RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Campy - Differences between Chours and Record?(28 posts)

Campy - Differences between Chours and Record?Griff
Jul 13, 2001 11:25 AM
I am buliding a bike and considering the Chours group, but I noticed many riders seem to use Record which is much more expensive. I am sure it is better but for my first bike what would be the major differences and is it really worth the extra money?
I am building a Torelli nivachrome genius frame, profile carbon fork, krysiums, ck head set, ect.
I am 6' 205 lbs and new to road biking and really looking forward to the workouts.
Thanks much, Griff
re: Campy - Differences between Chours and Record?cwa
Jul 13, 2001 11:49 AM
There probably isn't too much difference functionality-wise. Record is lighter because it uses carbon fiber and Ti for certain parts. The rear derailleur body is cf as are the brake levers. Record also has the integrated crankarm/spider thing. I believe Record hubs have a grease port while Chorus does not.
grease port is worthless anywayColnagoFE
Jul 13, 2001 1:30 PM
you really need to overhaul your hubs periodically...greaseport or not. I think the only diff in the hubs other than the greaseport is that record hubs have a TI skewer and those funky little rings on the QR. I went Chorus for everything except Record hubs, and HS (went King). You may want to upgrade to a record crank, but other than that I can't think of much to upgrade.
Weight due to CF parts.AFred
Jul 13, 2001 12:21 PM
re: Campy - Differences between Chours and Record?jschrotz
Jul 13, 2001 12:31 PM
The difference is mostly in the material used in some of the parts. Functionally, they're practically identical. I've been riding Chorus groups for the last 9 years, and this year's group is amazingly nice. You won't go wrong with it. I would recommend upgrading the hubs to Record though. While you may not need the grease port all that often, it is handy when you do.
The Record crank is gorgeous. Once I needed to have thatbill
Jul 13, 2001 12:54 PM
crank, the difference in price between the two groups diminished, and I just went for Record.
The carbon levers look cool, athough it really hurts to scratch them. In the 2001 version, there is a slight modification to the rear brake (single pivot) at some additional weight savings. Between the Chorus and Record pedals (don't know whether you're thinking about these, but I like pro-fit pedals), the Record are significantly lighter (as I recall) and are better sealed. I think that there is a slight difference in headset, too, but I can't remember what it is.
Try http://branfordbike.com or their affiliate http://campyonly.com for more info.
chorus is the better value...C-40
Jul 13, 2001 1:13 PM
As others have noted the only siginificant difference is a couple of ounces less weight.

As far as function and longevity are concerned, chorus is just as good. The all steel cassette will last longer. Chorus is a great choice for a first bike.
chorus is the better value...Kim
Jul 16, 2001 11:23 AM
I've ridden Chorus for seven years, no problems. Whatever you get, if you keep your chain clean & your bike serviced, it will last longer than you wanna look at it!
go to www.campyonly.comkenyee
Jul 13, 2001 1:20 PM
They have a review on Record vs. Durace and in that review they come to the conclusion that Chorus is reallllly close to Record now. Unless you want some of the interesting carbon components in Record, don't bother.
Why Krysiums?Jerry Gardner
Jul 13, 2001 2:58 PM
Lose the Krysiums and you can apply the savings toward the full Record group.

What does an $800 wheelset buy you that a wheelset built from, say, Record hubs, Mavic Open Pro rims, and DT spokes won't? Bragging rights?
Why Krysiums?griff
Jul 13, 2001 5:44 PM
Great point, the krysiums I am using I got off this site for $450 and they are almost brand new, otherwise I would'nt put $800 wheels on this bike.
Question within a question..DINOSAUR
Jul 13, 2001 4:32 PM
I'm walking the line between Record and Chorus also. I keep on wondering about the cb brake and der if I ever happen to take another little tumble. My Utegra levers and der just got scratched up a tad, how does the cb stuff hold up? My postion is different though, this might be my last bike instead of my first, I'm thinking go with the Record stuff and screw it...
Question within a question..Cliff Oates
Jul 13, 2001 4:52 PM
I had some Record CF levers on my old bike that got whacked by a truck. They survived just fine and there is no reason for me to believe that Chorus levers would have been any better in this situation. That said, I like the look and feel of Chorus levers better than Record levers.

Ed, just get Record. You can always change bits later. Hell, that's half the fun, and you're not some kid on a restricted budget anymore.
A funny thing happened yesterday...DINOSAUR
Jul 13, 2001 5:07 PM
I was floating around in our above ground pool with my wife yesterday, and I brought up the new bike thing. I told her that I was just thinking about upgrading my Klein, and putting the new bike idea on hold for a while, basically because it took so long to get my Klein dialed in.
She said (and this was magic to my ears) "Why don't you just buy a new bike? It seems stupid to spend money on the bike you have now then turn around and buy a new bike".
Also I found out the owner of my LBS can give me a super deal when it comes time to take the plunge. Yep, doing business with the same shop for 11 years finally pays off. This might add fuel to the fire for LBS Vs mail order...
I've dealt with my LBS for 2.5yrs...dustin73
Jul 13, 2001 9:44 PM
bought 3 bikes, and a crap load of other stuff...Adam said he'd cut me a deal on a Chorus group. that made me happy...
A funny thing happened yesterday...Cliff Oates
Jul 14, 2001 3:37 PM
Not for me. The owner of the shop where I do business gave me a ride home from the hospital the day after my crash with a stop at the top of Mt. Hamilton to collect my bike from the maintenance shop there. What's mail order?

