RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any opinions on these 6 bikes?(9 posts)

Any opinions on these 6 bikes?Grinder
Jul 12, 2001 8:37 AM
1000 miles per year, 40-70 miles per ride (in case you are wondering), NOT fully loaded.

The local bike shops have the following in my price range and I've NOT test ridin them yet.

Cannondale T500
GT Force
Giant OCR2
Raleigh R300
Schwinn Super Sport
Trek 1000 triple
Only one of them, FWIWRhodyRider
Jul 12, 2001 9:08 AM
A friend purchased the Trek 1000T in May. He's a road newbie this season. (He also looked at/rode the GT and the Giant.) While his bike doesn't fit me (I can't ride it), I've been able to closely observe the Trek at length in the past two months. It's not a bad little package for the money (~$600?). Frameset seems good, average geometry, and he says it's not too brittle feeling. A lot of "no-name" components (crank, brakes, wheels, etc.) but all seem serviceable and adequate for entry-level riders. Sora derailleurs & STI levers are bare-bones, but seem to be of good enough construction to last a season or three. Overall, decent quality design, build, & finish. Sorry, can't offer ride quality feedback but there are some observations anyway. Enjoy your shopping!
Trek 1000Poulidor
Jul 12, 2001 10:12 AM
I have a Trek 1000 that I use exclusively as a foul weather bike (don't need to worry about aluminum rusting). I have put in around 1,000 miles on it and I would not recommend it for 40-70 mile rides. The frame has a very harsh ride and the Sora components are barely adequate. The brakes are abysmal and the shifting is sloppy. I also have my doubts as to the longevity of the components. The ride will jar the fillings out of your teeth on anything but the smoothest roads (even when using a high quality saddle with gel inserts - not the stock saddle).

It is an OK first road bike, but only for short rides and relatively low yearly mileage. I would recommend a steel framed bike and definitely get a better component group than Sora, if financially possible.
One consistent problem...MikeC
Jul 12, 2001 11:09 AM
is that you can't shift the Sora group from the drops (if that is an issue for you).
OCR 2Only300
Jul 12, 2001 11:17 AM
I just got the OCR 2 as a gift and love it. It is a bit more expensive than the Trek 1000 but it has better components. I rode both the OCR 2 and Trek 1000 and liked the feel of the OCR 2 better. The OCR 2 comes with a full Sora gruppo, the Trek 1000 does not. (The Sora gruppo is NOT that great, lots of clicking...some lube helps but i'm gonna upgrade as soon as I save up for it.) The OCR 2 also has a Cinelli bar which is great and a Selle saddle which after a break-in will feel better. The OCR 2 comes with Wellgo clipless pedals, not the best but pretty good.

It seems like you are a more experienced rider so I would recommend saving up a bit more and go into a higher price range (like the OCR 1, TCR 2, Trek 2200 or others)or upgrade the gruppo. Something with a Shimano 105 gruppo or a Campy Veloce or Daytona.

Steel might be a good option for you but you should test ride and then choose.

Good luck!
more experianced rider LOLGrinder
Jul 12, 2001 11:26 AM
Well - maybe I was 4 years ago but after a 500 mile ride where road temps were in the 130's I put the bike away for a while. Now I'm getting back into it and see that my "use to be good" bike is on the trailing edge of technology.

I have other things to waste $$ on (golf clubs) and am just looking for something that will do me for the next ten years. (besides my wife but that's a different forum LOL). :-) oops sorry ladies.
re: Any opinions on these 6 bikes?Dean
Jul 12, 2001 11:20 AM
I have a GT Force that is now my bad weather bike. I would not recommend this bike for longer rides. It has a very harsh ride. It is not a bad bike, but I would never ride it on a long ride again. For longer rides like this, I would recommend good steel. Check out gvhbikes.com. That is where I purchased my new bike from and he is great to work with and you will not beat his prices.
Consider looking at used bikesAndrew
Jul 12, 2001 1:12 PM
For that price range I would recommend going with a used bike. Bikes depreciate fairly quickly so you could find a fairly new bike with better componentry than the new ones you are looking for. Look for something with Shimano 105 at least. You may have problems getting Sora components to last you 10 years.

FWIW, my father-in-law just recently purchased a used Trek 2500 with full dura ace componentry for $850. It was in perfect condition. If you are patient you can find some really good deals.

JMO/JME,
Andrew
Consider looking at used bikesJ-man
Jul 25, 2001 9:54 AM
I have a Raleigh Grand Prix (Canadian). Do not buy the Raleigh... I have had nothing but trouble with this bike, the biggest problem has been the derailler tab has brocken twice now the first time Raleigh fixed it no problems under warrantee but the second time (only 1 month later) they will not fix it??? saying that its not covered under my warrantee because its happened twice??? (To me something happening twice is a sign of design/manufacturing fault) Beware of Raleigh they dont stand behind there product.