RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


This will cause a controversy(21 posts)

This will cause a controversyLazyrider
Jul 11, 2001 9:23 AM
but I will post it anyway. I found this article online about Litespeed the company.

Ooltewah Bicycle Headed for Top
By JAMES BEACH
Staff Writer
Barring catastrophe, Americans will celebrate Lance Armstrong's ride into the streets of Paris today as this country's second winner of the Tour De France, the world's premier cycling event.
The cheers will be especially loud from some folks in Ooltewah who provide Mr. Armstrong with his expensive racing bikes.
Litespeed Titanium Components Inc., based in the Ooltewah Industrial Park, is one of the world's top titanium bike manufacturers, and the company Mr. Armstrong has chosen to carry him to cycling stardom.
The bike Mr. Armstrong has pedaled across Europe in his quest to join three-time winner Greg LeMond as the only Americans to grab the cycling brass ring, bears the name Trek, another U.S. bike manufacture. Trek sponsors the U.S. Postal Service team of which Mr. Armstrong is a part.
By contract, though, Mr. Armstrong, who has overcome testicular cancer, has the right to choose his own performance bikes. His choice is Litespeed.
"We're all very excited for him, and I think everyone here is rooting for him. The bikes don't have our Litespeed name on them, but they are the ones we built and Trek purchased for him. Everyone on the U.S. Postal team rides a Trek bike except Lance Armstrong," said David Lynskey, president of the family business.
Mr. Armstrong was custom-fitted for the bike by John Cobb, a Litespeed dealer, after wind-tunnel testing at Texas A&M. Mr. Armstrong, as well as other top American cyclists, rode Litespeed bikes during the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta.
"Lance was a member of the Motorola cycling team and we sponsored it in previous years, so he was familiar with the cycle. He felt like he wanted to ride nothing but the best, and asked us to fit him and provide him the equipment, and we did so," said Mr. Lynskey.
Litespeed provides these cycles free for some world class competitors, but because of the Trek sponsorship, Mr. Armstrong had to pay for his Litespeed bike. The cost is about $6,000 per bike, according to Mr. Lynskey.
"If it says Litespeed, it's free, but if it says something else, it's going to cost you. They didn't mind paying for it," Mr. Lynskey said.
Mr. Lynskey said the company, which employs about 60 workers, stays in touch with Mr. Armstrong by phone, and almost everyone at the plant feels pride to see him doing so well.
The bikes Mr. Armstrong uses are built with a special alloy tubing that is 50 percent stronger and 50 percent lighter than the standard titanium tube in most racing cycles.
Mr. Lynskey's family got into the bike business after operating a metal fabrication business that worked with titanium. The company has become known for its expertise in the metal, which is difficult to work with because of the very properties which make it so ideal for competition: light weight and strength.
Originally a maker of bike frames, Litespeed moved into making complete bikes several years ago, and the company has flourished.
isn't this a little stale?Dog
Jul 11, 2001 9:28 AM
I think this came out 2 years ago. Not true anymore.

Doug
PlusLamerider
Jul 11, 2001 9:35 AM
it was a custom bike, so the Litespeed that Mr. Armstrong rides is not one that you can buy. And didn't he only ride a rebadged Litespeed in the TdF ITTs? A little false info or at least not the whole story, dontcha think? What year did Litespeed spnsor Motorola?
You certainly can buy one,TJeanloz
Jul 11, 2001 11:12 AM
Litespeed would be more than happy to build you an exact replica of Lance's 1999 Tour TT bike, in his size or yours. Last time I checked, it cost about $7,500 at retail (frame only). If you're willing to pay for it, Litespeed will build just about anything.
Macalu kicks Litespeed's butt.Hazy Rider
Jul 11, 2001 10:01 AM
Congratulations. Your first posting without the words Brooklyn, or idiot.

You are a limp poser on a glorified old Macalu with new decals.
Personally I think the Macalu looks better than the Litespeed, and it is much harder to find. Built by Litespeed but half the price.

Now why would Litespeed be over-rated? Because of wannabies like you who pay way too much for a designer label!

http://www.excelsports.com/catalog/page04.pdf
This, I don't understand...TJeanloz
Jul 11, 2001 11:14 AM
"Personally I think the Macalu looks better than the Litespeed"; it is well established that the Macalu and Litespeed Arenberg are exactly the same frameset- how can one 'look better' than the other.
uh, decals maybe???nm
Jul 11, 2001 11:15 AM
nm
decals?ColnagoFE
Jul 11, 2001 11:24 AM
And isn't the Russian made TI bike that Excel sells as Macalu the same as the Ovaltitan that Colnago sells? not quite the same cache as Colnago now you gotta admit.
Russian Colnago/Malacu one and the same.Hazy Rider
Jul 11, 2001 12:28 PM
I believe you are right. The second Malacu is probably made by the same people in Russia producing the Colnago Ti.