OK, so that means a Master Light with Record then? What color scheme (personally and FWIW, I like the orange lux)? Have you selected the non-group bits and pieces yet?
A funny thing happened yesterday...DINOSAUR
Jul 14, 2001 4:40 PM
Believe it or not, I'm still mulling around the new bike idea. I was talking to the owner of my LBS and he has a bunch of frames in his warehouse all about my size (58). A couple of names popped up; Seven and Tommasini. I didn't inquire about the frame materials. I kind of wonder if I am just buying a name on the Colnago, or if there are other quality steel frames available that are just as good for less price. I got stuck on Colnago as my LBS is a Colnago dealer. He said he could get me a Master X-Light, Chorus equipped for around $2300. Record would be a couple of hundred bucks more.
When it comes time I'll have a good talk with the owner and get his input. He doesn't care for all al bikes nor Shimano. My little upgrade on my Klein might be in order. My Ultegra sti levers are getting real sloppy after 15K, Shimano never again.

I climbed Mt Hamilton back in the early 80's. I took a little spill on the descent back down, just a little road rash but nothing major. I did the whole climb with one 12oz water bottle, of course I was younger then. I'd like to think smarter too, but perhaps not.

On the non-group pieces; the only thing I'm sure on is a San Marcos Eara saddle. I just installed one on my Klein last week and I love it.

If I do go Colagno, I like the Mapei team color, AD21.
A funny thing happened yesterday...Cliff Oates
Jul 15, 2001 2:09 AM
In the case of the Colnago, IMO, you're getting an $800 frame with a $500 paint job. From everything I've read, the Master Light is a bit on the heavy side with people quoting built bike weights of 20-21 pounds. In contrast, my Waterford comes in at 19.5 pounds with pedals and a 1.5 pound steel fork. A good modern steel frame is going to be in the same weight ballpark as a ti frame. For example, I was talking with a Columbine owner on Diablo one time and he said his 60cm True Temper frame weighed in at 3.1 pounds. Amazing. Of course, for $7,000, that frame had better be light (in addition to being a work of art and having some gold plated bits & pieces).

A bunch of us were doing an out and back from Livermore up the back side of Hamilton as a training run for the Deathride. I was going too fast when I hit the first switchback on the way back down and I crashed ugly. 2 wrist surgeries later and a bit wiser...

Cliff the insomniac
A funny thing happened yesterday...DINOSAUR
Jul 15, 2001 7:52 AM
I can identify with your wrist injury. I broke my right hand while doing the John Wayne thing at work six years ago. I only have about 85% use of the hand.

Waterford has spurred my interest a couple of times. The closest Waterford dealer is in Davis, a good trip down the hill from the foothills E/of Auburn. I'd like to buy locally in case I have any problems. I haven't completely iliminated al from the picture either. A Pinarello Opera with cb seat stays keeps on popping up in my mind.

Now that I have come back to ridding and have logged in 15K miles on my Klein, I am discovering what my likes and dislikes are as far as geometry. Yeah Colnago's do have eye candy paint jobs, but underneath the paint is a sweet riding, strong steel frame that will suit my needs. Maybe I'm a sucker for paint jobs or maybe it's because of my love for things italian. Weight doesn't bother me that much. I weight a good healthy 210. Then again, I stripped down my Klein in regards to what I pack on my rides and weight does make a difference as far as handling and response. I can notice the 9oz difference when I changed saddles.

Oh well, I'm in no hurry, still have research to do. I have a bike to ride in the meantime. One thing is sure, no more Shimano. I can't rebuild my sti levers, you have to buy them complete for a tidy sum for an old retired guy who has a teenage daughter.

0309AM, I have this problem if I drink coffee after dinner. I thought I was an early riser!!!

On an after thought, what is the name of your LBS? In case I might want to venture down to the bay area for a purchase...
A funny thing happened yesterday...Cliff Oates
Jul 15, 2001 8:30 AM
I'm not pushing Waterford, I just use my bike as an example because it is a top notch steel frame and because it is what I am familiar with. My LBS is Dublin Cyclery. Stone's over in Alameda is the big Waterford dealer in the Bay Area. My LBS is a little light on road bikes right now, but he's expanding his square footage (the shop next store finally went out of business) and is devoting a good chunk of the new space to a road area. He had a frame in the shop the last time I was there that was Scandium with the Columbus CF stays. Very light frame. It was American made, however I don't remember the manufacturer. One of the guys I ride with swears by aluminum, and since he is in the market for a bike to replace a crashed Raleigh 800, he is very tempted by it.

