bike shop yesterday and it looks awesome. It was $575. One good thing is it has a Selle Italia gel seat. How much do you think this bike weighs? I guessed around 23-25 lb.
Did you ride it??Kristin
Jul 15, 2001 8:00 AM
I'd ride all three bikes before choosing. You'd be amazed at the differences you'll experience between them--even as a novice. When I first looked at the Trek 1000, I was sure it was the bike for me. But, I'd have a hard time fitting on that bike. So, it wasn't the bike for me. The downside to test rides is the temptation to adjust your budget. I increased mine, and am glad I did. I'm only sorry I didn't have enough money to get a $1400+ bike. (I'm not helping, am I?)
Nobigbon
Jul 15, 2001 8:16 AM
I was just stopping in and it was real busy in there. I was drawn to it because of the paint job which is identical to my mtn bike. I just emailed the shopowner about a layaway plan. Most people would not need to layaway a $600 bike but most people aren't 15 with no job!
Go to "product reviews on this site . . . . . . .Grinder
Jul 15, 2001 2:42 PM
There are 18 reviews of the OCR2 (I think) which is what I bougt this weekend. Like you I was keeping an eye out for an OCR3 as that look awesome!!!!!!! and re the rightproce range. I ended up with an OCR2, one step better. Weigt was 23.5lbs.

Everything is adjustable on the bike so it'll fit you one way or the other

e-mail me if you want (don't kow why but the offer is there LOL)

grinder@inxpress.net

Rod
Im 15 wit a job..GTrider215
Jul 15, 2001 6:12 PM
yup im fellin pretty special, 15 here wita job. i work 2 hours a day 140 bux a week. yup i felt special, i walked in the bike store... after test riding the trek 1000 numerous times and pissing every employee at the store off, and i walked in and payed for my beast cold hard cash. lol geta job fellow
Im 15 wit a job AND NO BILLS! LOLGrinder
Jul 15, 2001 7:12 PM
Wait till you start to accumulate . . .stuff! Like a house, girl friend, car insurance, health insurance, lawn lower blades, etc etc.
re: Help me pick a road bike!dmul98
Jul 17, 2001 8:42 AM
Don't rule out the Fuji Finest. I've been riding one for 2 months now and I think it's a great bike. Whatever you decide, make sure you get a proper fit. Good luck.