I spoke with a party in Canada who imports Colango independently.
He told me he could bring in the same frame without the Colnago label for half the cost.
re: This will cause a controversymackgoo
Jul 11, 2001 12:49 PM
This is really weird because every picture I've seen lance appears to be on a Trek that is of course unless Lightspeed has molded their seat stays to look like Trek and done away with their trade mark bowed seat stays. If they have then gee not only is it not a Trek but come to think of it it realy isn't a Litespeed either.
I really could care less what he rides but this is foolishness.
re: This will cause a controversyLarry Meade
Jul 11, 2001 12:58 PM
Here is the deal. In 1999 Armstrong rode a rebadged Litespeed in the Time Trial stages of the Tour. His bike for the road stages was a TREK OCLV. For 2000, TREK worked with him to develop a Time Trial bike so that he would not have to ride the Litespeed. He has not ridden a Litespeed in competition since. This is not the first time he has ridden Litespeeds. It was pretty common knowledge at the time that the "Eddy Merckx" he rode in the 93 worlds was a Litespeed under the paint. Thus the rumors of Motorola sponsorship. Litespeed did not sponsor Motorola but their frames were used from time to time.
It gets old having to explain this every three weeks huh?J.S.
Jul 11, 2001 2:04 PM
(nm)
My point in posting the article was toLazyrider
Jul 11, 2001 2:11 PM
see the crazy and irrational responses anyone gets to mentioning the dreaded word "LITESPEED" on this site. I know the article is 2 years old but it still has validity. All of you who react and comment every single fuc$%%%% time Litespeed is written, you have problems. It is like the 3 Stooges skit when the guy hears "NIAGRA FALLS" and turns into a homocidal maniac. "Slowly I turn". Litespeed evokes the same response. Fellas, IT IS A BICYCLE COMPANY NOT THE GESTAPO. You guys act like they are Philpp Morris selling cancer to people. My point in posting it was to show that your negative responses are predictable but I still don't know why and where this apparent hatered comes from.
I think you guys need to get laid so you can chill out a bit. I have visited this site regularly for years now and never posted until recently becuase of all you guys who respond so irrationally to a FU$%ING bicycle company. Yes if Trek didn't make Lance the newer TT bike, he would still be riding the disguised Litespeed. Remember, the year he rode it in 1999 he was undefeated on it in all three TT. That hasn't happened since for what its worth. I have seen more poser and yuppies riding c40s where I live because they are the most expensive so you should criticize Colnago for selling their bikes to these people because it will taint the bikes image. Maybe you should send the bicycle police to LBS to ensure what people buy is what they are worthy of so no posers or yuppies walk away with a bike that is beyond their abilities. YOU PEOPLE ARE NUTS WE are talking about bicycles!!!! Chill out. Take anger management course to deprogram your reactions to that trigger word "LITESPEED" before you wind up hurting someone. I am sure the intelligent, good humored people will see the point in this post. You other morons ill just continue your pathetic rantings. Douchebags what unbelievable Douchebags.
how many pact violations here???cg1
Jul 11, 2001 2:21 PM
troll
My point in posting the article was tocampyguy
Jul 11, 2001 3:06 PM
Wow, sounds like the only person that needs to relax is you. It takes a very very classy person to write the kinds of things you have written here. You may want to take your own advice and chill out a little yourself.

Also- don't think that anyone here is buying your statement that you posted this article just to get a rise out of people.
and our point was...Duane Gran
Jul 11, 2001 5:11 PM
Our point was simply to point out that this was true in the past (2 years ago) but not true today. I didn't detect any undercurrent of bad thoughts about Litespeed.

Besides, you acknowledged up front that it might create controversy. Why not just come out and announce some other old news (pending war from Germany, tech stocks overpriced, etc...) and see how well it goes over. Yesterday's newspaper is a yawn.

(apologies to everyone for feeding the troll)
re: This will cause a controversyjaybird
Jul 12, 2001 6:21 AM
Larry don't forget that all of Merckx's current ti bikes are still made by our friends at LS.
re: This will cause a controversyLarry Meade
Jul 12, 2001 1:11 PM
Yes I know this and I suspect that if Eddy didn't find their quality adequate, he would find someone else. As everybody pretty much knows, I am a Litespeed fan. I just don't address the people who bash Litespeed anymore because it is futile. I just ignore them as I do most other useless/uninformative/uninformed(?) posts. I am currently getting ready to get a Seven Axiom built so I can see how they stack up head to head. I have the itch for a custom bike and Seven looks like they have an excellent program. I like Litespeed but don't have a totally blind devotion to them.
re: A word of advicemackgoo
Jul 11, 2001 3:14 PM
Litespeed makes a fine bike, as attested to the fact; one they are still in bussiness, two every review I've ever read of the bikes from "professional " journalists was complimentry.
For people to feel they must point to age old info that is no longer the case only implys other wise.
re: News flash from Entertainment tonight.mackgoo
Jul 11, 2001 3:16 PM
Yes it's true, remember E.T.? It has been verified with out a doubt that was an early Litespeed prototype, and yes Lance Armstrong is E.T.!!!!
re: Just released from John Birch himselfmackgoo
Jul 11, 2001 3:18 PM
We all know that big business in general and the Rothchilds in particular run the world, but now just in we've learned they are, yes, you guessed it, they are doing it on Litespeeds!!!!!!!!