I was up because my wrist indicated it was time for another vicodin...
A funny thing happened yesterday...DINOSAUR
Jul 15, 2001 1:08 PM
My LBS is The Bicycle Emporium in Auburn. Large store, big inventory, lots of road bikes to choose from. I know the owner Bill Marengo. I feel comfortable doing business with him as he always steers me straight and never tries to sell me something I don't need. He mentioned Tommasisi to me , I clicked on the Tommasini web site and I was impressed. Colorado Cyclist also deals with the Tommansini line. I priced a Tommansini Sintesi (lugged steel) equipped with Campy Record for $2600 (excluding pedals). I'm just looking around and seeing what else is available so I don't get locked into Colnago.
I don't want to end up spending for more bike than I need. Just a good strong steel frame, eye popping paint and good components with geometry that fits.

Was your crash recent? I havn't been on the internet that much lately.
I figure I need to get more miles in than playing with my computer. I was on Vicodin also, they had me on morphine at the hosptial when I crashed last year and fractured four ribs. When I broke my hand vicodin did not cut the pain for the first couple of days. I found out that hand injuries are slow healing.

I love my Klein, but for a century bike, I'd choose something else that was more compliant and forgiving. I guess by now you have it figured out that I don't know what I want. Too many choices, it gets confusing after awhile. I'm to the point of just saying screw it and build up my Klein and ride it for a couple of more years.
A funny thing happened yesterday...Cliff Oates
Jul 15, 2001 2:33 PM
Yup, I figured out you're in shopping mode. I've seen a half dozen or so Tommasinis on the various rides I've done, and they look pretty good. Definitely buy from your local guy. You might ask him if he can get any American steel bikes. It's a tightly guarded secret, but our builders do very nice work too. Nicer than the Italians sometimes, even. My other bike is a steel Bianchi CX bike, and the Waterford replaced a lugged steel Bianchi Veloce, by the way. The Waterford is hands down the best of the three.

FWIW, with the paint upcharges (~$200 or so for panels and headtube) my Waterford frame would retail for around $1800 today. That puts it in a different league, at least in terms of price, than both the Tommasini and the Colnago.

Yes, I crashed on Father's Day and had surgeries that day and again on the 30th. I've got 4 pins sticking out of my wrist (underneath a cast) that are keeping things aligned for the next 4-5 weeks. I was given morphine when I was brought to the emergency room and prior to surgery, which is normal procedure. I'm going to be peeing in my pants the first couple of times I descend a 45 mph hill...

You definitely enjoy the summer while it's here. I'm off the bike for a while, so I bought a new computer to play with that should be ready for me to pick up tomorrow after work.
A funny thing happened yesterday...DINOSAUR
Jul 15, 2001 4:55 PM
Sorry to hear about your surgery, I had no idea. I have an idea what you are going through. I was off my bike for two months. I can tell you this, when you get back on your bike you will be so happy, your mishap will just be in the back of your mind. It will make you a better and wiser rider. Tough time of year to crash. Thanks for your input.
Good well soon
Ed (Dino)
A funny thing happened yesterday...pooper
Jul 16, 2001 10:53 AM
perhaps you boys ought to just e-mail youselves, where all 'private conversations' belong
Ask yourself if you'll be bitten by the upgrade bug anytime soonYellow
Jul 13, 2001 4:55 PM
I'm just trying to inject a different perspective into this thread.

If you find yourself frequently looking at the Record components, whether on another bike or catalog or on the net, then I would spring for the Record. The price difference itself justifies the hassle of selling and incurring depreciation on your old parts, and perhaps paying installation costs etc.

More importantly, you'll know you're at the pinnacle of component construction and beauty, which, to me, serves as motivation to better my riding skills. Can't blame the equipment if I fall short on goals :-)
I would not bother with the Record cassette. Although it isbill
Jul 13, 2001 7:12 PM
significantly lighter, I haven't heard too much good about its longevity (partial or full ti vs. steel chorus), and it is criminally more expensive.
re: Campy - Differences between Chours and Record?griff
Jul 13, 2001 9:46 PM
Thanks to all for your information!
I think I will go with Chours on this bike and on my next bike I will be able to make a more informed descision. My next bike?? Do I have the fever or what! Again many thanks. Griff
minor commentJohnG
Jul 14, 2001 12:54 PM
The "real" difference between Chorus and Record is only about 150gms (depending on cassette) and some very small "performance" differences. That being said, my 'pro' LBS recommended that I swap out the Chorus crank for the Record. Seems the Record is slightly stiffer..... looks much nicer too. ;)

good rides JohnG