RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


airborne vs. mongoose titanium(14 posts)

airborne vs. mongoose titaniumHW
Jul 10, 2001 10:56 AM
Hi

I wanted to know what people thought about the airborne bikes (i.e. valkrye and zeppelin) and how they compare to the mongoose cipressa titanium road bike.
free kidney with Airborne purchase, compliments of Chinese govt.Go Huffy
Jul 10, 2001 11:15 AM
I spent about 40 miles on an Airborne Zeppelin on a club fast ride - talk about a disappointing bike ride - the thing is a noodle, it tracks horribly and weighs a ton.
Generally a waste of money that had garnered a lot of attention because of its low price and the e-commerce only, small guy against the world business model.
Well, how things change, Airborne is now owned by Huffy and sold via dealers but others things do stay the same - the frames are still made by the PLA (read: slave labor in factories owned by the Chinese People's Liberation Army - something to make you enjoy your ride!).
Why not look at the Litespeed built Macalu Ti frame (same thing as the Litespeed Classic) marketed by excelsports.com for under a grand? Classic Litespeed geometry and quality (without the high polished finish) for under a grand.. But no kidney or liver from not quite dead Chinese political prisoner as an added bonus - I guess you can't have everything after all...
... not to start an argument or flame war ...Akirasho
Jul 10, 2001 11:33 AM
and while not casually dismissing the atrocities committed against humanity by some Communist regimes... let's not be deluded into thinking that Capitalizm is "clean".

Be the bike.
thanks...Go Huffy
Jul 10, 2001 11:43 AM
You go find that "benevolent" communist regime, I'll stick to my capitalist ways and keep my liver....
You must be high!LWL
Jul 10, 2001 12:43 PM
If you think the Classic is stiffer than the Zeppelin. The Zeppelin is not a noodle, it is stiff in the BB, noticeably stiffer than the Classic and it tracks better than any bike I have ever ridden. It also climbs great with its short chain stays, only a few mm off of LS Ultimate. It is also lighter than the Classic, 56 Zeppelin 3.4lbs and Colarado cycclist listed the Classic 55cm at 3.6lbs. My Zeppelins weight is 17.5lbs with pedals. The Zeppelin was also Cycling Pluses bike of the year and not becouse of the price.
If you want a great bike at a great price buy the Airborne Zeppelin, if you want mediocre bike at a high price buy the Classic, if you want a decent price and a noodle buy the Macalu.
What about Nicoletti Ti frames?LC
Jul 10, 2001 11:35 AM
These guys sell a Ti frame for $699?

http://www.nicolettibike.com/frame.htm
What about Nicoletti Ti frames?nope
Jul 10, 2001 11:57 AM
At first glance they aren't very clear on their specs: c-t or c-c? They also seem to think that the same seat angle is OK for all size frames, pretty suspect (even though Look does the same on theircarbon frames).
What about Nicoletti Ti frames?Mike K
Jul 10, 2001 12:12 PM
They don't "look" bad but I would have a very hard time buying a bike before actually riding it..
I will second the Airborne comments above (outside of the political implications which are probably right on either way) I had the chance to ride both their road bike and their MTB bike. While I would have not been incredibly disappointed if I had ordered their MTB (Lucky Strike) but I would have really hated myself if I had bought the road bike (a friend has both - hates the Zeppelin) - Neither bike is really "exciting" but the Zeppelin was really disappointing in its lack luster response in climbing and out of the saddle sprints (probably because its rear triangle is really flimsy).
My suggestion would be not to get hung up on owning a Ti bike but rather on finding a bike that fits your price range, body type and riding style be it steel, Ti, carbon or aluminum. The really low end Ti stuff just does not seem to deliver on the promise of Ti - the ride quality of good steel and the weight of aluminum - lower end Ti stuff tends to be more about being Ti rather than being a great bike..
re: airborne vs. mongoose titanium4bykn
Jul 10, 2001 12:55 PM
I've been riding my new Airborne Zep for 4 months now and I have to say that it is a very nice bike. Contrary to what some other "experts" say, it is not heavy, mine is built up with Ultegra and is a shade over 19 pounds. A noodle? No way. I've yet to detect any flex in the frame, even when out of the saddle climbing (with my 195 pound body). I find it tracks well, more so than the bike it replaced. Airborne is NOT owned by Huffy, both companies are owned by the same parent company, there is a difference. The frames are NOT built by slave labor or political prisoners, despite what some people are claiming, they are built by relatively well-paid skilled workers.
Compared to the Mongoose? Can't help you there as I've no experience with that bike. Please note that you can't believe everything you read about Airborne here, they seem to be a favorite target of some of the faceless crowd here.
Now I've done it, I've just set myself up for some criticism/bashing. Oh, well, give me your best shot.
re: airborne vs. mongoose titaniumSteveS
Jul 10, 2001 4:32 PM
Where I just love these little non-stop debates, the place to find the opinion of real riders and owners of a given bike is in the Reviews section of this website. On occasion a guy will fake a post claiming to have ridden this or that frame, but you can weed them out fairly easily when they don't match the preponderance of reviews. I suggest that you start there first and read about both bikes. At the time I am writing this, there is a new review of the Zeppelin by a person who is a real owner. Read his review first and go from there.
Did he get the free kidney or liver with the bike? (nm)Go Huffy
Jul 10, 2001 5:25 PM
reviews here helpful but...DaveG
Jul 10, 2001 7:47 PM
they are usually slanted towards the positive. Most reviews here tend to be a rationalization for why the owner's bike selection was flawless. Useful info at times, but not all that objective.
objective review? maybe..if done by robotsjoiii
Jul 10, 2001 9:41 PM
not to flame anybody but how can a human being make an objective review?
reviews here helpful but...SteveS
Jul 10, 2001 9:50 PM
Actually, thats as objective as you get other than magazine reviews. The opinions of people who make their judgments on ads, pretend "test rides", etc. are of no value whatsover. The reality is that buyers who are vastly dissatisfied with a product will ream it out. When dozens love it, what does a naysayer use to prove his unbiased objectivity?

Plus, with a 10 day return policy (at Airborne's expense), no buyer has to justify their purchase. They don't like it, they call and the bike is picked up. The people who reviewed and liked their bikes are quite real and have the intelligence to return a product that they wouldn't like. They didn't. Reality bites.