RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


looking for STIFF climbing/sprint steel frame, suggestions(24 posts)

looking for STIFF climbing/sprint steel frame, suggestionsmtnhigh
Jul 9, 2001 6:38 PM
re: looking for STIFF climbing/sprint steel frame, suggestionsol'
Jul 9, 2001 7:55 PM
look into waterford bicycles. They use diferent tubing for every size frame the make and could use what ever tube thickness you want.
Check custom buildersmike mcmahon
Jul 9, 2001 8:11 PM
Almost all custom builders build in steel. Many work with different types of steel, allowing you to use one type or mix them. Going custom allows you input into the details that will result in stiffness, lightness, etc. I went with a custom Foco frame from Carl Strong at http://www.strongframes.com. He builds in a wide range of steels. Others who are doing good work in steel are Anvil (various steels) and Steelman (I believe Reynolds only). These are only three of the numerous builders out there who can almost certainly satisfy your needs. Happy shopping.
questions for you mikejoe mathe
Jul 9, 2001 9:24 PM
Looks as though you put some thought into your steel purchase. Are you aware of any site with information concerning the various steel tubing available, and thier properties as they relate to bicycles? Or, did you just ask around, and learn as you go?

Thanks,
questions for you mikemike mcmahon
Jul 9, 2001 10:27 PM
Many builders' sites have information about various steels. Unfortunately, much of it is manufacturer's propaganda. I did find a site that compared various steels by various manufacturers, but I lost the link to it. I do know that Strong's site has a section that gives details on the steel he uses in his builds. In addition to reading the information on these sites, I e-mailed and spoke with a few builders. After talking it over with Carl, I decided that Foco would best suit my needs. Also, I've had good experience with Columbus in the past, and felt comfortable with their products. If you're interested in finding some side-by-side comparisons of Columbus, Reynolds, and True Temper, you might run a search engine search using those terms, along with "steel" and "frame". There are some great deals out there on custom steel frames. Good luck.
another question for you mikeAD14
Jul 10, 2001 7:34 AM
I just ordered a custom foco frame and the builder cautioned me that it will not be as stiff as my colnago but will be lighter. I read one of your posts and we are the same weight. Is your foco frame stiff enough, and what else that you have ridden compares to it in bottom bracket flex?
another question for you mikemike mcmahon
Jul 10, 2001 9:51 PM
I haven't noticed any problem with bb flex on the Foco frame after approximately 3000 miles. I rode an EL-OS frame for five years and haven't noticed any appreciable difference in flex between EL-OS and Foco.
thank youAD14
Jul 11, 2001 5:48 AM
Thanks for getting back to me-I am anxiously awaiting my new thomas teesdale foco and you and another poster on the components board have put my mind to rest.
Link to buildersmike mcmahon
Jul 9, 2001 11:09 PM
Here's a link to a wide range of builders using just about every material imagineable: http://dmoz.org/Sports/Cycling/Companies/Custom_Frame_Builders/
re: looking for STIFF climbing/sprint steel frame, suggestionstkohn
Jul 9, 2001 10:19 PM
Basso Loto... It's an extremely stiff steel frame, but a little hard to find. I got mine sent from a shop in England. http://www.bassobikes.com
Moser Pro EvolutionDoll Face
Jul 9, 2001 11:23 PM
Their is one shop in Florida that has them on sale for less than $700 I think. Similar angles to Merckx, LeMond, Tommasini. Great value.
Available in most any size.

www.redroseimports.com

http://www.probikeheadquarters.com
check out Giosbianchi boy
Jul 10, 2001 7:29 AM
Excelsports.com in Boulder, CO, is the sole US importer for Gios frames, which are designed for sprinting and climbing. They have steel and aluminum models. Excel has its steel Gios frames on sale right now for incredible prices considering that they are very reasonably priced when not on sale. The Megalite, a TIG welded frame, is on sale for $349. The Compact Pro, a classic lugged steel frame, is on sale for $599. I bought a Compact Pro from Excel last month and it is a beautiful frame with adjustable rear dropouts and chrome lugs and fork.
ditto on Giosgrandemamou
Jul 10, 2001 10:51 AM
I've had a compact pro for several years now. It's not super light or plush but it is stiff.
Masi 3VB. Bunter
Jul 10, 2001 9:28 AM
One of the stiffest steel frames ever made (oversized tubing and internally lugged) and a classic to boot. Hard to find but supposedly still being made in the US (www.masibikes.com). Not the lightest thing on the market, but a great combination of stiff but compliant.
are you kidding me?huh?
Jul 10, 2001 9:33 AM
You're not confusing these things with "real" Masi's, are you?
What's a "real" Masi?B. Bunter
Jul 10, 2001 12:04 PM
I'd be interested in knowing what you consider to be a "real" Masi. There's so many twist and turns in Masi production that that term seems almost irrelevant unless you collect vintage bikes. Are you insinuating that California Masi's being built today are somehow inferior? If so what do you base your opinion on? Is it anything "real"? If you can provide factual information that suggests that Masi USA is not producing a quality product, please provide it. Otherwise it would appear that all you are doing is perpetuating an opinion based on snobbery and nothing that is really relevant.
re: looking for STIFF climbing/sprint steel frame, suggestionsAD14
Jul 10, 2001 11:10 AM
My colnago is a bit too stiff for my liking-it rides harsh to my way of thinking and I dont compete so I am not worried about power transfer. The gilco(crimped) tubing must work. The steel fork is very stiff as well(see damon rinard). Ride one, you will see.
Serotta?Easy.Rider
Jul 10, 2001 11:22 AM
Hard to believe Serotta hasn't been mentioned on this thread.
I have about 800 miles on my 2001 Serotta Colorado III (Reynolds 853).
Serotta (http://www.serotta.com) builds a sweet ride. Give 'em a look. peace.
Stiff Steel = Pegoretti Googlee Mooglee OR CustomSimpleGreen
Jul 10, 2001 11:52 AM
If you want stiff steel, I think you should look into Dario Pegoretti's frames or get a custom builder to construct one with fat tubes. Most good production steel frames are designed for that "steel-is-for-real" ride. I have one and love the balance and suppleness, but I'd get AL or CF for a sprinting/climbing frame.
Have you had experience with Pegoretti?bill
Jul 10, 2001 12:35 PM
I've never even seen one (other than in photo's), but, based on the overall description and the rave reviews, dadgummit I'm expecting a Marcelo (steel, very similar to the Custom although slightly different alloy and one or two minor design differences) in a couple of weeks. Purchased from http://www.tiramisu.co.uk. Matthew, the owner, has been great (so far -- we are looking forward to actually having the bike).
NopeSimpleGreen
Jul 10, 2001 3:08 PM
I've only heard people wax poetic about Pegoretti. Looking at the tube diameters, they should be able to make as stiff a bike as anyone would want. I currently ride a production Italian steel bike, not a pegoretti. Sorry for the confusion in my post. It's Columbus Neuron and rides nicely for my kind of riding. I'd like to get a second roadie to complement my steel ride one day. Custom framebuilders might be the way to go. Pegoretti prices are reasonable and custom geometry appears to be for no extra charge. Fit is important to me, since I have a short inseam and long torso and relative large feet.

I'd also love to try one of Pegoretti's Scandium or Al frames. Ideally in a fantasy world, I would have a nice steel bike like the Marcelo or Duende and an Al alloy frame for those days I feel like hammering/wet weather.

Okay, now i gotta start saving :)

After you get the bike, let us know how it rides!! Did you get custom Geometry??

SG
I sent my measurements. Unlike with Seven, there was notbill
Jul 10, 2001 3:54 PM
a whole lot of give and take. I told Matthew I wanted a bike that rode fairly aggressively, provided my vitals, and, in Matthew's words "the master" was to handle the rest. I think I'm nuts.
On the other hand, I'm of a fairly average build. For all I know, they took one out of the back, blew the dust off, and re-painted it. I've been waiting since March, so I have to believe that that's not what happened, but, who knows? As you say, custom is no extra, so, if I get a bike that fits, I get a bike that fits, regardless.
I don't think that they do, as does Seven, custom tubing; they seem more about providing what they provide rather than, for a guy like me, anyway, providing a broad spectrum of ride characteristics. I'm, as they say, relying on "the master" to tune the ride. I was also not very persistent or insistent on particulars. I was seduced; I can admit it now. Even though I know it was for my benefit, every time Matthew said, "the master," I got a woodie. Stupid, I know, but it's the truth. Matthew knows I post here, so that I'm counting on that a little to protect me. He's trying to build a business. So far, so good. If it's great, I'll let the world of RBR.com know.
As an aside, my wife, who knew that I've been hoarding cash for something, has learned of the bike purchase. She said, "You don't NEED ANOTHER BIKE." I said, "I know." Which disarmed her totally. I lied a little about what it cost, and I think I'll survive. I guess I couldn't have kept it a secret forever.
Colnago MasterXLJohnG
Jul 10, 2001 2:00 PM
My new MXL frame is WAY stiff.... to be perfectly honest I wish it was a little softer. Anyway, if STIFF is what you are looking for then look no farther. They can ge gotton overseas at VERY good prices too!

Super nice build quality to boot.
YMMV JohnG
Why Steel?grz mnky
Jul 10, 2001 3:16 PM
If you want a stiff frame for sprints and climbing why pick the material that is probably least suited to your stated objective? It's kinda like saying you want the best Chevy for Indy car racing.

Carbon fiber has a much higher modulus and therefore you can obtain your desired stiffness while keeping the weight to a minimum. Not that some amazing things can't be done with steel, but on average, steel frames weigh more than either CF or Aluminum.

Now if you're requiring steel for some other reason (i.e. asthetics, feel, etc.) that's fine also. You can not go wrong with a Serotta CSI.